Banner Viadrina

Viadrina Prize
recognizes the cooperation between
Germany and Poland since 1999

For her pro-European commitment over decades, Róża Gräfin von Thun und Hohenstein, Member of the European Parliament, has been awarded the 21st Viadrina Prize. The Encouragement Award was received by the project “Weimar Triangle“. The award ceremonies took place as part of the opening of the 31st Academic Year of European University of Viadrina.

Live recording: Róza Thun receives 21st Viadrina Prize on Oct 13th 2022


The awardee 2022

Róża Gräfin von Thun und Hohenstein is a Polish politician who is particularly committed to European integration. She has been a member of the European Parliament since 2009, initially as a member of the European People's Party (EVP) and since last year a member of the Liberal faction "Renew Europe". She is member of the "Poland 2050" party by Szymon Hołownia.

In 1979 Róża Thun completed her studies of English philology at the Jagiellone University in Kraków, where she was already involved in the democratic opposition during her studies. After her marriage to Franz Graf von Thun and Hohenstein, she lived in Germany from 1981 to 1991, where she supported the Polish opposition.

Foto_01_600px ©Róża Thun

From 1992 to 2005 she helped to built up the Robert Schuman Foundation in Warsaw as a director. She actively campaigned for Poland's membership in the European Union. From 2005 to 2009 she was director of the representation of the European Commission in Poland.

In the European Parliament, Róża Thun deals with consumer protection through standardised regulations. Moreover, she is concerned with the protection of the environment, digital market policies and the regulation of the circular economy. She is strongly committed to constitutional legality and human rights in Poland and worldwide, and she is the speaker for migrants, who come to Poland, and supports the democratic opposition in Kazakhstan.

Banner Viadrina

21. Viadrina-Preis
Verleihung am 13. Oktober 2022

Für ihr jahrzehntelanges pro-europäisches Engagement wird die Abgeordnete des Europäischen Parlamentes Róża Gräfin von Thun und Hohenstein mit dem 21. Viadrina-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Den Förderpreis erhält das Projekt „Weimarer Dreieckchen“.

Foto_01_600px ©Róża Thun

Die Preisverleihungen finden in diesem Jahr im Rahmen der Eröffnung des 31. Akademischen Jahres der Europa-Universität Viadrina statt. 

>>> Anmeldung zur Teilnahme an der Preisverleihung


Die Preisträgerin

Róża Gräfin von Thun und Hohenstein ist eine polnische Politikerin, die sich in besonderem Maß für die europäische Integration engagiert. Sie ist seit 2009 Abgeordnete des Europäischen Parlaments, zunächst als Mitglied der Europäischen Volkspartei (EVP) und seit vergangenem Jahr Mitglied der liberal ausgerichteten Fraktion „Renew Europe“ (Europa erneuern). Sie gehört der Partei „Polen 2050“ von Szymon Hołownia an.

Róża Thun schloss 1979 ihr Studium der englischen Philologie an der Jagiellonen-Universität in Krakau ab, wo sie sich bereits während ihres Studiums für die demokratische Opposition engagierte. Nach ihrer Heirat mit Franz Graf von Thun und Hohenstein lebte sie von 1981 bis 1991 in Deutschland, von wo aus sie die polnische Opposition unterstützte.

Von 1992 bis 2005 baute sie unter anderem als Direktorin die Robert-Schuman-Stiftung in Warschau mit auf. Sie warb aktiv für den Beitritt Polens zur Europäischen Union. Von 2005 bis 2009 war sie Leiterin der Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission in Polen.

Im Europäischen Parlament gilt die Arbeit von Róża Thun unter anderem dem Schutz der Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher durch einheitliche Regelungen. Darüberhinaus befasst sie sich mit Umweltschutz, dem digitalen Binnenmarkt und der Regulierung der Kreislaufwirtschaft. Sie engagiert sich stark für Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Menschenrechte in Polen und weltweit, ist Fürsprecherin für Migrantinnen und Migranten, die nach Polen kommen, und unterstützt die demokratische Opposition in Kasachstan.