Banner Viadrina

University of Vaasa

Uni

The University of Vaasa has about 4,500 students enrolled in four faculties and is supervised by about 420 employees. The university emerged from a private business school founded in 1966, which was nationalised in 1977. The university's modern campus is located directly by the sea.

The city

Vaasa, the sunniest city in Finland, is a port city in the west of the country with a population of approx. 60,000, of whom about 70 % are Finnish-speaking and 20 % Swedish-speaking. The Swedish King Charles IX founded the city in 1606 and gave it the name of his noble family.

Information regarding the double degree programme

Application and Requirements

Students apply for the double program at the Department Viadrina International Affairs. More detailed information on the application procedure and deadlines can be found under Application.

Requirements

  • At the time of departure to Vaasa, you must already have obtained at least 120 ECTS at Viadrina. This includes all courses from the Grundlagenausbildung (72 ECTS), two courses from the Schwerpunktbildung (12 ECTS), an internship or soft skills (12 ECTS) and language achievements (24 ECTS).
  • You must have sufficient language skills.
Language Skills

In order to participate in the double degree programme, you should have sufficient English language skills. The University of Vaasa requires proof of your English language skills, which must be submitted before the start of the exchange programme: EU frame of reference B2 e.g. UNICERT II or equivalent.

Knowledge of Finnish is welcome, but not a prerequisite.

Semester times

Winter semester: Mid/End August – Mid/End December
Summer semester: Beginning January – beginning June

You can find the exact semester times on the pages of the University of Vaasa.

When planning your studies, please bear in mind that the academic calendar of Finnish universities differs from that of German universities. The double degree programme always starts in the winter semester and you stay on site for 1 year.

Choice of course / Type of teaching

Choice of course: During your stay at the University of Vaasa you have to complete a total of at least 60 ECTS. Please search for course lists on the website of the University of Vaasa. Examples can be found in the list below.

In the first semester, it is best to complete as many courses as possible, as the second semester is intended for the final thesis.

Information on the courses offered and their recognition at Viadrina can be found on the following page:

Type of teaching: Prepare yourself for the fact that you will have to do homework and presentations in addition to exams. There is also a lot of group work.

Recognition of certificates and examinations

General information on the recognition procedure can be found on the pages of the Viadrina International Affairs Department under the topic Recognition. The information listed there also applies to students in the double program. You must discuss your course selection with Torsten Glase in order to ensure that it is recognised at the Viadrina.

In order to obtain a degree at Viadrina, the specified modules in your degree programme must be completed in full. For this purpose, you can receive credit for the courses from abroad that you have taken as part of the double program, after consultation.

After successfully having passed the Bachelor Thesis, you will automatically receive a degree from the University of Vaasa. In order to receive your Bachelor's degree at Viadrina, you have to send the completed application for recognition and a transcript with all your achievements to the Viadrina International Affairs Department.

Thesis

You will write your Bachelor's thesis at the University of Vaasa. It has to be written in the second semester of your stay. The final thesis is recognised at Viadrina with 12 ECTS points. You do not have to write a second thesis at Viadrina. The thesis has to be written in English.

Useful Information: insurance, accommodation, travel etc.

Semester off: During the year abroad at the University of Vaasa, it is not possible to take a semester off, as no recognition of the work done abroad is possible in the case of a leave of absence.

Insurance: If you have compulsory German health insurance and possess a European Health Insurance Card you are entitled to basic coverage in other European countries. If you do not have a European Health Insurance Card, you should apply to your insurer. Furthermore, it is recommended that you take out additional insurance for the length of your stay abroad.

If you are privately insured please find out what is covered and whether you have sufficient cover in Finland. It may be recommended to take out additional insurance.

Accommodation: There are several halls of residence available, arranged through VOAS (Student Housing Foundation). Please note that some halls of residence are a little further away from campus. The cost is 200-350 EUR per month. We would also be happy to put you in touch with students who have already spent time abroad at the University of Vaasa. Please send us a short e-mail.

