Banner Viadrina

The Center for Intercultural Learning (CIL)

Critical incidents as student short films

filmreel ©Erik Malchow

The Center for Intercultural Learning regularly organizes project seminars in which intercultural topics are turned into a film. These film clips are presented on this page.

They are produced in different languages, some of them are in English, others in German or French.

Important notes : students produced the following films which are of varying quality. They can all be used for intercultural teaching purposes but need to be adapted didactically. CIL will provide didactic ideas for a number of films upon request. Suggestions for film activities from the production year 2009 can be found in the collection Hiller/Vogler-Lipp (2010): Key Qualification Intercultural Competence at Universities.

The Projects:

Short film project as part of/ in the context of the Quality Initiative Intercultural Competence at the DFH 2014

The seminar was dedicated to the research field German-French university context, examined various intercultural research approaches and scrutinized didactic implications of such research. Students were asked to reflect on their own experiences as well as to explore intercultural challenges for German-French study programs. Subsequently they considered alternatives as to how the results might be workable for all involved (students, teachers). From this emerged a series of Critical Incidents (= critical interaction situations from an intercultural point of view), which were then further developed into didactic materials by using applied research methods.

  • bref. en Allemagne (2:32) (worksheet) In the film "bref. en Allemagne" the French student Stéphanie describes her first day as an Erasmus student in Frankfurt (Oder), using wit and humor to portray (stereo-)typical contact situations between German and French students as well as everyday life at a German University.
  • Gardinenpredigt (5:22) (worksheet) German students criticize their lecturer openly in a lecture, which culminates in a debate with a colleague. Learning and teaching habits in Germany and France are contrasted here.
  • DFH News (11:11) (worksheet) The "DFH-News" look at the case of the French elite student Camille Martin, who feels forced to drop out of college due to major differences between the German and French university systems. An expert interview analyses the different tuitional structures and formal differences in composing seminar papers.

„Critical incidents Students – Staff“ - Short Film Project in the context of Peernet 2012

The seminar „ Medium Film in intercultural training“ during the summer term 2012, a follow-up project in the framework of the Peernet Program, produced another five short films.There was only a minor difference in the approach compared to 2009 as the target group of the planned films were employees and staff at universities whereas the previous project had focused on the intercultural education of students.

  • Tandem gesucht (9:17) by Bianca Baumann, Theresa Brüheim, Isabel Härdtle and Katharina Puche (worksheet): The short film “Tandem gesucht” is about the German Student Martin (Peter Britz) who is looking for an Italian tandem partner. The film draws attention to intercultural aspects such as proximity, collectivism and tolerance for ambiguity in a figurative and humorous way.
  • Besprechung mit einem Finnen (8:18) by Sara Bonin, Justine Schega and Lauri Turpeinen (worksheet): In the film “Besprechung mit einem Finnen” students examine differences in communication between Germans and Finns. The film shows a German university employee close to despair when one of her questions to the Finnish student is answered only sparsely. But also the Finnish student feels misunderstood, which becomes clear in the subsequent videoconference with his Finnish friend.
  • Dreifach International (8:03) by Georg Göschl, Simeone Jacob and Helena Wöhl Coelho (worksheet follows):  “Dreifach international” depicts the personal backgrounds of three students in the trinational masters program Media, Communication, Culture (MCC) Georg Göschl (Österreich), Simeone Jacob (Bulgarien) and Helena Wöhl Coelho (Brasilien) and explains strategies of dealing with intercultural misunderstandings. All three students illustrate their different experiences with bureaucratic and cultural idiosyncracies by way of example.
  • Kulturell sensibel (worksheet follows) The film documentation of staff interviews “Kulturell sensibel” shows how staff deals with international students and what strategies they have developed to counsel/advise them competently. Employees at the International Students Office of the European University Viadrina describe worst- and best-case scenarios they have experienced with international students and offer the viewer a wide range of possible situations as well as useful advice in dealing with international students. The students Tina Schmitt and Charlotte Stromberg conducted the interviews. (worksheet)
  • Ein Raum für Naim by Baptiste Courcier, Moundim Lambach, Thomas Scirpo and Alexandre Sejourne (worksheet follows): Four French students describe in an exaggerated and sometimes comical manner the problems foreign students might encounter when looking for an apartment in a foreign city in a foreign country, thus providing a glimpse into the perspective of an Erasmus student.

