Banner Viadrina

Gender Equality

Women still do not have the same opportunities as men in a university context, especially accessing positions.

In academia, they are less likely to be appointed to professorships, do more committee work, interrupt their careers more often for family duties, and their contributions often receive less attention. Processes and decisions have different effects on women and men - these must be recognized, named and the disadvantages to the detriment of women must be compensated to establish equal opportunities.

Equality includes all genders at the Viadrina. Structural discrimination based on gender also affects trans* inter* and (other) non-binary persons. Measures such as opening women's advancement programs to gender-diverse people, using gender-inclusive language, and providing unisex restrooms promote sensitivity to and recognition of gender diversity as well as the dismantling of discriminatory structures.

The active work for gender equality takes place through various activities, such as support programs for women and gender diverse people, especially the Viadrina Mentoring or the monitoring of selection procedures by the Equal Opportunities Officer, the main contact person for gender equality. Together with the faculties and the administration, she is committed to observe gender equality in studies, in teaching, in administrative processes and in everyday interaction, and to acting in a way that is fair to all.

The goals and activities of our university gender equality work for students and employees are summarized in the Gender Equality and Family Concept.

01_Gleichstellungsbeauftragte ©Ingo Rosche02_Gleichstellungs_Familienkonzept ©Ingo Rosche03_Gender_Viadrina ©Ingo Rosche04_Frauenfoerderung ©Ingo Rosche05_Viadrina_Mentoring ©Ingo Rosche06_Geschlechtervielfalt ©Ingo Rosche

Banner Viadrina

Abteilung für Chancengleichheit

Geschlechtergerechtigkeit

Frauen haben im universitären Kontext, insbesondere beim Zugang zu Führungspositionen, noch nicht die gleichen Chancen wie Männer.

In der Wissenschaft werden sie seltener auf Professuren berufen, leisten mehr Gremienarbeit, unterbrechen häufiger für Kinder ihre Karriere und ihre Beiträge finden oft weniger Beachtung. Prozesse und Entscheidungen haben unterschiedliche Auswirkungen auf Frauen und Männer – diese gilt es zu erkennen, zu benennen und die Nachteile zu Lasten von Frauen zu kompensieren und Chancengleichheit herzustellen.

Gleichstellung schließt an der Viadrina alle Geschlechter ein. Strukturelle Diskriminierung aufgrund des Geschlechts betrifft insbesondere auch trans*, inter* und (andere) nicht-binäre Personen. Maßnahmen wie z.B. die Öffnung von Frauenförderprogrammen für geschlechterdiverse Menschen, die Verwendung von geschlechterinklusiver Sprache und die Bereitstellung von Unisextoiletten fördern die Sensibilität für und Anerkennung von Geschlechtervielfalt sowie den Abbau von diskriminierenden Strukturen.

Die aktive Arbeit für Geschlechtergerechtigkeit geschieht durch unterschiedliche Aktivitäten, wie z.B. Förderprogramme für Frauen und geschlechterdiverse Menschen, insb. das Viadrina Mentoring oder die Begleitung von Auswahlverfahren durch die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte, die zentrale Ansprechperson für Geschlechtergerechtigkeit. Gemeinsam mit den Fakultäten und der Verwaltung setzt sie sich dafür ein, Geschlechtergerechtigkeit im Studium, in der Lehre, in Verwaltungsprozessen und im alltäglichen Miteinander zu beachten und chancengerecht zu handeln.

Die Ziele und Aktivitäten unserer universitären Gleichstellungsarbeit für Studierende und Mitarbeitende sind im Gleichstellungs- und Familienkonzept zusammengefasst.

01_Gleichstellungsbeauftragte ©Ingo Rosche02_Gleichstellungs_Familienkonzept ©Ingo Rosche03_Gender_Viadrina ©Ingo Rosche04_Frauenfoerderung ©Ingo Rosche05_Viadrina_Mentoring ©Ingo Rosche06_Geschlechtervielfalt ©Ingo Rosche