Banner Viadrina

Erasmus+ Blended Intensive Programmes (BIP)

In the new programme generation of the Erasmus+ programme (2021-2027), the opportunities for stays abroad have been greatly expanded and, among other things, supplemented with digital and hybrid elements.

The Key Action 1 - Learning mobility of individuals aims to support physical and mixed mobility of students and university staff.

In particular, this action supports Blended Intensive Programmes, which allow groups of higher education institutions to jointly develop blended mobility curricula and activities for students, academic and administrative staff.

The development of transnational and interdisciplinary curricula as well as innovative learning and teaching methods shall be promoted, including online collaboration (e.g. COIL - Collaborative Online International Learning), research-based learning and challenge-oriented approaches with the aim of tackling societal problems.

In the academic year 2022/2023 there are 3 planned BIP seminars so far:
- Prof. Dr. Benjamin Lahusen, "Luhmann in Lecce: Recht, Wirtschaft und Politik in der Systemtheorie" (26.03. - 01.04.2023 in Lecce, IT + div. Online-sessions). Registration for the course until 31.11.2022 via email to the secretary of the Chair.
- Prof. Dr. Eva Kocher, "Employment and Self-Employment in Platform Work" (EWL Student Seminar 08. - 12.05.2023 in Frankfurt (Oder) + div. Online-sessions). For more information, please contact Prof. Dr. Eva Kocher.
- PD Dr. Carolin Leutloff-Grandits, "GlocalEast - Developing a new curriculum in Global Migration, Diaspora and Border Studies in East-Central Europe" (est. March - June 2023 in Bologna, IT + div. Online-sessions). For further information, please contact Frau Krug-Firstbrook or PD Dr. Leutloff-Grandits.
For further academic information, please contact the chairs directly.

What are Blended Intensive Programmes (BIP)?

BIPs are short physical learning, teaching and training programs for students (5-30 days) combined with a compulsory virtual phase (cooperative online learning exchange) of undefined duration; if possible, the physical activity should take place at a foreign partner university or subject-specifically with an institution affiliated with the university..

 

What is the goal of a Blended Intensive Programme (BIP)?

Conducting short, intensive mobility periods and activities with international partner universities using innovative learning and teaching methods, including Collaborative Online International Learning (COIL). The intensive program should have an additional benefit compared to existing courses or trainings, e.g. by BIPs aiming to form transnational and transdisciplinary teams, facilitating the joint processing of global challenges (e.g. in connection with UN SDGs) or flexible mobility offers for students with different backgrounds and fields of study and in all study cycles.

General conditions of Blended Intensive Programmes (BIPs)

• Cooperation/project between the European University Viadrina and at least two other universities from different program countries

• at least 15 - 20 participating students; excluding teachers

• Scope of work of the project/seminar/course of at least 3 ECTS

Physical stay of all BIP participants at the same time in the same physical venue from 5-30 days

Mandatory virtual component before, during or after physical mobility (no specified duration)

• Added value of GDP compared to existing programs or courses

• Optional: Cooperation with other universities and/or organizations from program or partner countries (third countries)

• Optional: additional participation of self-payers possible

Currently there is a call for three BIPs that we are awarding at the Viadrina. The call for applications is aimed at teachers/scientists at the European University Viadrina. The call for the three BIPs at Viadrina can be found here.

The deadline for submitting the draft application is June 10, 2022. The form for the draft application (in German) is available here.

In the new year we will hold another two kick-off meetings for interested applicants, in which we will explain general conditions, answer general questions, give good practice examples and talk about support options for the practical implementation of the BIP at Viadrina.

Dates kick-off meetings

on Monday, January 9th 2023, 12 am - 1 pm online via Zoom (link: https://europa-uni-de.zoom.us/j/82788832324?pwd=Ym42dmxWZnl6b2JsYWYxejRnZUFkZz09

on Wednesday, January 11th 2023, 12 am - 1 pm online via Zoom (link: https://europa-uni-de.zoom.us/j/82002201519?pwd=eHFXMmFQaU1Nd0VlQWQvR28zajFoUT09

The presentation from the kick-off meeting from December 5th can be downloaded here.