Short Film Project in the context of Peernet 2009

The practice seminar in the summer term 2009 gave students an opportunity to reflect on Critical Incidents (critical intercultural interaction situations) and put them on film /turn them into films. During the seminar the necessary theoretical principles were acquired and four critical incidents chosen for cinematic implementation. Filming took place in small international groups with the seminar facilitator (Erik Malchow) taking charge of the camera work. The following films (in English language) were produced and can be used for teaching purposes in intercultural trainings. Didactic ideas for the Critical Incidents films have been included.

Banner Viadrina

Zentrum für Interkulturelles Lernen (ZIL)

Critical Incidents als studentische Kurzfilme

filmreel ©Erik Malchow

Das Zentrum für interkulturelles Lernen organisiert regelmäßig Projektseminare, in der interkulturelle Themenstellungen filmisch bearbeitet werden. Die Filmclips werden auf dieser Seite präsentiert.

Wichtig: Bei den folgenden Filmen handelt es sich um studentische Arbeiten unterschiedlicher Qualität. Sie können zwar alle in interkulturellen Lehrarrangements eingesetzt werden, aber nicht ohne entsprechende Didaktisierung! Das ZIL stellt auf Anfrage Didaktisierungsvorschläge für eine Reihe von Filmen zur Verfügung. Vorschläge für die Filme aus der Produktion von 2009 sind im Sammelband Hiller/Vogler-Lipp (2010): Schlüsselqualifikation Interkulturelle Kompetenz an Hochschulen enthalten.

Die Projekte:

Kurzfilm-Projekt im Rahmen der Qualitätsinitiative Interkulturelle Kompetenz an der DFH 2014 (Veröffentlichung der Filme nach Freigabe)

Das Seminar widmete sich dem Forschungsfeld deutsch-französischer Hochschulkontext, beleuchtete verschiedene interkulturellen Forschungszugänge zu diesem Feld, und stellte schließlich die Frage, welche didaktischen Implikationen entsprechende Forschung mit sich bringt. Die Studierenden sollten eigene Erfahrungen reflektieren, aber auch interkulturelle Herausforderungen deutsch-französischer Studiengänge erforschen und im Anschluss daran gemeinsam überlegen, in welcher Form die Ergebnisse operationalisierbar sind für verschiedene AkteurInnen (Studierende, Lehrende). Hieraus entstand eine Sammlung von Critical Incidents (= aus interkultureller Sicht kritische Interaktionssituationen), die im Anschluss daran im Sinne von anwendungsorientierter Forschung in didaktische Materialien überführt wurden.

  • bref. en Allemagne (2:32) (ArbeitsblattIm Film "bref. en Allemagne" schildert die Studentin Stéphanie ihren ersten Tag als Erasmus-Studentin in Frankfurt (Oder) und geht dabei mit Witz auf (stereo-)typische Kontaktsituationen zwischen deutschen und französischen Studierenden sowie den Uni-Alltag in Deutschland ein.

  • Gardinenpredigt (5:22) (ArbeitsblattDeutsche Studierende kritisieren den Dozenten offen in einer Vorlesung, woraufhin es zur Aussprache mit einer Kollegin kommt. Lehr- und Lerngewohnheiten in Deutschland und Frankreich werden hier gegenübergestellt.
  • DFH News  (11:11) (ArbeitsblattDie "DFH-News" untersuchen den Fall der französichen Elitestudentin Camille Martin, die kurz davor ist, ihr Studium abzubrechen. Gravierenden Unterschiede zwischen dem deutschen und dem französischen Hoschschulsystem veranlassen sie dazu. In einem Experteninterview wird außerdem auf die unterschiedlichen Studienstrukturen und formale Differenzen in der Gestaltung von Hausarbeiten eingegangen.

