Banner Viadrina

Fellows 2020

Tatia Tavkhelidze ©Tatia Tavkhelidze

Name: Tatia Tavkhelidze

Home Institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Guest institution: University of Vienna, Austria

Period of stay: October 1, 2020 - December 31, 2020

Research focus: EU policies, cultural integration, Islamophobia

"The purpose of my research stay is to visit the library every day and to conduct the research on Islamophobia and EU policies. My top priority is to use the networking opportunities at the University of Vienna - to attend conferences, workshops and trainings. The expertise of several professors and the opportunity to network will have a significant impact on my doctoral research and a positive influence on my academic career."

Dmitrii Dorogov ©Dmitrii Dorogov

Name: Dmitrii Dorogov

Home institution: Central European University, Hungary

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: September 15, 2020 - December 15, 2020

Research focus: Gender and sexuality studies, discourse studies, postcolonial studies

“My doctoral project requires external supervision in the fields of postcolonial studies of the CEE region and the gender/sexuality politics aspect of the transition from post-socialism in Eastern Europe. Viadrina European University is an institution whose research foci and faculty specialization uniquely suit these needs. The research stay at the Viadrina will allow me to receive feedback of paramount value on some of my dissertation chapters from qualified experts in the topic I am working on, and would help me immensely in conceptualizing and drafting the remaining chapters.”

Yanna Hartmann ©Janna Hartmann

Name: Janna Hartmann

Home institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Guest institution: Lille Institute of Political Studies, France

Period of stay: September 1, 2020 - September 30, 2020

Research focus: Multilateralism, connection of domestic discourse and foreign policy

“Part of my project is a discourse analysis of the French discourse on multilateralism. The primary goal of my research stay is therefore to gain new impressions on site and to incorporate them into my analysis. Apart from that, I would of course also like to learn from the researchers at Sciences Po Lille and make new contacts.”

Ivasiuk_Dmytro_UV_0755 ©Heide Fest

Name: Dmytro Ivasiuk

Home Institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Guest institution: Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands

Period of stay: August 17, 2020 - September 18, 2020

Research focus: Maximization of the expected power utility function of wealth

"During the abroad stay one has more time to focus on the research. Changing the place and the environment is one of the positive aspects providing more energy and motivation. It is also possible to meet other researches and develop an international network."

Maia Liparteliani ©Ira Kovalenko

Name: Maia Liparteliani

Home institution: Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, Georgia

Guest institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: July 6, 2020 - October 6, 2020

Research focus: Comparative analysis of Georgian, English and Russian translations of Ingeborg Bachmann’s novel “Malina”

“Since access to German academic sources is limited in Georgia, it was extremely important to me to conduct the research in German libraries and also to attend seminars which are relevant to my topic. The Viadrina International Program - for Graduates (VIP) is a good opportunity to do my research at the Chair of Pragmatics and Contrastive Linguistics at the faculty of Social and Cultural Sciences. It is a chance for me to stay concentrated on my dissertation.”

Seke_Robert_UV_4034 ©Heide Fest

Name: Robert Seke

Home institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: July 1, 2020 - December 31, 2020

Research focus: Art and architecture of the Late Modern Period, historicism and the visual construction of collective identities

“With the completed doctoral thesis, as the definitive outcome of the years-long study and research, I hope to make my contribution to a better understanding of our past and continue to be engaged in the scientific community.”

Lancheros-Hugo_UV_3996 ©Heide Fest

Name: Hugo Fernando Lancheros Redondo 

Home institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 15, 2020 - December 15, 2020

Research focus: Comparison of (in) politeness between German and Spanish-speaking chat conversations

“I applied for a final scholarship in order to make better progress with my dissertation, since I used to work a lot as a freelance language teacher. Thanks to the scholarship, I can concentrate exclusively on my doctorate thesis and finish my work successfully in six months.”

Lockmann ©Cetinkaya Lockmann

Name: Lokman Burak Çetinkaya

Home institution: European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

Period of stay: June 15, 2020 - December 15, 2020

Research focus: International law applicable to cyber operations, use of force, self-defence, countermeasures, necessity

“The Viadrina International Program fellowship afforded me the oppotunity to exclusively focus on the dissertation project at the final stage under the guidance of my supervisor (Prof. Dr. Wolff Heintschel von Heinegg). It will help me not only to finalise the dissertation, but also to increase the quality of the project thanks to the Chair of Public Law, especially Public International law, European Law and Foreign Constitutional Law at the Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder).”

Banner Viadrina

Viadrina International Program – for Graduates (VIP)

Fellows 2020

Tatia Tavkhelidze ©Tatia Tavkhelidze

Name: Tatia Tavkhelidze

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: Universität Wien, Österreich

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 01.10. – 31.12.2020

Forschungsschwerpunkt: EU Politik, kulturelle Integration, Islamophobie

"Die Ziele meines Forschungsaufenthalts sind täglich die Bibliothek zu besuchen und mich mit Literaturrecherche über Islamophobie und EU-Politik zu beschäftigen. Die oberste Priorität bezüglich meiner geplanten Aktivitäten ist die Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten der Universität Wien zu nutzen - Konferenzen, Workshops und Trainings zu besuchen. Die Expertise von mehreren Professoren und die Vernetzungsmöglichkeit werden einen maßgeblichen Einfluss auf meine Promotionsforschung haben und meine akademische Karriere positiv beeinflussen."

