Banner Viadrina

Covid-19 FAQ for Outgoing Students 2021/22

The situation confronts us all with new challenges and policies change quickly. Here you will find a FAQ we have compiled for you on important questions regarding your mobility in the academic year 2021/22. We will update the answers as soon as changes occur. We will also inform you in detail by e-mail.

In addition, we will continue to be available to you preferably by telephone and e-mail and will be happy to advise you. However, you can also make appointments to meet with us in person.

The partner university or we will inform you individually by email as soon as there are updates. Within Europe, semesters abroad are mostly still planned for the winter semester 2021/22. Teaching in presence, online or in hybrid form is possible. Outside Europe, the winter semester 2021/22 has often been restricted or cancelled. For the most part, no statements can be made about the summer semester 2022 at the moment.

Only a few partner universities have already announced what the semester will look like.

On the following website, many universities have entered whether exchange students will be accepted and in what form the teaching will take place: covid.uni-foundation.eu

(As of: 13.08.2021)

In most cases, postponements are possible in the same academic year, i.e. from winter semester 2021/22 to summer semester 2022. The earlier you let us know, the better for planning. Under the current circumstances, however, short-term decisions are also taken into account. Most universities understand spontaneous changes, but some only allow this to a limited extent.

Postponements to the next academic year, i.e. to winter semester 2022/23 or summer semester 2023, are not possible.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

A virtual stay abroad, meaning an exchange in which you take purely online courses at the partner university, can also be financially supported with Erasmus+ grants, but only if you are in the host country (the country of the partner university). This also applies for possible quarantine periods on arrival into the host country. If you, however, stay in your home country (in Germany or elsewhere), no grant will be awarded, as there will be no additional costs caused by your study abroad. Quarantine periods in your home country after your return cannot be funded as part of the mobility period. Exchanges with face-to-face or courses in hybrid form (online and presence) are also eligible for Erasmus+ grants as long as you are in the host country. If you first attend online courses from your home country and later leave for the host country, as soon as face-to-face or hybrid courses are available, you will receive Erasmus+ grant only for the time you are in the host country.

If you start studying abroad in presence/hybrid courses and leave the host country early due to the pandemic, you will still be eligible for Erasmus+ funding after returning to your home country. Prerequisite for this is that you  have expenses directly and exclusively related to your Erasmus+ stay in that country (e.g. rent, electricity, public transport season tickets) and/or take part in pure online courses at the partner university.

In summary:

  1. You stay in your home country and take part in online courses only = No Erasmus+ grant.
  2. You are in the host country and take part in online or face-to-face courses = Full Erasmus+ grant (including possible quarantine time upon arrival at the beginning of your study abroad).
  3. You start online in your home country and go to the host country as soon as it is possible to take part in face-to-face or hybrid courses = Erasmus+ grant from the moment you are in the host country.
  4. You start in the host country in presence/hybrid/online form and you come back to your home country due to the pandemic, but you still have to pay costs abroad and/or participate in pure online courses of the partner university = full support (including the possible quarantine period at the beginning of the stay abroad).

As always, Erasmus+ mobility grants are only paid for the periods confirmed in the Letter of Stay by the partner university. Please make sure that your period of quarantine is also confirmed on your Letter of Stay. The amount of the Erasmus+ mobility grant can be found on our funding website under the heading ERASMUS+ mobility grant.

You can also receive additional Erasmus+ funding for the period you have had to spend abroad due to the pandemic, which goes beyond the original planning. This is the case if you plan to resume your mobility as soon as the partner university is "running normally" again and in the meantime you use the online offer of the partner university and/or you are forced to stay abroad due to travel restrictions imposed by national authorities.

If you have additional high travel costs because you had to physically stop your mobility due to the pandemic, please contact us. We will then examine the possibility of settling the costs incurred in each individual case. To do so, you would have to provide proof or a formal declaration that a reimbursement or a change in the flight schedule has been individually requested from the transport company (airline, travel agency, etc.) or an insurance company but rejected. We also require proof of any additional travel expenses claimed.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

Yes, regardless of whether you are in your home or host country to participate in the online program. However, please make sure that you discuss all courses with the responsible coordinator in advance.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

Should you decide to book air or other travel tickets, we recommend that you choose refundable tickets and/or travel insurance in case of cancellation or no-show, if possible.

