Banner Viadrina

Extension of your stay

By agreement, it is possible to extend stays abroad by one semester.  For this, you have to obtain our permission and then the consent of the partner university. At universities in Canada, Australia and the USA this is generally not possible.

If you extend your studies abroad within the Erasmus + program, it has to be examined separately by us, whether a mobility grant can also be paid for the second semester or not. Unfortunately this is not possible in most cases.

Within the Erasmus + program it is easier to extend your stay abroad from the winter semester to the summer semester than from the summer semester to the winter semester. Last one is only in exceptional circumstances possible and requires a separate permission by the Department of International Affairs.

Within many of our non-EU partnerships, extensions are possible on a semester-independent basis (for example in Latin America). The KA107 stays (Ukraine, Georgia, Russia) can also be extended on a semester-independent basis, separately of  the approval of funds.

Banner Viadrina

Verlängerung eines Auslandsaufenthalts

Nach Absprache besteht die Möglichkeit, Auslandsaufenthalte um ein Semester zu verlängern. Dafür müssen Sie sich zunächst unsere Erlaubnis und daraufhin die Einwilligung der Partneruniversität einholen. An einigen Universitäten, wie z.B. der Bilgi University in der Türkei oder v.a. in Australien, Kanada und in den USA ist dies generell nicht möglich.

Ob bei Verlängerung des Auslandsstudiums innerhalb des Erasmus+ Programms ein Mobilitätszuschuss auch für das zweite Semester ausgezahlt werden kann, muss gesondert von uns geprüft werden. In den meisten Fällen ist dies leider nicht möglich.

Im Erasmus+ Programm ist eine Verlängerung des Auslandsaufenthaltes aus dem Wintersemester in das Sommersemester einfacher möglich als vom Sommersemester in das Wintersemester. Dies ist nur in Ausnahmefällen eine Option und erfordert ebenso gesonderter Prüfung durch die Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten.
Innerhalb vieler unserer Non-EU Partnerschaften sind Verlängerungen nach Absprache semesterunabhängig möglich (z.B. in Russland oder Lateinamerika).