Banner Viadrina

Fellows 2017

Maffle_Stéphane_MG_7137 ©Heide Fest

Name: Stéphane Maffli

Home institution: Université de Lausanne, Switzerland 

Guest institutions: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: January 7, 2017 - February 5, 2017

Research focus: Migration literature from German-speaking Switzerland since 1980

"I applied for an acquaintance stay at the European University Viadrina, because of the 2012 founded Axel Springer Endowed Chair for German-Jewish Literature and Cultural History, Exile and Migration. The aim of my stay is to find out more about the approach of the research colloquium »Diaspora, Exile, Migration, Methodological and Theoretical New Approaches« and to get to know the employees and the participants, in order to be able to predict whether a following one-year stay would be worthwhile."

Belete_Shimels-Sisay _MG_6912 (002) ©Heide Fest

Name: Shimels Sisay Belete

Home institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Guest institution: University of Vienna, Austria

Period of stay: March 1, 2017 - May 30, 2017

Research focus: Questioning State’s Counter-terrorism Measures vis-àvis the Pursuit of the Right to Liberty and Security of Person: Spotlighting the Ethiopian Legal and Institutional Framework as a Case Study

"As a young academician aspiring for deeper knowledge and experience in the field my specialization, I believe that this short term research stay would offer me enhanced research and learning opportunities and new perspectives in dealing with the variety of issues related to my research. This program would also foster my personal network and professional growth as it brings me an appealing chance to get to know more colleagues specialized in the same field and broaden my research and publication, teaching and other work prospects for my present and imminent future. I would consider it as a further adventure in acquainting myself with a deeper knowledge and understanding of the diverse academic and research culture."

Steinkamp_Anna_MG_7112 ©Heide Fest

Name: Anna Steinkamp

Home institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Guest institution: Sophia University Tokyo, Japan

Period of stay: April 1, 2017 - May 31, 2017

Research focus: Internationalization of enterprises in border areas: A qualitative resource analysis in the federal state of Brandenburg and in the Lubuskie Province

"The Sophia University is an excellent place to present my research results on site in terms of my own presentations and a publication. I expect to receive constructive feedback to my activities, which can be shaped from the different point of views and give me new ideas for further scientific research."

Lela Iosava

Name: Lela Iosava

Home institution: Ilia State University, Georgia

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: May 1, 2017 - July 31, 2017

Research focus: The Role of Organizational Culture in Fostering Internationalization of Higher Education Institutions

"The Viadrina is an impressive example of a higher education institution symbolizing the return of Germany and Poland to Europe’s intellectual and cultural values. It is admirable how in a short period of time and during the era of great changes following the fall of the Berlin Wall, the university leadership has managed to transform a traditional university into a place where new generations of transeuropean society is nurtured. This particularly sparks a curiosity of someone like me exploring internal dynamics of educational institutions and the position of Georgia‘s higher education institutions in a global European landscape."

Olena Zinenko

Name: Olena Zinenko

Home institution: V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University, Ukraine

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: May 25, 2017 - August 25, 2017

Research focus: Media potential of public events as an object of journalistic reflection

"During three month of research stay in European University Viadrina I plan to have more deep practice in qualitative methods studies on social transformation, and I’m going to observe public events as acts of communication and an invitation to dialogue awaiting feedback such as reciprocity, aversion or ignoring in the field of gender issues. I believe that chance that I’ll have with participating in VIP – for Graduates open the new prospects in communication between our universities."

Iuliia Lokshyna

Name: Iuliia Lokshyna

Home institution: Legislation Institute of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine, Ukraine

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 1, 2017 - June 30, 2017

Research focus: Trade Defense Instruments Regulation in the European Union

"The Viadrina University is a truly international academic institution paying a lot of attention to the area of my research, in particular international economic relations, international trade law and European law. I would like not just to write a profound PhD thesis, but to get new experience, literature and expand my research horizons."

