Banner Viadrina

Montpellier Business School

About the University

The Montpellier Business School has existed since 1897 and is one of France’s private Grande École. It belongs to the group of Écoles Supérieures de Commerce. The school has triple international accreditation (AACSB, AMBA, EFMD/EPAS) and belongs to the best business schools in France

The city

Montpellier is located in the warm south of France not far from the Mediterranean coast. About 60,000 students are enrolled in the city’s various universities. The city’s Mediterranean flair and buildings from the 19th century remain attractive for tourists.

Students apply for the double degree programme at the Department Viadrina International Affairs. For more detailed information on the application procedure and the deadlines, please refer to the application form.

Requirements:

    • At the time of your departure to Montpellier you must have completed at least four semesters at Viadrina.
    • You must have 90 -100 ECTS before entering the programme.
    • You can study in French or English. It is not possible to mix the languages of tuition. You have to provide proof of the necessary language skills.

In order to take part in the DD programme you need to provide proof that you have sufficient English or French language skills, depending on which language you have chosen. The Montpellier Business School requires proof of language skills:

  • English: B2
  • French: B2 or CTF B1/B2, DELF

Winter semester: September – January
Summer semester: January – June

Please see the Montpellier Business School homepage for the exact semester times.

Please keep in mind when planning your studies that the academic calendars in Germany and France differ. Double degree students start their studies at the Montpellier Business School in the winter semester in September. It is not possible to start in the summer semester. You stay in Montpellier for one year.

Choice of course: 17 compulsory and elective courses have to be completed.

You can obtain information about the offered courses and on the recognition at Viadrina on the following pages. (site in progress)

Type of teaching: The courses are divided into small classes which gives you a lot of contact with fellow students who are attending the same programme. The final grade usually comprises of group work/participation (20%), interim tests (30%) and a final examination (50%). You are required to attend the classes.

You can find general advice about recognition procedures on the pages of the Department Viadrina International Affairs under the point recognition.

In order to receive a degree from the Viadrina it necessary to complete the modules in your course of study. For this purpose, you can, in consultation with us, have courses recognized which you completed as part of the double degree programme abroad. Please discuss the recognition with Torsten Glase before your departure.

In order to obtain a French degree, you have to provide Montpellier Business School with your degree certificate from Viadrina. The MBS then issues you a degree certificate.

The Bachelor Thesis is written and supervised after your return at the Viadrina.

A semester off: You are generally free to take one or two semesters off for your stay abroad. However, in this case, you cannot receive acceptance for foreign certificates or examinations. You cannot take the semester off in which you do your final assignment. 

Health insurance: If you have compulsory German health insurance and possess a European Health Insurance Card you are entitled to basic coverage in other European countries. However, if you stay abroad for a longer period it is recommended that you take out additional insurance.

Accommodation: The Montpellier Business school has student dormitories. However, these are relatively expensive. Therefore, it is recommended to rent private accommodation. As an exchange student, you have a right to housing benefit in France which can be applied for at the Caisses d’Allocations Familiales (CAF). The “taxes d'habitation”, or accommodation tax, is usually included in your rent. Please make sure that this is the case when you conclude your rental contract, otherwise you will be obliged to pay this additional expense.

The Journey: Is possible by air. You can also travel by rail or by bus – then you do not have any weight restrictions for your luggage.

Living expenses: Approx. 700€ - 900€.

Visa: Not necessary for EU citizens with a valid passport or identity card. If you are not a EU citizen you should refer to the visa regulations on the website of the French Embassy.

You can find the most up-to-date student reports under the keyword "France" on our website.

Banner Viadrina

Montpellier Business School

Uni

Die Montpellier Business School besteht seit 1897 und ist eine von Frankreichs privaten Grande École. Sie zählt zur Gruppe der Écoles Supérieures de Commerce, ist international dreifach akkreditiert (AACSB, AMBA, EFMD/EPAS) und gehört zu den besten Business Schools Frankreichs.

Stadt

Montpellier liegt im warmen Süden Frankreichs, unweit der sonnigen Mittelmeerküste. Etwa 60.000 Studierende sind an den verschiedenen Universitäten der Stadt eingeschrieben. Das mediterrane Flair und die Bauten aus dem 19. Jh. ziehen immer wieder auch Touristen an.

Für das Doppelprogramm bewerben Sie sich bei der Abteilung Viadrina Internationale Angelegenheiten. Genauere Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren und zu den Bewerbungsfristen erhalten Sie unter dem Punkt Bewerbung.

