Banner Viadrina

Toulouse Business School

About the University

The Toulouse Business School has around 5,000 students and was founded in 1903. Internationality is emphasised with double degrees, an international faculty and close business cooperation, as well as around 500 international students.

Our goal is to provide our students with the analytical skills, professional network and flexibility they need to adapt, innovate and anticipate change in their future work environments.

The city

Toulouse is located in the south of France, near Montpellier. The city is the capital of the administrative region of Occitania and with over 1.2 million inhabitants, it is the fourth largest city in France.

You apply for the double degree programme at the Department Viadrina International Affairs. Detailed information on the application procedure and the deadlines can be found under application.

Requirements:

  • The DD programme is only open for bachelor students of IBWL and IBA at the Viadrina.
  • At the time of departure to Toulouse, you must have studied at the Viadrina for at least 4 semesters.
  • You must have sufficient knowledge of English.

The language of instruction is English. The TBS requires proof of language proficiency, which must be submitted prior to the start of the stay abroad. Language skills at the following level are recommended:

  • EU Framework of Reference B2 e.g. UNICERT II,
  • TOEFL: 80,
  • IELTS: 6,
  • Certificate of Cambridge level C.

Knowledge of French is an advantage in order to better cope with everyday life, but is not a prerequisite.

Winter semester: Mid-September - mid/end December
Summer semester: Beginning/middle of January - middle/end of May

Please refer to the TBS homepage for the exact semester times.

Please take into account the difference between the French and German academic calendars when planning your studies. As a double degree student, you go to the TBS in September for the winter semester. It is not possible to start your studies in the summer semester. You will stay on site for one year.

Course selection: During your study stay at TBS you have to complete a total of 60 ECTS points. You will be given a fixed course schedule and must complete all courses. Most courses run over 3-5 weeks, a few also over several months with 2-3 lectures per week per course. This explains the high number of courses, which, however, have a lower number of ECTS points and are therefore less demanding in terms of workload.

Information regarding the TBS course schedule can be found here.

Form of teaching: Lessons are usually held from 8:30 am - 04:00 pm in smaller French-international mixed groups in a class. Usually, group presentations have to be given and essays written. Case studies are also often worked on. International lecturers and professionals from the business world often teach here, so attendance is compulsory. Here you can find the specialisations in which you can study.

For general information on the recognition procedure, please contact Torsten Glase.

In order to obtain a degree at the Viadrina, the specified modules in your degree programme must be completed in full. For this purpose, you can have courses that you complete abroad as part of the DD programme credited by arrangement. Discuss the recognition with Torsten Glase before your departure.

For the french degree, you must send the degree certificate from Viadrina to the TBS. They will then issue you with a degree certificate.

The Bachelor Thesis is written and supervised at the Viadrina. The regulations of the Faculty of Economic Sciences at Viadrina apply.

Semester off: You are generally free to apply for one or two semesters off during your stay abroad. However, no achievements from abroad can then be recognised. You are not allowed to be on leave of absence in the semester in which you write your thesis.

Health insurance: If you are legally insured with a German health insurance company and have a European Health Insurance Card, this constitutes the basic insurance cover for other European countries. It may be advisable to take out additional insurance for longer stays abroad.

Accommodation: The TBS International Student Service provides an accommodation guide. It lists various accommodation options. Usually, the "taxes d'habitation", the housing tax, is already included in your rent. However, make sure you take this into account when signing a rental contract, otherwise you will have to pay high additional costs.

Housing benefit: As an exchange student in France, you are entitled to a housing grant, which you can apply for at the Caisses d'Allocations Familiales (CAF).

Arrival: Is possible by plane and train.

Cost of living: Approx. 1000€.

Visa: If you are an EU citizen, a valid passport or identity card is sufficient. If you are a non-EU citizen, please check the visa requirements on the French Embassy website.

You can find the most up-to-date student reports under the keyword "France" on our website.

Banner Viadrina

Toulouse Business School

Uni

Die Toulouse Business School wurde 1903 gegründet und hat um die 5.000 Studierende. Auf Internationalität wird großen Wert gelegt, mit Doppelabschlüssen, einem internationalen Lehrkörper und einer engen Wirtschaftskooperation, sowie mit ca. 500 internationalen Studierenden.

Unser Ziel ist es, unseren Studierenden die analytischen Fähigkeiten, das professionelle Netzwerk und die Flexibilität zu vermitteln, die sie benötigen, um sich in ihren zukünftigen Arbeitsumgebungen anpassungssicher zu bewegen, Innovationen anzustoßen und Veränderungen zu antizipieren.

Stadt

Toulouse liegt im Süden Frankreichs, in der Nähe von Montpellier. Die Stadt ist die Hauptstadt der Verwaltungsregion Okzitanien und mit über 1,2 Mio. Einwohnern ist sie die viertgrößte Stadt Frankreichs.

Für das Doppelprogramm bewerben Sie sich bei der Abteilung Viadrina Internationale Angelegenheiten. Genaue Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren und zu den Bewerbungsfristen erhalten Sie unter dem Punkt Bewerbung.