Aldijana Bunjak

Name: Aldijana Bunjak

Home institution: University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 1, 2017 - August 31, 2017

Research focus: The interplay between optimism and mindfulness in the workplace

"What I am truly looking forward to is a new challenge and opening myself to even more opportunities that I have not yet imagined. I chose Viadrina because it is absolutely international oriented. Being a Viadrina’s fellow also affords me the opportunity to network with current Viadrina’s fellows, and I hope it will facilitate my participation in the academic economics community more broadly."

Adriana Fernandes Brandao

Name: Adriana Fernandes Barbosa

Home institution: Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 12, 2017 - July 12, 2017

Research focus: Cognition in InterAction: an interactional Analysis of Multimodal Metaphors in DaF-Classrooms

"As a Brazilian PhD student, I aim to do a double doctoral degree (Cotutelle). Therefore I see the acquaintance stay as a first step for a future research stay at the European University Viadrina for a longer period. Additionally the acquaintance stay will contribute to a stronger cooperation between Prof. Dr. Cornelia Müller and my research team “(Inter-)Cultural Communication in Interaction” at my home university."

Ivan Almes

Name: Ivan Almes

Home institution: Ukrainian Catholic University Lviv, Ukraine

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 12, 2017 - July 12, 2017

Research focus: Book in the social and cultural life of the monasteries of the Lviv eparchy in the 17 and 18 centuries

"European Viadrina University as Ukrainian Catholic University is a new, modern and ambitious University, and simultaneously institution of the two cultures – German and Polish. My PhD-thesis is closely connected with Polish early modern culture, and in general with cultural studies, which are comprehensive represented in the Viadrina University. It will be a great opportunity to find out about contemporary approaches in this field of history studying."

Thiago Nascimento

Name: Thiago Nascimento

Home institution: Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 12, 2017 - July 12, 2017

Research focus: Metacommunicative Acts: a Mental Space-led Enquiry on Cognitive Aspects of Metapragmatic phenomena in Talk-in-interaction

"This is an excellent opportunity to broaden my network, as well as improve my research skills with other researchers. I aim to enhance my skills in co-speech gesture analysis. So, during my acquaintance stay I’ll be able to get to know the software, techniques and procedures Prof. Muller’s group adopt to conduct their researches. Besides, this stay is an appropriate chance to establish a partnership between our research groups."

Laura Hirrel

Name: Laura Hirrel

Home institution: University of New Mexico, USA

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 13, 2017 - August 30, 2017

Research focus: A Construction-Based Approach to Cyclic Gesture Functions

"I applied for a three month research stay in order to receive feedback and gain valuable new perspectives on my project from researchers outside of my home institution. I was specifically interested in coming to European University Viadrina because there are researchers here who work on similar topics to my own interests. Additionally, the scholars at the Viadrina Gesture Center have developed a number of methodologies for the study of gesture that I wanted to learn more about in order to expand skills within my field of study."

Anibal Chaim

Name: Anibal Chaim

Home institution: University of São Paulo, Brazil

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 14, 2017 - August 28, 2017

Research focus: Football, media, politics and its social implications

"The European University Viadrina provides me the structure and support for developing my studies and building a broader network. I am interested in understanding the European and German debate on my topics of interest. Aside it, this is going to be a great opportunity for getting in touch with other researchers from all over the world and improve my professional network."

Louis Wierenga

Name: Louis Wierenga

Home institution: University of Tartu, Estonia

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 15, 2017 - July 15, 2017

Research focus: The Right Approach to Gender: Gender, post-materialist values and the populist radical right in Europe

"I applied for a research stay at the European University Viadrina in order to work with Prof. Michael Minkenberg. As I study populist radical right parties in Central and Eastern Europe, the university is strategically located. Prof. Minkenberg is a leading expert on the populist radical right in Central and Eastern Europe and pursuing a research stay at Viadrina gives me an invaluable opportunity to further my academic career. The main goals of my academic stay are to further my knowledge of the populist radical right in Central and Eastern Europe as well as the methodological undertakings of my dissertation."