Before you sign a rental agreement or similar for your accommodation, it is essential that you familiarize yourself with the cancellation conditions. Please also consider any financial obligations you may have for your study abroad that you may not be able to cancel.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

In general, entry for study purposes is usually possible. Please observe and adhere to the measures and recommendations of the local authorities and the national entry regulations. Check the travel and security advice of the Federal Foreign Office. Especially students who need a visa should apply for it early, as the processing time can still take significantly longer under the current circumstances. Before you leave for your stay abroad, we strongly recommend that you also register on the Elefand list if you have German citizenship.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

This depends on the regulations in the host country. Some partner universities ask for voluntary self-quarantine. Some only allow fully vaccinated students on campus. You will also receive information on this directly from your colleagues there. However, we also ask you to do your own research before you leave the country and plan accordingly for possible quarantine periods before you start your studies abroad.

Quarantine periods that you take immediately after entering the host country for the mobility phase can be funded through Erasmus+; quarantine periods after your return to your home country, however, cannot (see question 3).

(As of: 13.08.2021)

Yes, but only if you don't take a leave of absence.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

Students who are going abroad for the summer semester 2022, please wait with the submission of the documents until you are contacted by us with the new EU templates.

In general, we accept all documents except the Grant Agreement by e-mail. It is best to send the Grant Agreement by post or bring it to our offices.

For all WiWi students: Please send us the Grant Agreement by post only after we have confirmed by e-mail that it has been filled in correctly. Furthermore, the date of signature on the Grant Agreement must be after the last date of signature of the (online) Learning Agreement. Therefore, you must have a (Online) Learning Agreement signed by all three parties (you, us, the partner university) before you can submit the Grant Agreement. Please note that the (Online) Learning and Grant Agreement should be submitted by 01.07.2021 for mobilities in the coming winter semester and by 15.12.2021 for mobilities in the coming summer semester. Both documents must reach us before the start of your studies abroad.

E-Mail addresses to send the documents:

Cultural and Social Sciences / Law students: outgoing@europa-uni.de
Business and Economics students: outgoing-wiwi@europa-uni.de

Our postal address for the Grant Agreement:

Europa-Universität Viadrina
Viadrina International Affairs
c/o name of your coordinator
Große Scharrnstraße 59
15230 Frankfurt (Oder)

You do not need to submit the Online Learning Agreement, we will receive an info from the system as soon as it is completely signed and download it there ourselves.

A list of the documents or things to be done before, during and after your study abroad with all deadlines can be found in the checklist.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

It is possible in well justified exceptional cases. For this purpose, a request must be submitted to the responsible examination board, which is making the decission about exemptions. If you are thinking about filing for an exemption, please consult us beforehand, so that you can make a decision with the knowledge of all possible alternatives.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

No, if you study exclusively online from your home country and do not go abroad at any time, the months do not count towards your quota that you can spend abroad with Erasmus+.

Please note that this does not apply to interruptions of physical mobilities in the host country and its continuation in the home country, nor to periods of online study from the host country.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

If you physically start your Erasmus mobility, we would like to ask you to clarify with your health insurance whether you also have sufficient insurance coverage for a stay in areas with a travel warning and in pandemic cases. This is especially important because not all overseas health insurances cover this.

(As of: 13.08.2021)

Banner Viadrina

Covid-19 FAQ für Outgoings 2021/22

Die Situation stellt uns alle vor neue Herausforderungen und Maßnahmen ändern sich schnell. Hier finden Sie ein von uns für Sie zusammengestelltes FAQ zu wichtigen Fragen bezüglich Ihrer Mobilität im akademischen Jahr 2021/22. Die Antworten werden von uns aktualisiert, sobald es zu Änderungen kommt. Wir informieren Sie im Einzelnen auch per E-Mail dazu.