Voraussetzungen:

  • Zum Zeitpunkt der Abreise nach Montpellier müssen Sie min. vier Semester an der Viadrina studiert haben.
  • Vor Antritt des Programms benötigen sie 90 - 100 ECTS.
  • Sie können das Studium nur auf Englisch absolvieren.

Um am Programm teilnehmen zu können, sollten Sie über ausreichende Englisch- bzw. Französischkenntnisse verfügen, je nach ausgewählter Sprachvariante. Die Montpellier Business School verlangt entsprechende Sprachnachweise, die vor Ihrer Abreise nachzuweisen sind:

  • EU-Referenzrahmen B2 z.B. UNICERT II

Wintersemester: September – Januar.
Sommersemester: Januar – Juni.

Die genauen Semesterzeiten finden Sie auf den Seiten der Montpellier Business School.

Bitte berücksichtigen Sie bei Ihrer Studienplanung den Unterschied zwischen dem französischen und deutschen akademischen Kalender. Als Doppelabschuss-Studierende/-r gehen Sie zum WiSe an die Montpellier Business School im September. Ein Beginn des Studiums zum SoSe ist nicht möglich. Sie bleiben ein Jahr vor Ort.

Kurswahl: Es müssen 17 festgelegte und ein Wahlpflichtkurs belegt werden.

Informationen zu den angebotenen Kursen und ihrer Anerkennung an der Viadrina erhalten Sie auf nachfolgender Seite:

Unterrichtsform: Die Kurse finden in kleineren Gruppen im Klassenverband statt, daher haben Sie viel Kontakt zu den Kommilitonen, die dasselbe Programm absolvieren. In der Regel, setzt sich die Endnote aus Gruppenarbeit/Mitarbeit (20%), Zwischentests (30%) und einer Endklausur (50%) zusammen, daher besteht Anwesenheitspflicht.

Allgemeine Hinweise zum Anerkennungsverfahren finden Sie auf den Seiten der Abteilung Viadrina Internationale Angelegenheiten unter dem Punkt Anerkennung.

Um einen Abschluss an der Viadrina zu erhalten sind die vorgegebenen Module in Ihrem Studiengang vollständig abzuschließen. Dafür können Sie sich nach Absprache Kurse, die Sie im Rahmen des Doppelprogramms im Ausland absolvieren, anrechnen lassen. Besprechen Sie die Anerkennung vor Ihrer Abreise mit Torsten Glase.

Für den französischen Abschluss müssen Sie das Abschlusszeugnis der Viadrina der Montpellier Business School zukommen lassen. Diese stellt Ihnen danach ein Abschlusszeugnis aus.

Die Bachelor-Arbeit wird nach Ihrer Rückkehr an der Viadrina geschrieben und betreut.

Urlaubssemester: Es steht Ihnen generell frei für Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt ein bis zwei Urlaubssemester zu beantragen. Es können jedoch dann keine Leistungen aus dem Ausland anerkannt werden. In dem Semester, in dem Sie die Abschlussarbeit schreiben, dürfen Sie nicht beurlaubt sein. 

Krankenversicherung: Wenn Sie bei einer deutschen Krankenkasse gesetzlich versichert sind und eine Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte besitzen, stellt diese den Grundversicherungsschutz fürs europäische Ausland dar. Das abschließen einer Zusatzversicherung ist bei längeren Auslandsaufenthalten ggf. zu empfehlen.

Unterkunft: Die Montpellier Business School verfügt über Wohnheime. Allerdings sind diese relativ teuer. Daher empfiehlt es sich eine private Unterkunft zu suchen. Als Austauschstudierende/r haben Sie in Frankreich Anspruch auf Wohngeld, das Sie beim Caisses d’Allocations Familiales (CAF) beantragen können. In der Regel ist die „taxes d'habitation“, die Wohnsteuer, in Ihrer Miete bereits inbegriffen. Achten Sie jedoch beim Abschluss eines Mietvertrages darauf, da es sonst zu hohen Zusatzkosten kommt.

Anreise: Ist mit dem Flugzeug möglich. Sie können auch mit der Bahn oder dem Bus anreisen - Vorteil: keine Gewichtsbeschränkung beim Gepäck.

Lebenshaltungskosten: Ca. 700€ - 900€.

Visa: Wenn Sie EU-Bürger/-in sind, reicht ein gültiger Reisepass oder Personalausweis. Falls Sie Nicht-EU-Bürger/-in sind informieren Sie sich über die Visabestimmungen auf der Seite der französischen Botschaft.

Erfahrungsberichte finden Sie unter dem Stichwort "Frankreich" auf unserer Webseite mit allen Erfahrungsberichten.