Bianca Batista

Name: Bianca Batista

Home institution: Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 20, 2017 - August 20, 2017

Research focus: The discursive construction of Brazil in Pero Gândavo's chronicle, História da Província de Santa Cruz and in Richard Hakluyt's travel book, The Principal Navigations

"I chose European University Viadrina to be part of my doctoral study once the contact with excellent professors from the Faculty of Social and Cultural Sciences can help me rethink and improve the fundamental topics of my research."

Marcelo Durao

Name: Marcelo Durao Rodrigues da Cunha

Home institution: Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo, Brazil

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: July 1, 2017 - July 31, 2017

Research focus: History in a time of crisis: Friedrich Meinecke (1862-1954) and the problems of German historicism

"I applied for an acquaintance stay in Viadrina mainly because, besides being a renown academic center, Viadrina's Faculty of Social and Cultural Sciences will certainly offer me the best possible research structure which is necessary for improving my present and future academic goals in the fields of theory, historiography and philosophy of history."

Oleg Lehkyy

Name: Oleh Lehkyy

Home institution: Ternopil National Economic University, Ukraine

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: July 1, 2017 - August 1, 2017

Research focus: Digital communicational instruments of brewery industry’s marketing

"I truly understand the importance of international science networking and mobility of researches. The European University Viadrina research environment and practices are very interesting to observe. Facilities, working process, current tasks, prospect of growth and even promotion – are those elements that might be kindly “benchmarked” to try to implement the best practice at the my home University."

Ana Tokhadze

Name: Ana Tokhadze

Home institution: Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, Georgia

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: July 14, 2017 - September 14, 2017

Research focus: Shareholder’s Property Rights and Capital of the Corporation

"Since the scopes of my thesis require a deep doctrinal inquiry and analytical thinking, research fellowship will equip me with the right academic tools and assistance in pursuit of my study. As I am eager to recruit myself into scientific projects and boost my scholar network, research fellowship will indispensably ensure my continued connection with an international scientific circle, professional relationship with international scholars, which, afterward, will strongly support in my career objectives along with the further academic goals."

Max Steuer

Name: Max Steuer

Home institution: Comenius University Bratislava, Slovakia

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: July 21, 2017 - August 21, 2017

Research focus: The Guardians of Democracy? Decision Making of Constitutional Courts in Central Europe

"While my dissertation in Political Science focuses on the analysis of decision making of Central European constitutional courts, it is grounded in the broader experiences of established democratic political systems which opted for a centralized model of judicial review. With its German location but strong international focus, I believe the Viadrina combines the unique German experience and the regional and global expertise that is necessary for any such endeavor. The interaction with other researchers at the Viadrina and establishment of cross-disciplinary networks at the Faculty of Law has a significant potential for advancing my theoretical and methodological toolkit for researching constitutional courts in Central Europe."

Robert Brockhaus

Name: Robert Brockhaus

Home institution: European University Viadrina, Germany

Guest institution: Middlesex University London, Great Britain

Period of stay: July 28, 2017 – October 2, 2017

Research focus: The Criminal Liability of Whistleblowing

"I applied for the VIP research fellowship to work on the comparative chapter of my dissertation, to connect with other researchers in the field of whistleblowing and also to improve my English skills."

Balling_Jonathan-Rafael_MG_7131 ©Heide Fest

Name: Jonathan Rafael Balling

Home institution: European University Viadrina, Germany

Guest institution: University of California Berkeley, USA

Period of stay: August 1, 2017 – October 31, 2017

Research focus: Kauboy, Gautsho, Muszhik – Rural Male Masculinities in Yiddish fictional texts 1883-1942

"(International) Networking is extremely relevant when it comes to working on a dissertation that focuses on Yiddish studies. At the UC Berkeley, research in the interplay between gender studies and Yiddish / Jewish studies is unique. My goal is to intensively reflect my dissertation through individual talks and the participation in colloquia and to integrate it in my research project."

Mona Florian

Name: Mona Florian

Home institution: European University Viadrina, Germany

Guest institution: Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Period of stay: September 16, 2017 – October 13, 2017

Research focus: Voluntary work in refugee aid context: self-organization and sensefulness of volunteers in a Berlin refugees emergency helter

"The aims of the research stay is to promote the conception of an article in an inspiring environment and at the same time to develop and to deepen international cooperation with researchers at the Copenhagen Business School."