The journey: Is possible by air, train and bus. There are no direct flights to Vaasa at the moment. Most people fly from Berlin to Helsinki and take a connecting flight or a train from there.

Living costs: Approx. EUR 600 per month (day-to-day expenses approx. EUR 250, Transport EUR 30, Accommodation EUR 190- 300).

Visa: If you are a EU citizen you only need a valid passport or identity card. If you are not a EU citizen please refer to the visa regulations on the website of the Finnish Embassy.

Student reports

You can find the most up-to-date student reports under the keyword "Finnland" on our website.

Banner Viadrina

University of Vaasa

Uni

An der University of Vaasa sind ca. 4.500 Studierende an vier Fakultäten immatrikuliert und werden von etwa 420 Angestellten betreut. Die Uni ging aus einer 1966 gegründeten privaten Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Hochschule hervor, die 1977 verstaatlicht wurde. Der moderne Campus der Uni liegt direkt am Meer.

Stadt

Vaasa, oder auch die sonnigste Stadt Finnlands, ist eine Hafenstadt im Westen des Landes mit knapp 60.000 Einwohnern, von denen ca. 70 % finnisch- und 20 % schwedisch sprachig sind. Der schwedische König Karl IX. gründete die Stadt 1606 und verlieh ihr den Namen seines Adelsgeschlechts.

 

Informationen zum Doppelabschlussprogramm

Bewerbung / besondere Voraussetzungen

Studierende bewerben sich für das ausgesuchte Doppelprogramm bei der Abteilung Viadrina Internationale Angelegenheiten. Genauere Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren und zu den Bewerbungsfristen erhalten Sie unter dem Punkt Bewerbung.

Voraussetzungen

  • Zum Zeitpunkt der Abreise nach Vaasa müssen Sie bereits min. 120 ECTS an der Viadrina erbracht haben. Dies beinhaltet alle Kurse der Grundlagenphase (72 ECTS), zwei Kurse aus der Schwerpunktphase (12 ECTS), ein Praktikum oder Soft Skills (12 ECTS) und Sprachleistungen (24 ECTS).
  • Sie müssen über ausreichende Sprachkenntnis verfügen.
Sprachkenntnisse

Um am DD Programm teilnehmen zu können, sollten Sie über ausreichende Englischkenntnisse verfügen. Die University of Vaasa verlangt einen entsprechenden Nachweis zu Ihren Englischkenntnissen, der vor Antritt des Austauschprogrammes vorzulegen ist: EU-Referenzrahmen B2 z.B. UNICERT II oder Äquivalent.

Finnisch Kenntnisse sind gern gesehen, jedoch keine Voraussetzung.

Semesterzeiten

Wintersemester: Mitte/Ende August – Mitte/Ende Dezember
Sommersemester: Anfang Januar – Anfang Juni

Die genauen Semesterzeiten finden Sie auf den Seiten der University of Vaasa.

Bitte berücksichtigen Sie bei Ihrer Studienplanung, dass der akademische Kalender finnischer Universitäten sich von dem deutscher Universitäten unterscheidet. Das Doppelabschussprogramm beginnt jeweils immer zum Winter Semester und Sie bleiben 1 Jahr vor Ort.

Kurswahl / Unterrichtsform

Kurswahl: Während des Studienaufenthaltes an der University of Vaasa müssen Sie insgesamt min. 60 ECTS erbringen. Kurslisten suchen Sie bitte auf der Internetseite der University of Vaasa. Beispiele finden Sie in der Liste unten.

Im ersten Semester absolvieren Sie am besten so viele Kurse wie möglich, da das zweite Semester für die Abschlussarbeit gedacht ist.

Informationen zu den angebotenen Kursen und ihrer Anerkennung an der Viadrina erhalten Sie auf der nachfolgenden Seite:

Unterrichtsform: Bereiten Sie sich darauf vor, dass Sie nebst Klausuren auch Hausarbeiten und Präsentationen anfertigen müssen. Es kommt auch viel Gruppenarbeit vor.

