Banner Viadrina

Center for key competences and research-oriented learning

Planning your online classes

Visual Prüfungen ©digitalcreed

Learning activities and studying techniques

Online classes can be organised in asynchronous and synchronous teaching and learning activities.

Asynchronous online tools, i.e. time-delayed learning activities taking place by using forums, Wikis, e-portfolios, etc., are appropriate when the students are expected to take time to consider and reflect. Suggestions and guidance on managing asynchronous learning activities can be found here (FU Berlin).

Video presentations, expert presentations by guests, team meetings, consulting services, office hours as well as virtual seminar sessions can be performed with synchronous online tools such as Big Blue Button. Small groups are recommended in this case.

You can find recommended course of action for managing synchronous learning activities in this PDF.

It goes without saying that hybrid methods of teaching are also possible. One portion of the students participates in the event on site, whilst the other portion of the students attends online. You can find information about hybrid teaching here.


Communication and organisation

Communication and organisation in the scope of these new methods of teaching are as decisive as ever for the success of your teaching. Please observe the following points during online classes::

Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon Ziel ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Communicate in a clear and explicit way. Word work tasks and written tasks precisely. Plan processing times and deadlines realistically.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon Kalender ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Make sure that your students know what they have to have done by when. Where can students direct queries to and how fast can they anticipate a response? Summarise all the important information about your lecture at the beginning of it.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon Lernziel ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Provide an overview of the following issues every week or at every session: Educational objective, tasks, time required, deadlines, where to find the necessary material.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon-asynchron ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Use asynchronous settings that can be processed via Moodle. Synchronous settings, in particular chats, may be affected by technical difficulties at present due to system overloads. In addition, personal reasons (such as childcare) may limit or hinder the temporal availability of all attendees.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon Plattformen ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Use Moodle and Mahara. These platforms are hosted at Viadrina and comply with data protection.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed

Materials from the university library

The library is closed to the public. However, not only can you use their online resources but also contact unibibl@europa-uni.de at any time. The library staff will support you in the provision of literature to all students in the scope of current restrictions. Please note the restrictions of copyright (Section 60a German Copyright Act) when providing materials, roughly speaking:

  • Texts: Articles from professional journals; other texts with a maximum of 25 pages; in the event of longer texts and books, a maximum of 15% of the work.
  • Film and audio recordings: Clips of up to 5 minutes in length; a maximum of 15% in the event of longer works.

Writing in online teaching

Even courses involving a lot of writing can be easily conducted online. The Writing Centre provides online teaching material on the following subjects: 

  • Written text feedback 
  • Wording tasks for writing texts 
  • Helpful tasks for text reading 

and much more. Take a look in the ToolPool for lecturers.

Bildschirmfoto 2020-10-16 um 13.36.49 ©digitalcreed The writing advisory service still remains available for your students. It is now available online. In the event of queries about the topic of writing in online teaching, please feel free to contact schreibzentrum@europa-uni.de

 


Mentoring students in online teaching 

How can learning activities in digital space be supported and how can reserved students be motivated online? Which organisational and technical tasks are associated with online mentoring? Answers to these and other questions can be found here (FU Berlin).

Further links as an inspiration for organising your online teaching

Banner Viadrina

Zentrum für Schlüsselkompetenzen
und Forschendes Lernen

Online-Lehre planen

Visual Prüfungen ©digitalcreed

Lernaktivitäten und Lernformen

Online-Lehre lässt sich in asynchronen und synchronen Lehr- und Lernaktivitäten gestalten. 

Asynchrone Online-Werkzeuge, das heißt zeitversetzt stattfindende Lernaktivitäten durch die Nutzung von Foren, Wikis, E-Portfolios etc., bieten sich an, wenn sich Studierende Zeit zum Nachdenken und Reflektieren nehmen sollen. Anregungen und Hinweise zur Betreuung von asynchronen Lernaktivitäten finden Sie hier (FU Berlin).

Mit synchronen Online-Tools wie BigBlueButton können Video-Vorträge, Expertenvorträge von Gästen, Team-Meetings, Beratungen, Sprechstunden sowie virtuelle Seminarsitzungen durchgeführt werden. Kleine Gruppen sind hier empfehlenswert.