Lena Hotze

Name: Lena Hotze

Home institution: European University Viadrina, Germany

Guest institution: Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3, France

Period of stay: August 21, 2017 – October 2, 2017

Research focus: Multimodal language acquisition in preschool age

"The 6-week research stay at the Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3 on one hand is an exceptional enrichment for the work at my dissertation and contributes on the other hand to the international networking in the field of multimodal language acquisition research. I´m looking forward to develop and deepen existing research and teaching cooperation between both universities."

Victor Trofimov

Name: Victor Trofimov

Home institution: European University Viadrina, Germany

Guest institution: University of South Florida, USA

Period of stay: October 1, 2017 – October 31, 2017

Research focus: Romanian and Bulgarian “hustler” in Berlin: The construction of a new migration phenomenon?

"I applied for a research stay, because I believe to achieve new substantially impulse for my dissertation and my further research network through exchange with distinguished experts in my research field. The supervision by Prof. Castaneda can provide new ideas and generate new impetus for my dissertation. Additionally networking with distinguished experts in my field is of great importance for my research career, which I aim to achieve."

Banner Viadrina

Viadrina International Program – for Graduates (VIP)

Fellows 2017

Maffle_Stéphane_MG_7137 ©Heide Fest

Name: Stéphane Maffli

Heimatuniversität: Université de Lausanne, Schweiz

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 7.1.-5.2.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Migrationsliteratur aus der deutschsprachigen Schweiz seit 1980

"Ich habe mich für einen Kennenlern-Aufenthalt an der Europa-Universität Viadrina entschieden, weil die Axel Springer-Stiftungsprofessur für Deutsch-jüdische Li­te­ra­tur- und Kul­tur­ge­schi­chte, Exil und Migration 2012 dort eingerichtet wurde. Ziel des Aufenthalts ist es, die Vorgehensweise des Forschungskolloquiums mit dem Titel »Diaspora, Exil, Migration, Methodische und theoretische Neuansätze« konkret zu erfahren und die Mitarbeiter/-innen und Teilnehmenden kennenzulernen, um auf diesem Wege vorhersehen können, ob ein anschließender einjähriger Aufenthalt ergiebig wäre."

Belete_Shimels-Sisay _MG_6912 (002) ©Heide Fest

Name: Shimels Sisay Belete

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: Universität Wien, Österreich

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.3.-30.5.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Staatliche Anti-Terror-Maßnahmen in Frage stellen vis-àvis das Streben nach dem Recht auf Freiheit und die Sicherheit der Person: Der äthiopische rechtliche und institutionelle Rahmen als Fallstudie

"Als junger Akademiker, der nach tieferen Kenntnissen und Erfahrungen auf dem Gebiet meiner Spezialisierung strebt, glaube ich, dass dieser kurzfristige Forschungsaufenthalt mir verbesserte Forschungs- und Lernmöglichkeiten und neue Perspektiven im Umgang mit der Vielfalt der Fragen im Zusammenhang mit meiner Forschung bieten würde. Dieses Programm würde auch mein persönliches Netzwerk und berufliches Wachstum, denn es bringt mir eine attraktive Chance, mehr Kollegen zu kennen, die auf dem gleichen Gebiet spezialisiert sind, und erweitern meine Forschung und Publikation, Lehre und andere Arbeitsmöglichkeiten für meine gegenwärtige und bevorstehende Zukunft. Ich würde es als ein weiteres Abenteuer betrachten, um mich mit einem tieferen Wissen und Verständnis der verschiedenen akademischen und Forschungskultur vertraut zu machen."