Dmitrii Dorogov ©Dmitrii Dorogov

Name: Dmitrii Dorogov

Heimatuniversität: Zentraleuropäische Universität, Ungarn

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 15.09. – 15.12.2020

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Gender- und Sexualitätsstudien, Diskursstudien, postkoloniale Studien

„Mein Promotionsprojekt erfordert eine externe Betreuung in den Bereichen der postkolonialen Studien der CEE-Region und des geschlechts- / sexualitätspolitischen Aspekts des Übergangs vom Postsozialismus in Osteuropa. Die Europa-Universität Viadrina ist eine Institution, deren Forschungsschwerpunkte und Spezialisierung der Fakultäten diesen Bedürfnissen in einzigartiger Weise entsprechen. Der Forschungsaufenthalt an der Viadrina ermöglicht es mir, von qualifizierten Experten zu dem Thema, an dem ich arbeite, Feedback von höchstem Wert zu erhalten, und würde mir bei der Konzeption und Gestaltung der verbleibenden Kapitel immens helfen.“

Yanna Hartmann ©Janna Hartmann

Name: Janna Hartmann

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: Institut für politische Studien Lille, Frankreich

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 01.09. – 30.09.2020

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Multilateralismus, Zusammenhang von innenpolitischen Diskursen und Außenpolitik

„Teil meines Projektes ist eine Diskursanalyse des französischen Diskurses zu Multilateralismus. Primäres Ziel meines Forschungsaufenthaltes ist es also, vor Ort neue Eindrücke zu gewinnen und mit in meine Analyse einfließen zu lassen. Davon abgesehen möchte ich natürlich auch gerne von den Forscher*innen vor Ort lernen und Kontakte knüpfen.“

Ivasiuk_Dmytro_UV_0755 ©Heide Fest

Name: Dmytro Ivasiuk

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Gastuniversität: Technische Universität Delft, die Niederlande

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 17.08. – 18.09.2020

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Maximierung der erwarteten Stromversorgungsfunktion des Reichtums

"Während des Auslandsaufenthaltes hat man mehr Zeit, sich auf die Forschung zu konzentrieren. Die Ortveränderung ist ein positiver Aspekt, die mehr Energie und Motivation bietet. Es ist auch möglich, andere Forscher zu treffen und ein internationales Netzwerk aufzubauen."

Maia Liparteliani ©Ira Kovalenko

Name: Maia Liparteliani

Heimatuniversität: Iwane-Dschawachischwili-Universität Tbilisi, Georgien

Gastuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum des Forschungsaufenthalts: 06.07. – 06.10.2020

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Vergleichsanalyse der georgischen, englischen und russischen Übersetzungen des Romans „Malina“ von Ingeborg Bachmann

„Da der Zugang zur deutschsprachigen Fachliteratur in Georgien begrenzt ist, war es mir äußerst wichtig, Bibliotheksrecherchen in einem deutschen Sprachraum durchzuführen sowie auch entsprechende Seminare an der deutschen Universität zu besuchen. Das Viadrina International Program - for Graduates (VIP) ist eine gute Möglichkeit, am Lehrstuhl für Sprachgebrauch und Sprachvergleich der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Europa-Universität Viadrina zu forschen und mich ganz auf die Dissertation zu konzentrieren.“

Seke_Robert_UV_4034 ©Heide Fest

Name: Robert Seke

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum der Förderung: 01.07. – 31.12.2020

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Kunst und Architektur der neueren Zeit, Historismus und visuelle Konstruktion kollektiver Identitäten

„Mit der abgeschlossenen Doktorarbeit als endgültigem Ergebnis des jahrelangen Studiums und der Forschung hoffe ich, meinen Beitrag zu einem besseren Verständnis unserer Vergangenheit zu leisten und mich weiterhin in der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft zu engagieren.“

Lancheros-Hugo_UV_3996 ©Heide Fest

Name: Hugo Fernando Lancheros Redondo

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum der Förderung: 15.06. – 15.12.2020

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Vergleich der (Un)Höflichkeit zwischen deutsch- und spanischsprachigen Chat-Gesprächen

„Ich habe mich um ein Abschlussstipendium beworben, um mit der Arbeit an der Dissertation besser voranzukommen, da ich als selbständiger Sprachlehrer viel arbeitete. Dank des Stipendiums kann ich mich ausschließlich auf die Promotion konzentrieren und die Arbeit in sechs Monaten erfolgreich fertigstellen.“

Lockmann ©Cetinkaya Lockmann

Name: Lokman Burak Çetinkaya

Heimatuniversität: Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), Deutschland

Zeitraum der Förderung: 15.06. – 15.12.2020

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Internationales Cyberrecht

„VIP Fellowship gab mir die Möglichkeit, mich in der Endphase unter Leitung meines Betreuers (Prof. Dr. Wolff Heintschel von Heinegg) ausschließlich auf das Dissertationsprojekt zu konzentrieren. Es wird mir nicht nur helfen, die Dissertation abzuschließen, sondern auch die Qualität des Projekts zu verbessern.“