What financial support do BIP participants receive?

The Erasmus+ program offers financial support for short-term physical mobility as part of the Blended Mobility Program (BIP).:

Mobility duration How much? ** Possible Top ups** Possible Top ups**
Day 5 - 14 of physical mobility 70 €/ Day Fewer opportunities*: 100 € one-off payment Sustainable travel: 50 € + up to 4 additional days one-off
Day 15 - 30 of physical mobility 50 €/ Day Fewer opportunities*: 150 € one-off payment Sustainable travel: 50 € + up to 4 additional days one-off

In addition, a travel allowance can be paid, which depends on the distance to the destination:

• for students with fewer opportunities*
• in case of journey to a program or partner country:

Distance How much?**
10 - 99 km 23 €
100 - 499 km 180 €
500 - 1999 km 275 €
2000 - 2999 km 360 €
3000 - 3999 km 530 €
4000 - 7999 km 820 €
über 8000 km 1500 €

* Definition by the NA DAAD (Germany): Participants with a GdB (Grad der Behinderung - degree of disability) of min. 20 and students with children

** All data has been included without warranty.

Logo_ukraine@viadrina_rgb ©Viadrina

Banner Viadrina

Erasmus+ Blended Intensive Programmes (BIP)

In der neuen Programmgeneration des Erasmus+ Programms (2021-2027) wurden die Möglichkeiten für Auslandsaufenthalte noch einmal stark erweitert und u.a. um digitale und hybride Elemente ergänzt.

Im Rahmen der Leitaktion 1 - Lernmobilität von Einzelpersonen soll die physische und gemischte Mobiltät von Studierenden und Hochschulpersonal unterstützt werden.

Insbesondere unterstützt diese Aktion gemischte Intensivprogramme (sog. Blended Intensive Programmes), die es Gruppen von Hochschuleinrichtungen ermöglichen, gemeinsam gemischte Mobilitätslehrpläne und -aktivitäten für Studierende sowie akademisches und Verwaltungspersonal zu entwickeln. 

Die Entwicklung transnationaler und interdisziplinärer Lehrpläne sowie innovativer Lern- und Lehrmethoden soll gefördert werden, darunter Online-Zusammenarbeit (bspw. COIL - Collaborative Online International Learning), forschungsgestütztes Lernen und herausforderungsorientierte Ansätze mit dem Ziel, gesellschaftliche Probleme zu bewältigen.

Im Jahrgang 2022/2023 gibt es bisher drei geplante BIP Seminare:
- Prof. Dr. Benjamin Lahusen, "Luhmann in Lecce: Recht, Wirtschaft und Politik in der Systemtheorie" (26.03. - 01.04.2023 in Lecce, IT + div. Online-VA). Anmeldung bis 31.11.2022 über das Sekretariat des Lehrstuhls möglich.
- Prof. Dr. Eva Kocher, "Employment and Self-Employment in Platform Work" (EWL Student Seminar 08. - 12.05.2023 in Frankfurt (Oder) + div. Online-VA). Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei Prof. Dr. Eva Kocher.
- PD Dr. Carolin Leutloff-Grandits, "GlocalEast - Developing a new curriculum in Global Migration, Diaspora and Border Studies in East-Central Europe" (vorauss. zw. März-Juni 2023 in Bologna, IT + div. Online-VA). Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei Frau Krug-Firstbrook oder PD Dr. Leutloff-Grandits.
Weitere Informationen, erfragen Sie bitte bei den zuständigen Lehrstühlen/ Koordinator*innen.

Was sind Blended Intensive Programmes (BIP)?

Bei BIPs handelt es sich um kurze physische Lern-, Lehr- und Ausbildungsprogramme für Studierende (5-30 Tage) kombiniert mit einer obligatorischen virtuellen Phase (kooperativer Online-Lernaustausch) nicht definierter Dauer; die physische Aktivität sollte möglichst an einer ausländischen Partneruniversität stattfinden oder fachspezifisch mit einer mit der Universität verbundenen Einrichtung stattfinden.