Steinkamp_Anna_MG_7112 ©Heide Fest

Name: Anna Steinkamp

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: Sophia Universität Tokio, Japan

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.4.-31.05.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Internationalisierung von Unternehmen in Grenzräumen: Eine qualitative Ressourcenanalyse im Land Brandenburg und in der Woiwodschaft Lubuskie

"Die Sophia Universität ist ein hervorragender Ort, um meine Forschungsergebnisse in Form von eigenen Vorträgen und einer Publikation vor Ort darzustellen. Aus diesen Aktivitäten erwarte ich konstruktives Feedback, welches gerade auch von dem anderen Blickpunkt auf die eigene Forschung geprägt ist und so neue Ideen für weitere wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen geben kann."

Lela Iosava

Name: Lela Iosava

Heimatuniversität: Ilia State University, Georgien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.5.-31.7.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Die Rolle von Organisationskulturen in der Förderung der Internationalisierung von Hochschuleinrichtungen

"Die Viadrina ist ein beeindruckendes Beispiel für Hochschuleinrichtungen, die die Rückkehr von Deutschland und Polen zu den europäischen intellektuellen und kulturellen Werten symbolisieren. Es ist bewundernswert wie in einem kurzen Zeitraum und in einer Zeit großer Veränderungen durch den Mauerfall, die Universitätsleitung in der Lage war eine traditionelle Universität in einen Ort zu transformieren, wo eine neue Generation transnationaler Gesellschaft entwickelt wurde. Das erregt das Interesse von jemandem wie mir, interne Dynamiken von Bildungseinrichtungen und die Position von Georgiens Hochschulinstitutionen in einer globalen europäischen Landschaft zu erforschen."

Olena Zinenko

Name: Olena Zinenko

Heimatuniversität: V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University, Ukraine

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 25.5.-25.8.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Mediales Potential von öffentlichen Veranstaltungen als Gegenstand journalistischer Betrachtung

"Während meines 3-monatigen Forschungsaufenthalts an der Europa-Universität Viadrina, beabsichtige ich, mir mehr Wissen über qualitative Methoden sozialer Transformation anzueignen und öffentliche Veranstaltungen als Möglichkeit der Kommunikation und Einladung zum resonanzerwartenden Dialog – wie z.B. Wechselwirkung, Aversion oder Ignoranz – im Bereich Genderstudien zu betrachten. Ich bin überzeugt, dass die Möglichkeit der Teilnahme am VIP – for Graduates neue Perspektiven in der Kommunikation zwischen unseren Universitäten ermöglicht."

Iuliia Lokshyna

Name: Iuliia Lokshyna

Heimatuniversität: Institut für Gesetzgebung des Parlaments der Ukraine Kiew, Ukraine

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.6.-30.6.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Verordnung über Handelsschutzinstrumente in der Europäischen Union

"Die Viadrina ist eine wahrhaft internationale wissenschaftliche Institution, die meinem Forschungsgebiet, insbesondere den internationalen Wirtschaftsbeziehungen, dem internationalen Handelsrecht und dem Europarecht, viel Aufmerksamkeit widmet. Ich möchte nicht nur eine fundierte Promotion schreiben, sondern auch neue Erfahrungen und Quellen sammeln sowie meinen Forschungshorizont erweitern."

Aldijana Bunjak

Name: Aldijana Bunjak

Heimatuniversität: Universität Ljubljana, Slowenien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.6.-30.8.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Das Zusammenspiel von Optimismus und Aufmerksamkeit am Arbeitsplatz

"Das, worauf ich mich wirklich freue, ist eine neue Herausforderung und die Eröffnung mehr Möglichkeiten, die ich mir bisher noch nicht vorgestellt habe. Ich habe die Viadrina gewählt, weil es absolut international orientiert ist. Als Fellow an der Viadrina habe ich zudem die Möglichkeit mich mit anderen Fellows der Viadrina zu vernetzen und ich hoffe, dass es meine Kontakte in der wirtschaftswissenschaftliche akademische Welt erleichtern wird."