Anerkennung der Studienleistungen

Allgemeine Hinweise zum Anerkennungsverfahren finden Sie auf den Seiten der Abteilung Viadrina Internationale Angelegenheiten unter dem Punkt Anerkennung. Die dort aufgeführten Hinweise gelten auch für Studierende im Doppelprogramm. Sie müssen die Kurswahl mit Torsten Glase absprechen, um deren Anerkennbarkeit an der Viadrina zu gewährleisten

Um einen Abschluss an der Viadrina zu erhalten sind die vorgegebenen Module in Ihrem Studiengang vollständig abzuschließen. Dafür können Sie sich nach Absprache die Kurse aus dem Ausland anrechnen lassen, die Sie im Rahmen des Doppelprogramms belegt haben.

Nach erfolgreichem bestehen der Bachelor Thesis erhalten Sie automatisch einen Abschluss von der University of Vaasa. Für den Erhalt des Bachelorzeugnisses an der Viadrina müssen Sie den ausgefüllten Antrag auf Anerkennung und ein Transcript mit all Ihren Leistungen an die Abteilung Viadrina Internationale Angelegenheiten schicken.

Abschlussarbeit

Sie schreiben die Bachelorarbeit an der Vaasa. Diese ist im zweiten Semester Ihres Aufenthaltes anzufertigen. Die Abschlussarbeit wird an der Viadrina mit 12 ECTS Punkten anerkannt. Sie müssen keine zweite Abschlussarbeit an der Viadrina schreiben. Die Abschlussarbeit ist auf Englisch anzufertigen.

Nützliche Hinweise: Versicherung, Unterkunft, Anreise etc.

Urlaubssemester: Während des Auslandsjahres an der Uni Vaasa kann kein Urlaubssemester genommen werden, da bei Beurlaubung keine Anerkennung der im Ausland erbrachten Leistungen möglich ist.

Versicherung: Wenn Sie bei einer deutschen Krankenkasse gesetzlich versichert sind und eine Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte besitzen, stellt diese den Grundversicherungsschutz fürs (europäische) Ausland dar. Falls Sie noch keine europäische Versicherungskarte besitzen, sollten sie diese bei Ihrer Versicherung beantragen. Des Weiteren empfehlen wir eine Zusatzversicherung für die Länge des Auslandsaufenthaltes abzuschließen.

Wenn Sie privat versichert sind, informieren Sie sich, was abgedeckt ist bzw. ob Ihnen ein ausreichender Versicherungsschutz in Finnland gewährt wird. Es empfiehlt sich gegebenenfalls eine Zusatzversicherung abzuschließen.

Unterkunft: Es sind mehrere Wohnheime vorhanden, die durch VOAS (Student Housing Foundation) vermittelt werden. Beachten Sie bitte, dass einige Wohnheime etwas weiter vom Campus entfernt sind. Kostenpunkt 200-350 EUR im Monat. Gern vermitteln wir Ihnen auch einen Kontakt zu Studierenden die bereits einen Auslandsaufenthalt an der University of Vaasa absolviert haben. Schreiben Sie uns dazu eine kurze E-Mail.

Anreise: Ist per Flugzeug, Zug, und Bus möglich. Es gibt noch keine Direktflüge nach Vaasa. Meistens fliegen Sie von Berlin nach Helsinki und von dort aus geht’s mit einem Anschlussflug oder mit dem Zug weiter.

Lebenshaltungskosten: Ca. 650 EUR im Monat (Verpflegung ca. 300 EUR, Transport 30 EUR, Fitnessstudio 30€, Wohnung 250-350 EUR)

Visa: Wenn Sie EU-Bürger/-in sind, reicht ein gültiger Reisepass oder Personalausweis. Falls Sie Nicht-EU-Bürger/-in sind informieren Sie sich über die Visabestimmungen auf der Seite der finnischen Botschaft.

Erfahrungsberichte

Erfahrungsberichte finden Sie unter dem Stichwort "Finnland" auf unserer Webseite mit allen Erfahrungsberichten.