Banner Viadrina

FAQ recognition Business Administration and Economics

Current study regulations (FSO)

  • All BA and MA in Business Administration and Economics can do a max. of  30 ECTS credits per semester abroad (equivalent of 5 courses á 6 ECTS credits or for IBWL and IBA BA 3 courses á 6 ECTS credits with language qualifications recognition + exemption Unicert II 12 ECTS credits except English) will be recognized. Exception for IBWL with language qualification recognition Unicert III: max. 36 ECTS credits (= 3 courses á 6 ECTS credits + exemption Unicert III 12 ECTS credits only English).
  • All BA and MA in Business Administration and Economics with a mandatory foreign study must complete a minimum of 2 courses (12 ECTS) abroad that can be recognized at Viadrina.
  • All BA and MA in Business Administration and Economics without a mandatory foreign study are strongly encouraged to complete a min. of 30 ECTS credits credits although this isn’t strictly necessary. However the degree certificate states a stay abroad if one course (6 ECTS) that can be recognized is completed abroad.

Current study regulations (FSO)

  • In principal 6 ECTS credits. Courses with a minimum of 5 ECTS credits will also be recognized. If a course contains less than 5 ECTS credits more than one course from the same area can be consolidated.

Hint: In the American points system 3 Units comprise 5 ECTS credits. In some (few) EU countries, less than 5 ETCS are awarded per course. In these cases, please consult with Torsten Glase before your stay abroad in order to combine 2 courses with the same focus into one course.

Basically, the policy adopted for the recognition of foreign studies and examinations applies.

For BA students the courses in the 3rd year of study abroad that are recognized are mainly those that align strongly with modules that the Viadrina assigns and which do not significantly differ from these.

For MA students the courses in Masters study from the 4th year of study abroad that are recognized are mainly those that align strongly with the Viadrina Masters modules (T-, R-, S-module)  the Viadrina assigns and which do not significantly differ from these.

Students of business administration and economics should check as to the recognizability of their course choice by speaking to Torsten Glase. How to arrange this meeting can be found on the following website.

  • On the websites of our partner universities. Be aware that these lists usually only appear, like on the Viadrina website, a few weeks or a month before the semester starts. Also, look at the old course lists and be aware in which semester your chosen course is offered. The courses usually remain similar.
  • Ask students that have previously attended your chosen partner university. For their details, please feel free to ask us or join the Viadrina Students Abroad Facebook Group. Also useful information and tips can be found in the student reports.

  • The conversion of the grades of foreign academic achievements uses the following conversion table.

Approx. 2-4 weeks after submitting all the documents required for recognition, you will receive a message that your recognition has been forwarded to the examination office. Your grades will automatically be entered into the His-Portal. You can pick up your finished recognition in AM 207 afterwards.


The Transcript of Records is a certificate that lists all of your foreign academic achievements. After the completion of a stay abroad it will be sent, from the International Office of the partner university to the Department of International Affairs of the Viadrina, and in rare cases, directly to the student. When it arrives at the Viadrina, you will be informed to your Viadrina email. The Department Viadrina International Affairs only accepts the original Transcript of Records, which must be sent directly to the department by the partner university (postal/digital). Forwarding by students may not be accepted.

Current study regulations (FSO)

For BA IBWL the proof of a qualification in English (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, C1 / Unicert III) or a second foreign language (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, B2/ Unicert II-not English) is sufficient when during the stay abroad proof is given of a module taken totalling a minimum of 18 ECTS credits in the corresponding foreign language.

If you wish an exemption from English C1 /Unicert III you must have completed English B2 / Unicert II before submitting the application for recognition. If you already have a a B2 / Unicert II in a second foreign language, in addition to the English B2 / II Unicert, the language module is already completed and the English C1 / UNCERT III cannot be supplemented with the 18 ECTS credits from  a course taken abroad.

For BA IBA the proof of a qualification in a foreign language (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, B2 / Unicert II) is sufficient when during the stay abroad proof is given of a module taken totalling a minimum of 18 ECTS credits in the corresponding foreign language (not English).

 In all other cases an exemption from the foreign language module is not possible.

Please be aware that with an exemption from presenting evidence of completion of the foreign language module, no certificate is awarded. This certificate will be necessary for application for Master programs at other universities (except the IBA MA at the Viadrina).

Banner Viadrina

FAQ Anerkennung Wiwi

Aktuelle FSO

  • Alle BA und MA WiWis können max. 30 ECTS pro Auslandssemester (entspricht 5 Kursen à 6 ECTS oder nur für IBWL und IBA BA mit Sprachanerkennung 3 Kurse à 6 ECTS + Freistellung Unicert II 12 ECTS außer Englisch) anerkennen lassen. Ausnahme für IBWL mit Sprachanerkennung Unicert III: max. 36 ECTS (= 3 Kurse à 6 ECTS + Freistellung Unicert III 12 ECTS nur Englisch).

  • Alle BA und MA WiWis mit Auslandspflicht – müssen mind. zwei anerkennbare Kurse (12 ECTS) im Ausland absolvieren.
  • Alle BA und MA WiWi ohne Auslandspflicht – sind angehalten mindestens 30 ECTS Credits mitzubringen, müssen dies aber formal nicht. Damit der Auslandsaufenthalt jedoch auf dem Abschlusszeugnis steht sollte ein anerkennbarer Kurs (6 ECTS) aus dem Ausland mitgebracht werden.