Handlungsvorschläge zur Betreuung synchroner Lernaktivitäten finde Sie in diesem PDF.

Auch hybride Lehrformen sind natürlich möglich. Ein Teil der Studierenden nimmt dabei vor Ort an der Veranstaltung teil, während ein anderer Teil der Studierenden online dabei ist. Informationen zur hybriden Lehre und ihren Szenarien finden Sie hier.


Kommunikation und Organisation

Kommunikation und Organisation im Rahmen dieser neuen Lehrformen sind daher wie immer entscheidend für den Erfolg Ihrer Lehre. Achten Sie bei der Online-Lehre bitte auf folgende Punkte:

Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon Ziel ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Kommunizieren Sie klar und eindeutig. Formulieren Sie Arbeits- und Schreibaufgaben präzise. Planen Sie die Bearbeitungszeiten und -fristen realistisch.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon Kalender ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Sorgen Sie dafür, dass Ihre Studierenden wissen, was sie bis wann wie erledigt haben müssen. Wohin richten Studierende Rückfragen und wie schnell können sie mit Antworten rechnen? Fassen Sie alle wichtigen Infos zu Ihrer Lehrveranstaltung zu Beginn zusammen.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon Lernziel ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Geben Sie jede Woche bzw. Sitzung einen Überblick zu folgenden Fragen: Lernziel, Aufgaben, benötigte Zeit, Deadlines, wo findet man das benötigte Material?
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon-asynchron ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Nutzen Sie asynchrone Settings, die über Moodle abgewickelt werden können. Synchrone Settings, insbesondere Chats, können derzeit aufgrund von Systemüberlastungen mit technischen Schwierigkeiten behaftet sein. Zudem können persönliche Gründe (wie Kinderbetreuung) die zeitliche Verfügbarkeit aller Beteiligten einschränken oder erschweren.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed
Icon Plattformen ©Icons are licensed by user digitalcreed @ Flaticon.com Nutzen Sie Moodle und Mahara. Diese Plattformen werden an der Viadrina gehostet und sind datenschutzkonform.
Linie vor weiss ©digitalcreed

Materialien aus der Uni-Bibliothek

Die Bibliothek ist für den Publikumsverkehr geschlossen. Sie können aber nicht nur deren elektronische Ressourcen nutzen, sondern sich auch jederzeit an unibibl@europa-uni.de wenden. Die Bibliotheksmitarbeiter*innen unterstützen Sie im Rahmen der eingeschränkten Möglichkeiten bei der Bereitstellung von Literatur an die Studierenden. Bei der Bereitstellung von Materialen beachten Sie bitte die urheberrechtlichen Grenzen
(§ 60a UrhG), grob gesagt:

  • Texte: Beiträge aus Fachzeitschriften; sonstige Texte mit einem maximalen Umfang von 25 Seiten; bei längeren Texten und Büchern maximal 15% eines Werks.
  • Film- und Tonaufnahmen: Beiträge bis zu 5 Minuten Länge, bei längeren Werken maximal 15%.

Weitere Hinweise zu Rechtsfragen finden Sie hier.


Schreiben in der Online-Lehre

Auch schreibintensive Lehrveranstaltungen lassen sich gut online durchführen. Das Schreibzentrum stellt für die Online-Lehre Materialien zu folgenden Themen bereit: 

  • Schriftliches Textfeedback
  • Aufgabenformulierungen für das Verfassen von Texten
  • Hilfreiche Aufgaben für Textlektüre 

und vieles mehr. Schauen Sie nach im ToolPool für Lehrende.

Bildschirmfoto 2020-10-16 um 13.36.49 ©digitalcreed Ihren Studierenden steht weiterhin die Schreibberatung zur Verfügung, die nun online stattfindet. Bei Fragen zum Thema Schreiben in der Online-Lehre wenden Sie sich gerne an schreibzentrum@europa-uni.de

 


Studierende in der Online-Lehre betreuen 

Wie lassen sich Lernaktivitäten im digitalen Raum unterstützen und wie motiviert man zurückhaltende Studierende online? Welche organisatorischen und technischen Aufgaben sind mit der Online-Betreuung verbunden? Antworten auf diese und weitere Fragen finden Sie hier (FU Berlin).

 

Weitere Links als Inspiration zur Gestaltung Ihrer Online Lehre