Banner Viadrina

Language requirements

For Course Programs in German

Applicants with a foreign university entrance qualification (school leaving ceritificate, e.g. Abitur or equivalent) need to document their level of German (for course programs in German only). German language skills should be equivalent C1 of the common European Framework of References for Languages (CEFR).

You can study at the Viadrina with the following German certificates.

1. German Language Exam (DSH)

The German Language Exam for admission to higher education ("Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang" - DSH) allows you access to German Higher Education. All German institutions of higher education will recognize this exam as long as you have passed it with Level 2 (DSD II).The DSH exam is offered by the Viadrina as a part of its preporatory course program as well as by other German Universities.

The Language Centre  of the European University Viadrina offers a preparation course for this exam. More information on the DSH exam (for example the test date) are included in the admission documents. For further detailed information please contact the Language Centre.

2. German as Foreign Language Exam (TestDaF)

This exam ("Test Deutsch als Fremdsprache" - TestDaF) can be done with Test DAF institutes all over the world. In order to study at the Viadrina you need to have at least level 4 in all parts of the exam (TDN 4).

3. German School Leaving Certificate

The German school leaving certificate from a German speaking school in Germany, Austria or Switzerland allows you access to German Higher Education.

4. German Language Diploma of the “Kultusministerkonferenz” (KMK)

German Language Diploma of the “Kultusministerkonferenz” - 2nd level (DSD II) with the niveau C1 (CEFR) in all 4 components of the exam - is also a satysfying proof of the language knowledge.

5. German Language Diploma of Goethe Institut

Another recognized language exam is the "Großes Deutsches Sprachdiplom/ Goethe-Zertifikat C2 (GDS)" of the German "Goethe Institut".

6. German Degree or Preperatory College ("Studienkolleg")

When you successfully completed a degree at a German university where the teaching language is German you do not need any further proof of language knowledge. This applies as well if you have passed a DSH or an equivalent  within a preparatory college (Studienkolleg).

7. The European Language Certificates Exam (telc)

The exam "telc Deutsch C1 Hochschule" is recognized as proof of sufficient German language level as well. The nonprofit telc GmbH is a full member of the Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE). telc language exams can be taken in over 3,000 test centers in 20 countries, including community colleges and private language schools.


For Bachelor Programs in English

For the bachelor program International Business Administration sufficient English language skills are required. More information can be found directly on the page of the program.


For Master Programs

Please be aware that the requirements of the master programs can be different! Therefor, inform yourself at the webpage of the respective master program to learn the particular language requirements!

Banner Viadrina

Sprachnachweis

Für deutschsprachige Bachelor-Studiengänge

Studienbewerber mit einer ausländischen Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (= HZB, Sekundarschulabschluss, z.B. Abitur oder Äquivalent) müssen ihre Deutschkenntnisse für deutschsprachige Studiengänge an der Viadrina nachweisen. Die Deutschkenntnisse sollten etwa auf dem Niveau C1 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens (GeR) sein.

Mit den folgenden Deutschnachweisen können Sie an der Viadrina studieren:

1. Die Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH)

Die DSH öffnet Ihnen den Zugang zum Studium und wird von allen Hochschulen in Deutschland als Sprachnachweis anerkannt, wenn Sie die Prüfung mindestens auf dem Niveau DSH-2 (DSD II) bestehen. Die DSH Prüfung kann man direkt an deutschen Universitäten ablegen, auch an der Viadrina. Die DSH ist hier Teil der Studienvorkurse.

Das Sprachenzentrum der Europa-Universität Viadrina bietet einen Vorbereitungskurs für diese Prüfung an. Weitere Informationen zur DSH-Prüfung (z.B. das genaue Datum der Prüfung) liegen dem Zulassungsbescheid bei. Für weitere Informationen kann man sich an das Sprachenzentrum wenden.

2. Test Deutsch als Fremdsprache (TestDaF)

Studienbewerber können ihre Deutschkenntnisse auch mit dem TestDaF nachweisen. Dieser Test kann bei TestDaF-Instituten auf der ganzen Welt abgelegt werden. Um an der Viadrina zu studieren, braucht man in allen vier Prüfungsteilen mindestens das Niveau 4 (TDN 4).

3. Deutschsprachiges Abitur

Ein deutschsprachiges Abitur (z.B. aus der Schweiz, Österreich) gilt ebenfalls als ausreichender Sprachnachweis.

4. Deutsches Sprachdiplom der Kultusministerkonferenz

Wer das Deutsche Sprachdiplom der Kultusministerkonferenz - 2. Stufe (DSD II) mit dem Niveau C1 in allen 4 Teilprüfungen abgelegt hat, braucht keine weitere Sprachprüfung mehr.

5. Sprachdiplom des Goethe-Instituts

Ein weiterer anerkannter Sprachnachweis ist das Große Deutsches Sprachdiplom/ Goethe-Zertifikat C2 (GDS) des Deutschen Goethe-Instituts.

6. Studium in Deutschland oder Studienkolleg

Wer ein deutschsprachiges Studium an einer deutschen Hochschule erfolgreich absolviert, die DSH oder an einem deutschen Studienkolleg eine gleichwertige Sprachprüfung bestanden hat, braucht keinen weiteren Sprachnachweis.

7. Die Europäischen Sprachzertifikate Prüfung (telc)

Der Nachweis der Sprachprüfung "telc Deutsch C1 Hochschule" ist als ausreichender Deutschnachweis anerkannt. Die gemeinnützige telc GmbH ist Vollmitglied in der "Association of Language Testers in Europe" (ALTE). telc Sprachprüfungen können an über 3.000 Prüfungszentren in 20 Ländern abgelegt werden, darunter Volkshochschulen und private Sprachschulen.


Für englischsprachige Bachelor-Studiengänge

Wenn Sie International Business Administration studieren möchten, ist ein Nachweis über ausreichende Englischkenntnisse notwendig. Wie die Sprachkenntnisse nachgewiesen werden können finden Sie im Bewerberportal "du.deine uni" beim Studiengang.


Für Masterstudiengänge

Bitte beachten Sie, dass für Masterstudiengänge abweichende Regelungen gelten können! Bitte informieren Sie sich auf den Internetseiten oder bei den Koordinatoren der entsprechenden Masterstudiengänge.