Banner Viadrina

OLS-Linguistic Support

ols_logo_02 ©Erasmus+ OLS Online Lingusitic Support
ols_logo_01 ©Erasmus+ OLS Online Lingusitic Support

The Erasmus + program enables you to improve your language skills through online language support (Online Linguisitc Support -OLS). OLS is divided into two parts:

1. Language assessment obligatory for all Erasmus + students before and after their stay abroad. 

2. Language courses in which you can participate before and during your stay abroad voluntarily.

You will receive the link to the language tests and courses from your outgoing coordinator. The following languages are currently available: Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, German, Greek, English, Spanish, Estonian, Finnish, French, Irish, Croatian, Hungarian, Italian, Lithuanian, Latvian, Maltese, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak , Slovenian, Swedish.

More information about the language offer can be found in the following overview.

Further information can be found on the OLS website and summarized in the following FAQ:

Do I have to take part in the language test or language course?
Participating in the language test is obligatory before and after the mobility. You do not need to take the test after the mobility, if you achieved C2 level in the first assessment before your mobility. The participation in the language course is voluntary. You will be assigned a course automatically if your level is B1 or below. It is your decision to take part in a course using your license but we highly recommend it to you.

Which languages are offered?
The OLS is available in all 24 official languages of the EU: Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Lithuanian, Latvian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovakian, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish.

More information regarding the language can be found in this overview.

Where do I get the login information?
It will be sent to you by email, probably to your private email account (check your spam folder!).

What does „main language of instruction" mean?
„Main language of instruction" refers to the mostly used language of instruction in your courses abroad, not the local language of your host country.

You have been assigned the wrong main language of instruction?
Please let your Erasmus coordinator of your home university know immediately! Do not finish entering your data, otherwise we cannot change your language.

I have two  languages of instruction, do I have to take two language tests?
No, you can only take a language test in the language you are planning to take the majority of your courses in. 

I am a native speaker in my main language of instruction, do I have to take the test?
No. If you want to take the test in the local language (if it is a different than your main language of instruction) then please let your Erasmus coordinator know.

When do I have to take the test?
Before and after the mobility. Both tests are similar making it easy to see your progress. After your mobility (the period of time is entered by you) you have one month to complete the second test. You will be asked to do so automatically by E-Mail. The entered period of time can be changed by you anytime in the OLS system. You do not need to take the test after the mobility, if you achieved C2 level in the first assessment before your mobility.

How long does the test take?
The higher your level is the more time the test will take. To reach level C2 it normally takes 40-50 minutes. You can also save your progress in the test and continue later. Please be aware that only finished sections can be saved.  

In which language can I take a language course?
You can take the language course in your main language of instruction and/or in the local language of your host country, depending on whether you reached the necessary level in the assessment test (B1 or A2, depending on the language - see next question). 

How do I get access to the language course?
If you passed the first assessment in German, English, Spanish, French, Italien, Dutch or Portuguese with a level between A1 and B1, you will be allocated with a language course in this tested language automatically and cannot take part in another course.
In Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Greek, Estonian, Finnish, Irish, Croatian, Hungarian, Lithuanian, Latvian, Maltese, Polish, Romanian, Slovak , Slovenian and Swedish you will automatically receive a course license if you passed with below A2 and you cannot take part in another course.
Only if you have reached a level above that, you can also participate in (a) course(s) in your local language(s) of your host country.

Can I participate take two langauge courses online?
Yes, if you, depending on the language, reached a higher level than B1 or A2 in the assessment test (see answer question before), you can participate in a or more courses in the local language(s) of  your host country.
Example: An Erasmus+ student in Belgium could use up to four language courses (main language of instrudtion: English; local languages: German, French and Dutch).
Important: Please select your local language(s) when editing your OLS mobility profile the first time. You may still be able to change your local language(s) after you took the first assessment test (to change your languages, please go to the OLS system under "Profile", then to "Edit mobilities" and select both languages under "Learning languages" then press save. Your mobility dashboard should now display several language courses), but not after you started your first language course.

How much time do I have for the online language course?
You can participate in the language course before and during your mobility. The approximate duration can be entered by you when you log in the first time for your language test. This time starts when you first log in to the language course. So if your mobility takes about 4 months and you log yourself in before, your license may expire before your return. To avoid that you can enter a longer duration of your mobility which you can do anytime in the system. You have access to the system 24/7, allowing you to use the platform whenever you want. It is advised to study at least 2 hours per week with the learning module.

How does the language course look like?
You will get a personalized training program but you are also free to choose which modules you find useful. You can also participate in "Massive Open Online Courses" (MOOCs) or take part in virtual tutorials with native speakers ans other OLS participants.

Do I have to take a minimum number of exercises?
No, you do not have to. You can decide for yourself how intense you want to use the course modules.

Do I receive a certificate?
There won’t be any certificates, since the OLS language tests and courses are not designed to do so. But they enable for you to work for yourself on your language skills.

