Banner Viadrina

Anti-discrimination

Nationwide surveys and studies show that discrimination at universities is part of the everyday experience of students and employees. In addition to gender-based discrimination (especially sexual harassment), people are exposed to other forms of discrimination. For example, they are discriminated based on their ethnic origin, their age, a disability, their religion and (or) social background and can experience multiple discrimination at the same time.

At Viadrina, too, a survey on students' experiences of discrimination was conducted in 2020 as part of the Diversity Audit. It illustrated that students are particularly exposed to discrimination because of their ethnic origin and gender.

The Diversity Management staff unit and the Equal Opportunity department are therefore working closely together to ensure, on the one hand, the expansion of structures for dealing with cases of discrimination and, on the other, the reduction of structural, institutional and individual discrimination.

A central measure implemented through the adoption of the statutes on protection against discrimination and harassment is the establishment of the contact point for protection against discrimination.

The Diversity Management Unit and the Equal Opportunity Department are working on suitable measures to improve sensitivity and competence in dealing with difference and diversity.

For example, workshops on the topics of diversity and protection against discrimination are designed and carried out. Advice is also offered to academic and administrative departments on how to deal with diversity. Our university has an anti-discrimination officer for these tasks since April 2022. If you have any questions or suggestions, please contact Daniel Jurischka.

15_Diversity_Management ©Ingo Rosche16_Anti_Discrimination_Statute ©Ingo Rosche17_Protection_against_Discrimination ©Ingo Rosche18_Sexual_Harassment ©Ingo Rosche

Banner Viadrina

Abteilung für Chancengleichheit

Antidiskriminierung

Bundesweite Erhebungen und Studien verdeutlichen, dass Diskriminierung an Hochschulen zur Alltagserfahrung von Studierenden und Beschäftigten gehört. Neben geschlechtsbezogener Diskriminierung (insbesondere sexualisierte Belästigung) sind Menschen weiteren Diskriminierungsformen ausgesetzt. Beispielsweise werden sie auf Grund ihrer ethnischen Herkunft, ihres Alters, einer Behinderung, ihrer Religion und/oder sozialen Herkunft diskriminiert und können hierbei auch gleichzeitig Mehrfachdiskriminierungen erfahren.

Auch an der Viadrina wurde im Jahr 2020 im Rahmen des Diversity Audits eine Umfrage zu Diskriminierungserfahrungen von Studierenden durchgeführt. Sie hat verdeutlicht, dass Studierende insbesondere aufgrund ihrer ethnischen Herkunft und Geschlechtszugehörigkeit Diskriminierung ausgesetzt sind.

Die Stabstelle Diversitymanagement und die Abteilung Chancengleichheit arbeiten deshalb eng zusammen, um zum einen den Ausbau von Strukturen zum Umgang mit Diskriminierungsfällen und zum anderen den Abbau struktureller, institutioneller und individueller Diskriminierung zu gewährleisten.

Eine zentrale Maßnahme, die durch die Verabschiedung der Satzung zum Schutz vor Benachteiligung und Belästigung umgesetzt wurde, ist die Einrichtung der Anlaufstelle zum Schutz vor Diskriminierung.

Die Stabsstelle Diversitymanagement und die Abteilung Chancengleichheit arbeiten an geeigneten Maßnahmen, um die Sensibilität und Kompetenz im Umgang mit Unterschiedlichkeit zu verbessern.

So werden bspw. Workshops zu den Themenbereichen Diversität und Diskriminierungsschutz konzipiert und durchgeführt. Auch wird Beratung für wissenschaftliche und Verwaltungsbereiche zum Umgang mit Vielfalt angeboten. Für diese Aufgaben hat die Universität seit April 2022 einen Referenten für Antidiskriminierung. Bei Fragen oder Anregungen wenden Sie sich bitte an Daniel Jurischka.

12_Stabsstelle_Diversitymanagement ©Ingo Rosche13_Satzung_Schutz_Benachteiligung ©Ingo Rosche14_Anlaufstelle_Schutz_Diskriminierung ©Ingo Rosche15_Sexualisierte_Belaestigung ©Ingo Rosche