Adriana Fernandes Brandao

Name: Adriana Fernandes Brandao

Heimatuniversität: Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Belo Horizonte, Brasilien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 12.6.-12.7.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Wahrnehmung in InterAktion: Eine interaktionelle Analyse multimodaler Metaphern zwischen Lehrenden und Lernenden von DaF

"Als Promovierende in Brasilien soll ich, soweit möglich, ein Sandwich-PhD im Ausland machen. Der Kennenlern-Aufenthalt an der Viadrina kann daher einen künftigen längeren Forschungsaufenthalt an der Europa-Universität Viadrina ermöglichen. Darüber hinaus könnte dieser Aufenthalt zu einer künftigen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Prof. Dr. Cornelia Müller und meiner Forschungsgruppe „(Inter-)Cultural Communication in Interaction" an meiner Heimatuniversität beitragen."

Ivan Almes

Name: Ivan Almes

Heimatuniversität:

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 12.6.-12.7.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Ukrainian Catholic University Lemberg, Ukraine

"Die Europa-Universität Viadrina ist, genauso wie die Ukrainische Katholische Universität Lviv, eine neue, moderne und ambitionierte Hochschule. Beide Universitäten sind Institutionen zweier Kulturen – der deutschen und der polnischen Kultur. Mein Promotionsthema ist eng mit der frühen Neuzeit der polnischen Kultur, und insbesondere mit Kulturwissenschaften, die umfassend an der Viadrina vertreten ist, verbunden. Der Aufenthalt ist eine wunderbare Gelegenheit, moderne Methoden in diesem Feld der historischen Studien zu erwerben."

Thiago Nascimento

Name: Thiago Nascimento

Heimatuniversität: Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Belo Horizonte, Brasilien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 12.6.-12.7.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Metakommunikative Handlungen: Eine mentale Raumstudie zu kognitiven Aspekten des metapragmatischen Phänomens der Sprache in Interaktion (talk-in-interaction)

"Das ist eine exzellente Gelegenheit mein Netzwerk sowie meine Forschungsfähigkeiten mit anderen Forschenden zu erweitern. Ich beabsichtige meine Kenntnisse der Co-Sprechgestenanalyse zu vertiefen. Während meines Kennenlern-Aufenthalts möchte ich die Software, Techniken und Verfahren, die von Prof. Müllers Lehrstuhl angewendet werden, um ihre Forschung durchzuführen, kennenlernen. Darüber hinaus ist dieser Aufenthalt eine passende Gelegenheit eine Kooperation zwischen unseren Forschungsgruppen aufzubauen."

Laura Hirrel

Name: Laura Hirrel

Heimatuniversität: University of New Mexico, USA

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 13.6.-30.8.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Ein konstruktiver Ansatz für zyklische Gestenfunktionen

"Ich habe mich für einen 3-monatigen Forschungsaufenthalt beworben, um Feedback und wertvolle neue Perspektiven zu meinem Forschungsprojekt von Forschern außerhalb meiner Heimatinstitution zu erhalten. Ich war vor allem interessiert an die Europa-Universität Viadrina zu kommen, weil hier Forschende an ähnlichen Themen arbeiten. Darüber hinaus haben die Forschenden des Viadrina Gesture Center zahlreiche Methoden zur Gestenforschung entwickelt. Dies ermöglicht mir mehr über die Gestenforschung zu lernen und meine Kenntnisse in diesem Bereich auszubauen."

Anibal Chaim

Name: Anibal Chaim

Heimatuniversität: University of São Paulo, Brasilien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 14.6.-28.8.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Fußball, Medien, Politik und ihre sozialen Folgen

"Die Europa-Universität Viadrina stellt mir die Struktur und Untersütztung zur Weiterentwicklung meines Forschungsthemas sowie für ein breites Netzwerk zur Verfügung. Ich bin daran interessiert die europäischen und deutschen Debatten zu meinem Forschungsinteresse zu verstehen. Darüber hinaus ist der Forschungsaufenthalt eine wunderbare Möglichkeit mit anderen internationalen Forschenden in Kontakt zu treten und mein professionelles Netzwerk zu optimieren."