Banner Viadrina

OLS-Sprachunterstützung

ols_logo_02 ©Erasmus+ OLS Online Lingusitic Support
ols_logo_01 ©Erasmus+ OLS Online Lingusitic Support

Das Erasmus+ Programms ermöglicht Ihnen Ihre Sprachkompetenz mit Hilfe der Online-Sprachunterstützung (Online Linguisitc Support -OLS) zu verbessern. OLS ist in zwei Bereiche aufgeteilt:

1.     Sprachtest, die vor und nach dem Auslandsaufenthalt für alle Erasmus+ Studierenden verpflichtend sind.

2.     Sprachkurse, an denen Sie vor und während des Auslandsaufenthaltes freiwillig teilnehmen können.

Den Link zu Ihrem Sprachtest erhalten Sie von Ihrer Outgoing-Koordination. Momentan stehen folgende Sprachen zur Verfügung: Bulgarisch, Tschechisch, Dänisch, Deutsch, Griechisch, Englisch, Spanisch, Estnisch, Finnisch, Französisch, Irisch, Kroatisch, Ungarisch, Italienisch, Litauisch, Lettisch, Maltesisch, Niederländisch, Polnisch, Portugiesisch, Rumänisch, Slowakisch, Slowenisch, Schwedisch.

Mehr Informationen zum Sprachangebot finden Sie in folgenden Übersicht.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der OLS-Webseite und zusammengefasst im folgendem FAQ:

Muss ich am Sprachtest oder Sprachkurs teilnehmen?
Die Teilnahme am Sprachtest ist verpflichtend vor und nach dem Auslandslandaufenthalt. Der Sprachtest nach Beendigung des Auslandsaufenthaltes entfällt, wenn Sie beim ersten Sprachtest vor dem Auslandsaufenthalt mit C2 eingestuft wurden. Die Teilnahme am Sprachkurs ist freiwillig. Sie bekommen automatisch einen Kurs zugeteilt, sollten Sie mit B1 oder schlechter abschneiden. Inwieweit Sie die Lizenz nutzen, ist Ihre Entscheidung, wir möchten Sie jedoch ausdrücklich dazu ermuntern.


Welche Sprachen stehen zur Verfügung?
Die Online-Sprachunterstützung ist für alle 24 Amtssprachen der Europäischen Union verfügbar: Bulgarisch, Tschechisch, Dänisch, Deutsch, Griechisch, Englisch, Spanisch, Estnisch, Finnisch, Französisch, Irisch, Kroatisch, Ungarisch, Italienisch, Litauisch, Lettisch, Maltesisch, Niederländisch, Polnisch, Portugiesisch, Rumänisch, Slowakisch, Slowenisch, Schwedisch.

Woher bekomme ich ein Login?
Dieser wird Ihnen per E-Mail zugeschickt, meinst auf Ihre persönliche E-Mail (Spams prüfen).

Was heißt Hauptarbeitssprache?
Damit ist die überwiegende Unterrichtssprache im Ausland, keine Umgebungs - bzw. die offizielle lokale Sprache, gemeint.

Falsche Hauptarbeitssprache zugewiesen bekommen?
Geben Sie ihrem/r Erasmuskoordinierenden an der Heimatuni Bescheid und schließen Sie die Eingabe Ihrer Daten beim Login nicht ab, sonst können wir die Sprache nicht korrigieren.

Ich habe zwei Unterrichtssprachen, muss ich zwei Sprachtests machen?
Nein, Sie können nur einen Test in der Sprache machen, in der Sie planen, überwiegend Kurse zu besuchen.

Ich bin Muttersprachler/-in der Hauptarbeitssprache, muss ich den Sprachtest absolvieren?
Nein. Falls Sie dann einen Test in der lokalen Sprache, die eine andere als die Arbeitssprache ist, absolvieren möchten, geben Sie ihrem/r Erasmuskoordinierenden an der Heimatuni Bescheid.

Wann muss ich den Online-Sprachtest machen?
Vor und nach dem Auslandsaufenthalt. Beide Tests unterscheiden sich kaum und ermöglichen Ihnen somit selbstständig Ihren Sprachfortschritt zu prüfen. Nach Ihrer Rückkehr (den Zeitraum geben Sie selbst beim Login ins OLS System ein) haben Sie bis zu einem Monat Zeit, den zweiten Test zu absolvieren. Sie werden automatisch per E-Mail dazu aufgefordert. Den eingebenden Zeitraum können Sie jederzeit ändern/korrigieren im OLS-System. Der Sprachtest nach Beendigung des Auslandsaufenthaltes entfällt, wenn Sie beim ersten Sprachtest vor dem Auslandsaufenthalt mit C2 eingestuft wurden.

Wie lange dauert der Online-Sprachtest?
Je höher Ihr Sprachniveau, desto mehr Zeit nimmt der Test in Anspruch, bis zum Niveau C2 erfahrungsgemäß 40 bis 50 Minuten. Sie können Ihren Fortschritt beim Test auch speichern und später fortfahren. Beachten Sie aber, dass nur abgeschlossene Testabschnitte gespeichert werden können.