 

Was ist Ziel eines Blended Intensive Programmes (BIP)?

Die Durchführung kurzer, intensiver Mobilitätsphasen und Aktivitäten mit internationalen Partnerhochschulen, bei denen innovative Lern- und Lehrmethoden zum Einsatz kommen, darunter auch die Online-Zusammenarbeit (Collaborative Online International Learning/COIL). Das Intensivprogramm sollte einen zusätzlichen Nutzen im Vergleich zu bestehenden Kursen oder Schulungen haben, z.B. indem BIPs darauf abzielen, transnationale und transdisziplinäre Teams zu bilden, die gemeinsame Bearbeitung globaler Herausforderungen zu erleichtern (z.B. in Zusammenhang mit SDGs der UN) oder flexible Mobilitätsangebote für Studierende mit unterschiedlichen Hintergründen und Studienrichtungen und in allen Studienzyklen zu ermöglichen.

Rahmenbedingungen der Blended Intensive Programmes (BIPs)

  • Zusammenarbeit/ Projekt zwischen Europa-Universität Viadrina mit mind. zwei weiteren Hochschulen aus verschiedenen Programmländern
  • mind 15 - 20 teilnehmende Studierende; exkl. Lehrende
  • Arbeitsumfang des Projektes/ Seminars/ Kurses von mind. 3 ECTS
  • physischer Aufenthalt aller BIP-Teilnehmenden zur selben Zeit am selben physischen Veranstaltungsort von 5-30 Tagen
  • obligatorische virtuelle Komponente vor, während oder nach der physischen Mobilität (keine vorgegebene Dauer)
  • Mehrwert des BIP im Vergleich zu existierenden Programmen oder Kursen
  • Optional: Zusammenarbeit mit weiteren Hochschulen und/ oder Organisationen aus Programm- oder Partnerländern (Drittländern)
  • Optional: zusätzliche Teilnahme von Selbstzahler*innen möglich

Aktuell läuft eine Ausschreibung für zwei BIPs, die wir an der Viadrina vergeben. Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an Lehrende/ Wissenschaftler*innen der Europa-Universität Viadrina. Der Langtext der Ausschreibung ist hier zu finden.

Die Frist für die Einreichung der Antragsskizze ist der 31. Januar 2023. Das Formblatt für die Antragsskizze, finden Sie hier zum Abruf.

Im mehreren Kick-Off Meetings für interessierte Antragsteller*innen haben wir allgemeine Fragen und die Rahmenbedingungen geklärt und good practice Beispiele gegeben. Die Präsentation des Kick-Off Meetings finden Sie hier zum Abruf.

Welche finanzielle Förderung erhalten die BIP-Teilnehmer?

Für physische Kurzzeitmobilitäten im Rahmen des Blended Mobility Programmes (BIP) bietet das Erasmus+ Programm finanzielle Unterstützung:

Mobilitätsdauer Wie viel?** Mögliche Top ups** Mögliche Top ups**
Tag 5 - 14 der physischen Mobilität 70 €/ Tag Geringere Chancen*: 100 € einmalig Nachhaltiges Reisen: 50 € + bis zu 4 zusätzliche Tage einmalig
Tag 15 - 30 der physischen Mobilität 50 €/ Tag Geringere Chancen*: 150 € einmalig Nachhaltiges Reisen: 50 € + bis zu 4 zusätzliche Tage einmalig

Zudem kann ein Reisekostenzuschuss gezahlt werden, der sich nach Distanz zum Zielort richtet:

  • für Studierende mit geringeren Chancen*
  • bei Entsendung in Programm- bzw. Partnerland:
Distanz Wie viel?**
10 - 99 km 23 €
100 - 499 km 180 €
500 - 1999 km 275 €
2000 - 2999 km 360 €
3000 - 3999 km 530 €
4000 - 7999 km 820 €
über 8000 km 1500 €

*  Definition DE: Teilnehmende mit einem GdB ab 20 und Studierende mit Kind

** Alle Angaben ohne Gewähr.

Logo_ukraine@viadrina_rgb ©Viadrina