Louis Wierenga

Name: Louis Wierenga

Heimatuniversität: Universität Tartu, Estland

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 15.6.-15.7.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Der rechte Ansatz für Gender: Gender, post-materialistische Werte und das populistische radikale Rechte in Europa

"Ich habe mich für einen Forschungsaufenthalt an der Europa-Universität Viadrina beworben, um mit Prof. Michael Minkenberg zusammenzuarbeiten. Da ich zu den populistischen radikalen rechten Parteien in Mittel- und Osteuropa forsche, ist die Viadrina strategisch gelegen. Prof. Minkenberg ist ein führender Experte für die populistischen radikalen Rechten in Mittel- und Osteuropa und ein Forschungsaufenthalt an der Viadrina ist für mich von unschätzbarem Wert für meine weitere akademische Laufbahn. Meine Kenntnisse über die populistische radikale Rechte in Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie die methodischen Aspekte meiner Dissertation auszubauen, sind die Hauptziele meines Forschungsaufenthaltes."

Bianca Batista

Name: Bianca Batista

Heimatuniversität: Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 20.6.-25.8.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Die diskursive Konstruktion von Brasilien in Pero Gândavo's Zeitgeschichte „História da Província de Santa Cruz” und in Richard Hakluyt's Reisebericht „The Principal Navigations”

"Ich habe mich dafür entschieden, dass die Europa-Universität Viadrina Teil meiner Promotion ist, weil der Kontakt zu exzellenten Professoren der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät mir helfen wird wesentliche Bestandteile meiner Forschung zu überdenken und zu verbessern."

Marcelo Durao

Name: Marcelo Durao Rodrigues da Cunha

Heimatuniversität: Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo, Brasilien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.7.-31.7.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Geschichte in Krisenzeiten: Friedrich Meinecke (1862-1954) und die Probleme des deutschen Historizismus

"Ich habe mich für einen Kennenlern-Aufenthalt an der Viadrina beworben, weil mir die Kulturwissenschaftliche Fakultät der Viadrina als renommierte wissenschaftliche Einrichtung die bestmögliche Forschungsstruktur bietet, die für meine aktuellen und zukünftigen wissenschaftlichen Ziele in diesem Bereich von Theorie, Historizismus und Geschichtsphilosophie unerlässlich ist."

Oleg Lehkyy

Name: Oleg Lehkyy

Heimatuniversität: Ternopil National Economic University, Ukraine

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.7.-1.8.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Digitale Kommunikationsinstrumente im Marketing der Brauindustrie

"Die Wichtigkeit internationaler wissenschaftlicher Netzwerke und der Mobilität von Wissenschaftlern/-innen, kann ich gut nachvollziehen. Das Forschungsumfeld und die Methoden der Europa-Universität Viadrina sind von großem Interesse. Ausstattung, Arbeitsprozesse, derzeitige Aufgaben, Wachstumsperspektiven und Anwerbung – das alles sind Elemente, die als „Benchmark“ an meiner Heimatuniversität implementiert werden könnten."

Ana Tokhadze

Name: Ana Tokhadze

Heimatuniversität: Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, Georgien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 14.7.-17.9.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Eigentumsrechte von Aktionären und das Geschäftskapital

"Da mein Promotionsthema eine tiefe dogmatische Recherche und analytischen Denken voraussetzen, wird das Forschungs-Fellowship dazu beitragen mich mit den richtigen wissenschaftlichen Instrumenten sowie Unterstützung auszustatten, mein Forschungsthema zu verfolgen. Da ich bereit bin mich aktiv in Forschungsprojekten zu engagieren und mein eigenes Forschungsnetzwerk zu erweitern, wird das Forschungs-Fellowship unabdingbar für meine weitere Verbindung zu einem internationalen wissenschaftlichen Zirkel und internationalen Forschenden sein, um meine Karriereziele sowie meine weiteren wissenschaftlichen Ziele zu unterstützen."