Darüber hinaus stehen wir Ihnen weiterhin bevorzugt telefonisch und per E-Mail zur Verfügung und beraten Sie gerne. Sie können aber auch Termine zur persönlichen Absprache mit uns vereinbaren.

Die Partneruniversität oder wir informieren Sie dazu einzeln per E-Mail, sobald es Aktualisierungen gibt. Innerhalb Europas sind Auslandssemester für das WiSe 2021/22 meist weiterhin geplant. Dabei ist die Lehre in Präsenz, online oder in hybrider Form möglich. Außerhalb Europas ist das WiSe 2021/22 oft eingeschränkt oder abgesagt worden. Zum SoSe 2022 können momentan größtenteils noch keine Aussagen getroffen werden.

Nur wenige Partnerunis haben bereits mitgeteilt, wie das Semester aussehen wird.

Auf folgender Webseite haben viele Universitäten eingetragen, ob Austauschstudierende angenommen werden und in welcher Form die Lehre stattfindet: covid.uni-foundation.eu

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Zumeist sind Verschiebungen im selben akademischen Jahr, also vom WiSe 2021/22 auf das SoSe 2022 möglich. Je früher Sie Bescheid geben, desto besser für die Planung. Unter den aktuellen Umständen werden aber auch kurzfristige Entscheidungen berücksichtigt. Die meisten Unis haben Verständnis für spontane Änderungen, einige lassen dies jedoch nur eingeschränkt zu.

Verschiebungen in das nächste akademische Jahr, sprich in das WiSe 2022/23 oder SoSe 2023 sind nicht möglich.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Auch ein virtueller Auslandsaufenthalt, also ein Austausch in dem Sie reine Online-Kurse an der Partneruniversität absolvieren, kann durch Erasmus+ finanziell gefördert werden, jedoch nur, wenn Sie sich dabei im Gastland, also im Land der Partneruni, befinden. Das beinhaltet auch Quarantänezeiten, die Sie nach der Einreise ins Gastland unmittelbar wahrnehmen. Bleiben Sie jedoch in Ihrem Heimatland (in Deutschland oder woanders), wird kein Zuschuss gewährt, da keine auslandsbedingten Mehrkosten anfallen. Quarantänezeit, die Sie nach Ihrer Rückkehr in Ihr Heimatland antreten, wird nicht gefördert.

Austausche mit Kursen in Präsenz oder hybrider Form (online und Präsenz) sind auch förderfähig, solange Sie im Gastland sind. Wenn Sie zunächst aus Ihrem Heimatland an Online-Kursen teilnehmen und später ins Gastland ausreisen, sobald Präsenz- oder Hybride Kurse möglich sind, werden Sie nur für die Zeit im Gastland Erasmus+ Gelder erhalten.
Wenn Sie zu Beginn im Ausland in Präsenz/Hybrider Form studieren und Ihren Aufenthalt im Gastland Aufgrund der Pandemie vorzeitig abbrechen, können Sie auch nach Rückkehr in Ihr Heimatland weiterhin finanzielle Erasmus+ Förderung erhalten. Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass Sie Ausgaben haben, die direkt und ausschließlich mit dem Erasmus-Aufenthalt in diesem Land verbunden sind (z. Bsp. Miete, Strom, Zeitkarten ÖPNV) und/oder an reinen online Kursen der Partneruni teilnehmen.

Zusammengefasst:

  1. Sie bleiben in Ihrem Heimatland und nehmen nur an Online-Kursen teil = Keine Förderung.
  2. Sie sind im Gastland und nehmen an Online- oder Präsenzkursen teil = Volle Förderung (inklusive der eventuellen Quarantänezeit zu Beginn des Auslandsaufenthaltes).
  3. Sie starten online im Heimatland und gehen sobald möglich ins Gastland, um an Präsenz- oder Hybriden Kursen teilzunehmen = Förderung ab dem Zeitpunkt in dem Sie im Gastland sind.
  4. Sie starten im Gastland in Präsenz/Hybrider/Online Form und brechen ab aufgrund der Pandemie, Sie müssen aber weiterhin im Ausland Kosten tragen und/oder an an reinen online Kursen der Partneruni teilnehmen = Volle Förderung (inklusive der eventuellen Quarantänezeit zu Beginn des Auslandsaufenthaltes).