In welcher Sprache kann ich einen Sprachkurs machen? 
Sie können den Sprachkurs in der Hauptarbeits- und/oder in der lokalen Sprache Ihres Gastlandes absolvieren, je nachdem ob Sie in das nötige Niveau im Test erreichen (B1 oder A2, je nach Spache - siehe Antwort auf nächste Frage).

Wie bekomme ich Zugang zum Online Sprachkurs? 
Wenn Sie den ersten OLS-Sprachtest in Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Niederländisch oder Portugiesisch abgelegt haben und ein Ergebnis zwischen den GER-Stufen A1 und B1 erreicht haben, dann werden Sie automatisch per E-Mail dazu aufgefordert, einen OLS-Sprachkurs in derselben Sprache wie der des Sprachtests zu besuchen und können an keinen anderen Kurs teilnehmen. Bei Bulgarisch, Tschechisch, Dänisch, Estnisch, Griechisch, Kroatisch, Lettisch, Litauisch, Ungarisch, Polnisch, Rumänisch, Slowakisch, Slowenisch, Finnisch und Schwedisch erhalten Sie automatisch eine Lizenz für den Sprachkurs, wenn Sie in Ihrem ersten Sprachtest ein Ergebnis unter der GER Stufe A2 erreicht haben und können an keinen anderen Kurs teilnehmen.
Nur wenn Sie ein besseres Ergebnis erreichen, können Sie neben dem OLS-Sprachkurs in der Hauptarbeitssprache Ihrer Ausbildung auch an dem Kurs in der lokalen Sprache des Zielortes Ihrer Mobilität teilnehmen. 

Kann ich zwei Sprachkurse online machen?
Ja. Sie können, wenn Sie je nach Sprache ein Niveau über B1 bzw. A2 im Test  erreicht haben (siehe Antwort auf vorherige Frage), zusätzlich zur Hauptarbeitssprache einen oder mehrere Kurse in der(den) lokalen Sprache(n) Ihres Gastlandes absolvieren.
Beispiel: Erasmus+ Studierende mit dem Ziel Belgien können bis zu vier Sprachkurse gleichzeitig nutzen (Arbeitssprache: Englisch, Landessprachen: Deutsch, Flämisch, Französisch).
Wichtig: Bitte wählen Sie diese Sprache(n) beim vervollständigen Ihres Mobilitätsprofil am besten sofort mit aus. Eine Änderung ist darüber hinaus nur noch nach Absolvierung des OLS-Tests möglich. (Gehen Sie dazu in das OLS-System unter „Profil“, dann auf „Mobilitäten bearbeiten“ und wählen Sie bei „Lernsprachen“ jeweils die Sprache(n) aus und drücken Sie auf Speichern. In Ihrem Mobilitätsdashboard werden nun mehrere Sprachkurse angezeigt.)  Sobald Sie den ersten Sprachkurs angeklickt bzw. begonnen haben, können Sie keine weiteren Lernsprachen hinzufügen.

Wie viel Zeit habe ich für den Online-Sprachkurs?
Am Sprachkurs können Sie während Ihres Auslandsstudiums oder auch davor teilnehmen. Dessen ungefähre Dauer geben Sie selbst beim ersten Login für den Sprachtest ein. Die Zeit startet mit Ihrem ersten Login in den Kursbereich. Wenn der Aufenthalt z.B. 4 Monate von Septemper-Dezember beträgt und Sie sich bereits im August einloggen, wird die Lizenz noch vor Ihrer Rückkehr ablaufen. Zur Vermeidung geben Sie einen längeren Zeitraum für ihr Ausladsstudium an. Diesen können Sie jederzeit im System korrigieren. Sie haben 24h / 7 Tage die Woche Zugang zu dem System und können selbst entscheiden, wann und wie viel Sie damit lernen. Es wird empfohlen mind. 2h pro Woche an Lernmodulen teilzunehmen.

Wie sieht der Sprachkurs aus?
Sie bekommen ein personalisiertes Trainingsprogramm, können aber frei wählen, welche Module Sie nützlich finden. Sie können auch themenbezogene „Massive Open Online Courses“ (MOOCs) belegen oder an virtuelle Tutorien mit Muttersprachlern und anderen OLS-Teilnehmenden nutzen.

Muss ich ein Minimum an Übungen absolvieren?
Nein, das müssen Sie nicht. Sie können selbst entscheiden, wie intensiv Sie welche Kursmodule nutzen.

Bekomme ich ein Zertifikat?
Es werden keine Zertifikate verliehen, da die OLS Sprachtests und -kurse nicht als solche konzipiert sind. Sie ermöglichen Ihnen aber, selbstständig an der Verbesserung Ihrer Sprachkenntnisse zu arbeiten.

Weitere Erklärungen / FAQ

Benutzerhandbuch für Sprachtest

Benutzerhandbuch für Sprachkurse

Flyer

Download the App!

And start improving your skills immediately. We can’t wait to see your progress!

OLS App_klein ©Erasmus+ OLS