Max Steuer

Name: Max Steuer

Heimatuniversität: Comenius Universität Bratislava, Slowakei

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 21.7.-21.8.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Die Wächter der Demokratie? Entscheidung der Verfassungsgerichte in Mitteleuropa

"Während sich meine Dissertation in der Politikwissenschaft auf die Analyse der Entscheidungsfindung der mitteleuropäischen Verfassungsgerichte konzentriert, basiert sie auf den breiteren Erfahrungen der etablierten demokratischen politischen Systeme, die sich für ein zentrales Modell der gerichtlichen Überprüfung entschieden haben. Ich glaube, dass die Viadrina mit ihrer deutschen Lage, aber starken internationalen Ausrichtung die einzigartige deutsche Erfahrung und die regionale und globale Expertise verbindet, die für ein solches Unterfangen notwendig ist. Die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Forschern an der Viadrina und die Einrichtung von disziplinübergreifenden Netzwerken an der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät haben ein erhebliches Potenzial, mein theoretisches und methodisches Instrumentarium zur Erforschung konstitutioneller Gerichte in Mitteleuropa voranzubringen."

Robert Brockhaus

Name: Robert Brockhaus

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: Middlesex University London, Großbritannien

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 28.7.-2.10.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Strafbarkeit und Strafwürdigkeit von Whistleblowing

"Grundsätzlich habe ich mich für den Forschungsaufenthalt beworben, um den rechtsvergleichenden Abschnitt meiner Dissertation zu bearbeiten, internationale Kontakte in meinem Forschungsbereich zu knüpfen und auch, um meine Sprachkenntnisse zu vertiefen."

Balling_Jonathan-Rafael_MG_7131 ©Heide Fest

Name: Jonathan Rafael Balling

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: University of California Berkeley, USA

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.8.-31.10.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Kauboy, Gautsho, Muzshik. Die Konstruktion ruraler Männlichkeitsikonen in jiddischen fiktionalen Texten 1883-1942

"Gerade bei der Arbeit an einer Dissertation, die sich thematisch im Feld der Jiddischen Studien bewegt, ist die (internationale) Vernetzung von äußerster Wichtigkeit. An der UC Berkeley überschneiden sich die Forschung im Bereich der Gender Studies und der Jiddischen/Jüdischen Studien auf einzigartige Weise. Mein Ziel ist es, in Einzelgesprächen und durch die Teilnahme an Kolloquien die Arbeit an meiner Dissertation intensiv zu reflektieren und gewinnbringend voranzubringen."

Mona Florian

Name: Mona Florian

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: Copenhagen Business School, Dänemark

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 18.9.-13.10.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Freiwillige Arbeit im Kontext Flüchtlingshilfe: Selbstorganisation und Sinnerleben von Freiwilligen in einer Berliner Notunterkunft

"Die Ziele des Forschungsaufenthaltes sind einerseits die Konzeption des Artikels in einem inspirierenden Umfeld voranzutreiben und andererseits internationale Kooperationen mit den Wissenschaftler/-innen vor Ort auszubauen und zu vertiefen."

Lena Hotze

Name: Lena Hotze

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3, Frankreich

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 21.8.-2.10.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Multimodaler Spracherwerb im Vorschulalter

"Der sechswöchige Forschungsaufenthalt an der Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3 stellt zum einen eine außerordentliche Bereicherung für die Arbeit an meiner Dissertation dar und zum anderen trägt er zur internationalen Vernetzung im Gebiet der multimodalen Spracherwerbsforschung bei. Ich freue mich, dass bestehende Forschungs- und Lehrkooperationen zwischen den Universitäten gestärkt und ausgebaut werden können."

Victor Trofimov

Name: Victor Trofimov

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: University of South Florida, USA

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 1.10.-31.10.2017

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Rumänische und bulgarische “Stricher” in Berlin: Zur Konstruktion eines neuen Migrationsphänomens?

 "Ich habe mich für einen Forschungsaufenthalt beworben, weil ich durch Austausch mit ausgewiesenen Expert/-innen in meinem Feld auf neue inhaltliche Impulse für meine Dissertation und wissenschaftliche Weitervernetzung hoffe. Die wissenschaftliche Betreuung durch Frau Prof. Castaneda soll meiner Dissertation inhaltlich neue Impulse geben. Darüber hinaus ist die Vernetzung mit ausgewiesenen Expert/-innen in meinem Feld wichtig für die wissenschaftliche Karriere, die ich anstrebe."