Weiterhin gilt, dass Erasmus+ Gelder nur für die Zeiträume gezahlt werden, die im Letter of Stay von der Partneruniversität bestätigt werden. Bitte lassen Sie sich auch ggf. Quarantänezeit im Letter of Stay bestätigen. Die Fördersätze finden Sie auf unserer Finanzierungs-Webseite unter dem Punkt ERASMUS+ Mobilitätszuschuss.

Darüber hinaus können Sie zusätzlich Erasmus+ Gelder erhalten für den Zeitraum, den Sie aufgrund der Pandemie im Ausland verbringen mussten und der über die ursprüngliche Planung hinausgeht. Dies gilt, wenn Sie planen, ihre Mobilität wiederaufzunehmen, sobald die Partneruni wieder "einsatzbereit" ist und Sie in der Zwischenzeit das online Angebot der Partneruni nutzen und/oder Sie aufgrund von Reisebeschränkungen durch nationale Behörden zum Aufenthalt im Ausland gezwungen sind.

Sollten Sie zusätzliche hohe Reisekosten haben, da Sie aufgrund der Pandemie die Mobilität physisch abbrechen mussten, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte. Wir prüfen dann in jedem Einzelfall die Möglichkeit einer Abrechnung der angefallenen Kosten. Dafür müssten Sie einen Nachweis oder eine Eidesstattliche Erklärung erbringen, dass bei der Beförderungsgesellschaft (Fluggesellschaft, Reisebüro usw.) oder bei einer Versicherungsgesellschaft eine Rückerstattung oder eine Änderung des Flugplans individuell beantragt aber abgelehnt wurde. Darüber hinaus benötigen wir Belege für die zusätzlich geltend gemachten Reisekosten.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Ja, auch unabhängig davon, ob Sie sich für die Teilnahme am Online-Programm im Heimat- oder Gastland befinden. Hierbei gilt aber natürlich trotzdem: Bitte alle Kurse im Vorhinein absprechen mit den zuständigen Koordinator/innen.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Sollten Sie sich dazu entscheiden, ein Flug- oder andere Reisetickets zu buchen, empfehlen wir falls möglich, erstattbare Tickets und/oder eine Reiseversicherung zu wählen, die im Falle einer Stornierung oder bei Nichtantritt greift.

Bevor Sie einen Mietvertrag o.ä. für Ihre Unterkunft unterschreiben, machen Sie sich auch dabei vorher unbedingt mit den Stornierungsbedingungen vertraut. Bitte überdenken Sie auch jegliche finanziellen Verpflichtungen, die Sie für Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt eingehen und die Sie eventuell nicht rückgängig machen können.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Generell ist eine Einreise zu Studienzwecken meist möglich. Bitte beachten und halten Sie sich an die Maßnahmen und Empfehlungen der örtlichen Behörden und die nationalen Einreisebestimmungen. Überprüfen Sie dazu die Reise- und Sicherheitshinweise des Auswärtigen Amts. Besonders Studierende, die ein Visum benötigen, sollten dieses frühzeitig beantragen, da die Bearbeitungszeit unter den aktuellen Umständen weiterhin deutlich länger dauern kann. Vor Abreise in Ihrem Auslandsaufenthalt, empfehlen wir Ihnen ausdrücklich, sich auch in der Elefand-Liste einzutragen, wenn Sie eine deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft haben.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Das kommt auf die Regelungen im Gastland an. Vereinzelt bitten Partnerunis um eine freiwillige Selbstquarantäne. Einige lassen nur vollständig geimpfte Studierende auf den Campus. Auch hierzu werden Sie Informationen direkt von den dortigen Kollegen/innen erhalten. Wir bitten Sie jedoch auch um eigene Recherche vor Ihrer Ausreise und entsprechende Einplanung möglicher Quarantänezeiten vor Studienbeginn im Ausland.