Aktuelle FSO (für alle BA und MA WiWis)

  • Grundsätzlich 6 ECTS. Kurse mit mind. 5 ECTS werden aber anerkannt. Falls ein Kurs weniger als 5 ECTS hat, können ggf. mehrere Kurse aus dem selben Bereich zusammengelegt werden.

Hinweis: Nach amerikanischem Points System entsprechen 3 Units 5 ECTS Credit Points. In einigen (wenigen) Ländern der EU werden pro Kurs weniger als 5 ETCS vergeben. Halten Sie in diesen Fällen bitte vor dem Auslandsaufenthalt mit Torsten Glase Rücksprache um 2 Kurse, die inhaltlich dem gleichen Schwerpunkt entsprechen, zu einem Kurs zusammenzufassen.

Grundsätzlich gilt die verabschiedete Richtlinie für die Anerkennung ausländischer Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen.

Für BA-Studierende werden vorwiegend Kurse des 3. Studienjahres im Ausland anerkannt, die den Viadrina Schwerpunktmodulen zuordenbar sind und die sich von diesen nicht wesentlich unterscheiden. Sonderfall: Im Modul Finance können max. zwei Kurse aus dem Ausland anerkannt werden, da "Angewandte Kapitalmarkttheorie" oder "Kapitalmarkttheorie" an der Viadrina erfolgreich belegt werden müssen (Pflichtmodul).

Für MA-Studierende werden vorwiegend die Kurse der MA-Studiengänge bzw. Kurse ab dem 4. Studienjahr im Ausland anerkannt, die den Viadrina Mastermodulen (T-, R-, S-Modul) zuordenbar sind und sich von diesen nicht wesentlich unterscheiden. 

Studierende der Wirtschaftswissenschaften sollten die Anerkerkennbarkeit ihrer Kurswahl an der ausländischen Universität mit Torsten Glase absprechen. Wie diese Absprache zu treffen ist, finden Sie auf folgenden Webseiten.

  • Auf den Webseiten der Partneruniversitäten.
    Bitte beachten Sie, dass Kurslisten genauso, wie an der Viadrina, oft erst einige Wochen/Monate vor dem jeweiligen Semester erscheinen. Orientieren sie sich an alten Kurslisten und beachten Sie dabei das Semester in denen die Kurse angeboten werden. Das Kursangebot belibt oft ähnlich.
  • Fragen Sie ehemalige Kommilitonen, die an Ihrer ausländischen Universität waren. Nach Kontaktdaten können Sie uns gern per E-Mail fragen oder nutzen Sie die Viadrina Students Abroad Facebook-Gruppe. Auch in Erfahrungsberichten finden Sie oft Hinweise.

  • Die Umrechnung der Noten ausländischer Studienleistungen erfolgt an der Viadrina mittels folgender Umrechnungstabelle.


Ca. 2-4 Wochen nach Einreichung aller für die Anerkennung benötigten Unterlagen bekommen Sie eine Nachricht, dass Ihre Anerkennung zum Prüfungsamt weitergeleitet wurde. Ihre Noten werden automatisch ins His-Portal eingetragen. Sie können sich Ihre fertige Anerkennung in AM 207 danach abholen.


Das Transcript of Records ist ein Zertifikat, welches eine Aufstellung aller im Ausland erbrachten Studienleistungen beinhaltet. Es wird nach Beendigung des Auslandsaufenthaltes vom Internationalen Büro der Partneruniversität an die Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten der Viadrina gesendet, manchmal auch direkt an die/den Studierende/-n. Wenn es an der Viadrina eintrifft, werden Sie darüber auf Ihre Viadrina-E-Mail informiert. Die Abteilung Viadrina Internationale Angelegenheiten akzeptiert ausschließlich das Originale Transcript of Records, dass der Abteilung direkt von der Partneruniversität übermittelt werden muss (postalisch/ digital). Weiterleitungen durch Studierende dürfen nicht akzeptiert werden.


Aktuelle FSO

Für BA IBWL gilt der Nachweis im Modul Englisch (Niveaustufe Europarat C1 / Unicert III) oder zweite Fremdsprache (Niveaustufe Europarat B2 / Unicert II - nicht Englisch) als erbracht, wenn während des Studien­aufenthalts im Ausland Module im Umfang von mindestens 18 ECTS in der entsprechenden Fremd­sprache erbracht und nachgewiesen werden.
Wenn Sie die Befreiung von Englisch C1/ Unicert III anstreben, müssen Sie Englisch B2 / Unicert II vor dem Antrag auf Anerkennung absolviert haben. Wenn Sie neben dem Englisch B2 / Unicert II bereits ein B2 / Unicert II in einer zweiten Fremdsprache haben, ist das Modul Fremdsprache bereits vollständig abgeschlossen und das Englisch C1 / Uncert III kann mit den 18 ECTS aus dem Ausland nicht erlassen werden. Auch kann generell Englisch B2/ Unicert II nicht erlassen werden nur Englisch C1/ Unicert III.

Für BA IBA gilt der Nachweis im Modul Fremdsprache (Niveaustufe Europarat B2 / Unicert II)  als erbracht, wenn während des Studien­aufenthalts im Ausland Module im Umfang von mindestens 18 ECTS in der entsprechenden Fremd­sprache (nicht Englisch) erbracht und nachgewiesen werden.

Für alle anderen ist eine Befreiung im Modul Fremdsprache nicht möglich.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass mit der Befreiung vom Nachweis im Modul Fremdsprache kein Sprachzertifikat
erworben wird, welches aber eventuell für Masterbewerbungen an Hochschulen nötig ist.