Voraussetzungen:

  • Das Doppelprogramm steht nur Studierenden der BA-Studiengänge IBWL und IBA offen.
  • Zum Zeitpunkt der Abreise nach Toulouse müssen Sie min. vier Semester an der Viadrina studiert haben.
  • Sie müssen über ausreichende Englischkenntnisse verfügen.

Die Unterrichtssprache ist Englisch. Die TBS verlangt einen entsprechenden Sprachnachweis, der vor Antritt des Auslandsaufenthaltes vorzulegen ist:

  • EU-Referenzrahmen B2 z.B. UNICERT II,
  • TOEFL: 80,
  • IELTS: 6 oder
  • Certificate of Cambridge level C.

Französischkenntnisse sind von Vorteil, um im Alltag besser zurecht zu kommen, jedoch keine Voraussetzung.

Wintersemester: Mitte September – Mitte/Ende Dezember.
Sommersemester: Anfang/Mitte Januar – Mitte/Ende Mai.

Die genauen Semesterzeiten entnehmen Sie bitte der Homepage der TBS.

Bitte berücksichtigen Sie bei Ihrer Studienplanung den Unterschied zwischen dem französischen und dem deutschen akademischen Kalender. Als Doppelabschuss-Studierende/-r gehen Sie zum WiSe an die TBS im September. Ein Beginn des Studiums zum SoSe ist nicht möglich. Sie bleiben ein Jahr vor Ort.

Kurswahl: Während des Studienaufenthaltes an der TBS müssen Sie insgesamt 60 ECTS Punkte erbringen. Sie bekommen einen festen Kursplan und müssen alle Kurse absolvieren. Die meisten Kurse laufen über 3 - 5 Wochen, einige wenige auch über mehrere Monate mit 2 - 3 Vorlesungen in der Woche pro Kurs. Dies erklärt die hohe Anzahl an Kursen, die aber eine geringere Anzahl an ECTS Punkten aufweisen und somit vom Arbeitsaufwand geringer ausfallen.

Informationen den TBS Kursplan erhalten Sie auf den nachfolgenden Seiten.

Unterrichtsform: Der Unterricht findet meist von 8:30 - 16:00 Uhr in kleineren französisch-international gemischten Gruppen im geschlossenen Klassenverband statt. Meist müssen Gruppenvorträge gehalten und Aufsätze geschrieben werden. Auch werden gern Fallstudien bearbeitet. Die Schwerpunkte in denen Sie studieren können, finden Sie hier. Es unterrichten oft internationale Dozierende und Personen aus der Wirtschaft, sodass Anwesenheitspflicht besteht.

Allgemeine Hinweise zum Anerkennungsverfahren erhalten Sie bei Torsten Glase.

Um einen Abschluss an der Viadrina zu erhalten sind die vorgegebenen Module in Ihrem Studiengang vollständig abzuschließen. Dafür können Sie sich nach Absprache Kurse, die Sie im Rahmen des Doppelprogramms im Ausland absolvieren, anrechnen lassen. Besprechen Sie die Anerkennung vor Ihrer Abreise mit Torsten Glase.

Für den französischen Abschluss müssen Sie das Abschlusszeugnis der Viadrina der TBS zukommen lassen. Diese stellt Ihnen danach ein Abschlusszeugnis aus.

Die Bachelorarbeit wird an der Viadrina geschrieben und betreut. Bei der Abschlussarbeit gelten die Regelungen der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät an der Viadrina.

Urlaubssemester: Es steht Ihnen generell frei für Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt ein bis zwei Urlaubssemester zu beantragen. Es können jedoch dann keine Leistungen aus dem Ausland anerkannt werden. In dem Semester, in dem Sie die Abschlussarbeit schreiben, dürfen Sie nicht beurlaubt sein.

Krankenversicherung: Wenn Sie bei einer deutschen Krankenkasse gesetzlich versichert sind und eine Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte besitzen, stellt diese den Grundversicherungsschutz fürs europäische Ausland dar. Das abschließen einer Zusatzversicherung ist bei längeren Auslandsaufenthalten ggf. zu empfehlen.

Unterkunft: Der TBS International Student Service stellt einen Unterkunfts-Guide zur Verfügung. In diesem werden verschiedene Unterkunftsmöglichkeiten aufgeführt. Die monatliche Miete beträgt ca. 400€ - 550€. Als Austauschstudierende/-r haben Sie in Frankreich Anspruch auf Wohngeld, das Sie beim Caisses d’Allocations Familiales (CAF) beantragen können. In der Regel ist die „taxes d'habitation“, die Wohnsteuer, in Ihrer Miete bereits inbegriffen. Achten Sie jedoch beim Abschluss eines Mietvertrages darauf, da es sonst zu hohen Zusatzkosten kommt.

Anreise: Ist per Flugzeug und Zug möglich. 

Lebenshaltungskosten: Ca. 1000€.

Visa: Wenn Sie EU-Bürger/-in sind, reicht ein gültiger Reisepass oder Personalausweis. Falls Sie Nicht-EU-Bürger/-in sind, informieren Sie sich über die Visabestimmungen auf der Seite der französischen Botschaft.

Erfahrungsberichte finden Sie unter dem Stichwort "Frankreich" auf unserer Webseite mit allen Erfahrungsberichten.