Quarantäne, die Sie nach der Einreise ins Gastland zur Mobilitätsphase unmittelbar wahrnehmen, können über Erasmus+ gefördert werden; Quarantänezeiten nach Ihrer Rückkehr in Ihr Heimatland jedoch nicht (siehe Frage 3).

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Ja, aber nur, wenn Sie kein Urlaubssemester nehmen.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Studierende die zum SoSe 2022 ins Ausland gehen, warten mit dem Einreichen der Dokumente bitte bis Sie von uns mit den neuen EU-Vorlagen kontaktiert werden.

Generell akzeptieren wir alle Unterlagen bis auf das Grant Agreement per E-Mail. Das Grant Agreement schicken Sie am besten postalisch oder bringen es in unseren Büros vorbei.

Für alle WiWis: Bitte senden Sie uns das Grant Agreement jedoch erst postalisch zu, nachdem wir Ihnen per E-Mail bestätigt haben, dass es korrekt ausgefüllt ist. Weiterhin gilt, dass das Datum der Unterschrift auf dem Grant Agreement nach dem letzten Unterschriftsdatum des (Online) Learning Agreement liegen muss. Daher muss erst ein von allen drei Seiten unterschriebenes (Sie, wir, die Partneruni) (Online) Learning Agreement vorliegen, bevor Sie das Grant Agreement einreichen können. Bitte beachten Sie, dass das (Online) Learning- und Grant Agreement bis zum 01.07.2021 für Mobilitäten im kommenden Wintersemester und bis zum 15.12.2021 für Mobilitäten im kommenden Sommersemester vorliegen sollte. Beide Dokumente müssen uns zwingend vor Beginn Ihres Auslandsstudiums erreichen.

Unsere E-Mail-Adressen zum Einreichen der Dokumente:

Kulturwissenschaften / Jura: outgoing@europa-uni.de 
Wirtschaftswissenschaften: outgoing-wiwi@europa-uni.de

Unsere Postadresse:

Europa-Universität Viadrina
Viadrina Internationale Angelegenheiten
z.H. Name Koordinatorin
Große Scharrnstraße 59
15230 Frankfurt (Oder)

Das Online Learning Agreement brauchen Sie nicht einreichen, wir erhalten eine Info aus dem System sobald dieses vollständig unterschrieben vorliegt und laden es uns dort selbst runter.

Eine Auflistung der Dokumente bzw. zu erledigenden Dinge vor, während und nach Ihrem Auslandsaufenthalten finden Sie mit allen Fristen in der Checkliste.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

In gut begründeten Ausnahmefällen ist dies möglich. Dafür ist ein Antrag beim zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss zu stellen, der über eine mögliche Befreiung entscheidet. Wenn Sie darüber nachdenken, sich befreien zu lassen, lassen Sie sich bitte vorher von uns beraten, um die Entscheidung mit Wissen zu allen eventuellen Alternativen treffen zu können.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Nein, wenn Sie von vornherein ausschließlich online aus dem Heimatland studieren und nicht ins Ausland gehen, zählen die Monate nicht für Ihr Kontingent, dass Sie mit Erasmus+ im Ausland verbringen können.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass dies nicht bei Abbrüchen von physischer Mobilität im Gastland und deren Fortführung im Heimatland gilt wie auch nicht für Zeiten eines online Studiums aus dem Gastland.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)

Sollten Sie Ihre Erasmus Mobilität physisch antreten, möchten wir Sie bitten mit Ihrer Krankenversicherung zu klären, ob Sie auch bei einem Aufenthalt in Gebieten mit Reisewarnung und in Pandemiefällen über ausreichend Versicherungsschutz verfügen. Dies insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund, dass nicht alle Auslandskrankenversicherungen dies abdecken.

(Stand: 13.08.2021)