 

  "Critical Incidents Studierende - Mitarbeitende" - Kurzfilm-Projekt im Rahmen von Peernet 2012

 Das Seminar "Das Medium Film im interkulturellen Training" im Sommersemester 2012 zur  Erstellung weiterer fünf interkulturellen Kurzfilme stellt ein Folgeprojekt im Rahmen des Peernet–Programms dar. Der Ansatz unterschied sich hier geringfügig, da die Zielgruppe der geplanten Trainingsfilme Mitarbeitende von Hochschulen sein sollten, während es im vorherigen Projekt um die interkulturelle Weiterbildung von Studierenden ging.  

  • Tandem gesucht (9:17) von Bianca Baumann, Theresa Brüheim, Isabel Härdtle und Katharina Puche (Arbeitsblatt): Der Kurzfilm “Tandem gesucht” handelt von dem deutschen Studenten Martin (Peter Britz) auf der Suche nach einer italienischen Tandem-Partnerin. Im Film werden interkulturelle Aspekte wie Proximität, Kollektivismus und Ambiguitätstoleranz angesprochen und bildlich, teils lustig, in Szene gesetzt. 
  • Besprechung mit einem Finnen (8:18) von Sara Bonin, Justine Schega und Lauri Turpeinen (Arbeitsblatt): Im Film “Besprechung mit einem Finnen” thematisieren die Studierenden Unterschiede in der Kommunikation zwischen Deutschen und Finnen. Im Film ist eine Universitätsmitarbeiterin geradezu verzweifelt, als sie vom finnischen Studenten nur sehr magerere Auskünfte auf eine Frage bekommt. Auch der finnische Student fühlt sich unverstanden, was bei einer anschließenden Videokonferenz mit einer finnischen Freundin zum Ausdruck kommt.
  • Dreifach International (8:03) von Georg Göschl, Simeone Jacob und Helena Wöhl Coelho (Arbeitsblatt folgt): In “Dreifach international” werden die Werdegänge der Studierenden des trinationalen Masterstudiengangs Medien, Kommunikation, Kultur (MKK) Georg Göschl (Österreich), Simeone Jacob (Bulgarien) und Helena Wöhl Coelho (Brasilien) Strategien der Bewältigung interkultureller Missverständnisse erläutert. Die drei Studierenden erlebten in Deutschland unterschiedliche bürokratische und kulturelle Besonderheiten und schildern diese beispielhaft.
  • Kulturell sensibel (Arbeitsblatt folgt) Die Dokumentation der Mitarbeiter-Interviews “Kulturell sensibel” zeigt, wie Mitarbeiter der Universität mit internationalen Studierenden umgehen und welche Strategien sie entwickelt haben, diese kompetent zu beraten. Hier schildern Mitarbeiter des internationalen Büros der Europa-Universität Viadrina Worst- und Best-Case Szenarien, die sie mit internationalen Studierenden erlebt haben und geben dem Zuschauer eine Bandbreite an mögliche Situationen sowie wertvolle Tipps im Umgang mit Interstudies. Die Interviews wurden von den Studentinnen Tina Schmitt und Charlotte Stromberg vorbereitet.
  • Ein Raum für Naim von Baptiste Courcier, Moundim Lambach, Thomas Scirpo und Alexandre Sejourne (Arbeitsblatt folgt): Die vier französischen Studenten schildern in dem Film in überzogener und teils komischer Art und Weise, welche Probleme sich bei der Wohnungssuche in einer fremden Stadt in einem fremden Land für einen ausländischen Studierenden ergeben können und geben somit einen guten Einblick in die Sichtweise eines Erasmus-Studenten.

   

Kurzfilm-Projekt im Rahmen von Peernet 2009

Im Praxisseminar, das im SS 2009 stattfand sollten Critical Incidents (Kritische interkulturelle Interaktionssituationen) von Studierenden reflektiert und verfilmt werden. Während des Seminars wurden die notwendigen theoretischen Grundlagen erarbeitet und anschließend  vier Critical Incidents zur filmischen Umsetzung ausgewählt. Die Dreharbeiten fanden in internationalen Kleingruppen statt, wobei die Kameraführung von der Seminarleitung (Erik Malchow) übernommen wurde. Folgende Filme (in englischer Sprache) sind entstanden und können als Schulungsmaterialien in interkulturellen Trainings eingesetzt werden, Didaktisierungsvorschlaege zu den filmischen Critical Incidents sind beigefuegt: