Banner Viadrina

Concept of the ENS of Digital Studies

At the European New School of Digital Studies (ENS), a new transdisciplinary and international field of research and teaching shall be established through scientific interaction with the digital European society, which will contribute to a significant expansion of the profile of the European University Viadrina (EUV) and the Collegium Polonicum (CP) as a progressive and innovative scientific location.

With the ENS, the founding mission of Viadrina as a European University will be continued and the German-Polish scientific cooperation with Adam Mickiewicz University (AMU) will also be institutionally raised to a new level. Together, the two universities are addressing a European issue of the future, namely the challenges and opportunities of the European digital society.

In a first step, the ENS will be founded as an EUV institution according to Brandenburg university law. At the same time, the AMU will follow an equivalent path according to Polish higher education law. The perspective is to establish the ENS as a joint cross-border institution of the EUV and AMU at the CP.

Transdisciplinary research and teaching on the European digital society

At the ENS, economists, lawyers, social scientists, humanities scholars, as well as technical experts in computer and technology sciences will teach and conduct research with the aim of finding answers to the challenges of the digital society.


The central research fields of the ENS will comprise the following areas:

Grafik 1 ©Jürgen Neyer

The interdisciplinary core college will comprise four W2/W3 professorships with the denominations „Information Management and Digital Transformation“, „Law and Ethics of the Digital Society“, „Political Theory and Digital Democracy“ and „Sociology of Technology“. The AMU contributes its expertise in computer and technology sciences to research and teaching at the ENS. External fellows and guest lecturers with civil society, business and technological expertise are involved in research and teaching on a project-by-project basis.

In the winter semester 2020/21, teaching and study operations are to start with the international Master of Digital Entrepreneurship (MADE), which combines social science and humanities, economics, law and technical study content in a student-centred and project-based curriculum. Successful students of the MADE will receive a Double Degree by AMU and EUV. In the medium term, the range of courses is to be expanded to include a Bachelor's and a research-oriented Master's program as well as a further education component.

Grafik 2 ©Jürgen Neyer

All courses are transdisciplinary; they combine scientific reflections with practical skills and qualify graduates to help shaping social and economic change in the European digital society. Students are understood as partners in the research and teaching process and they are given the opportunity to realise their student projects at the ENS and with local, regional and international cooperation partners (companies, NGOs, etc.).

Digital teaching, learning and test formats are a central component of the studies at the ENS. They will be developed, tested and evaluated right there and thereby they are themselves the subject of scientific reflection on digitisation.

Networked in science and society - science in and for society

The ENS is integrated into the regional and European scientific landscape: in addition to the joint study offers with AMU and the intensified cooperation with Panthéon-Sorbonne, it cooperates with the Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik, the Leibniz Institute for Innovative Microelectronics and the Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems (FOKUS), among others, and intends to establish further cooperative relationships in Brandenburg and Berlin.

The cooperation with the Co-Working Space of the Viadrina, the transfer office, the planned start-up workshop, the media law clinic, the Legal Tech Center as well as the Center for Internet and Human Rights will promote knowledge and practice transfer as well as networking with regional and supraregional practice and cooperation partners and set growth impulses for the region.

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Neyer has presented the European New School of Digital Studies on December 5th 2018 in the Committee for Science, Research and Culture of the Brandenburg State Parliament (Protocol - in German)

Banner Viadrina

Konzeption der ENS of Digital Studies

An der European New School of Digital Studies (ENS) soll durch die wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit der digitalen europäischen Gesellschaft ein neues transdisziplinäres und internationales Themenfeld in Forschung und Lehre etabliert werden, das zur deutlichen Profilerweiterung der Europa-Universität Viadrina (EUV) und des Collegium Polonicum (CP) als zukunftsfähigem und innovativem Wissenschaftsstandort beiträgt.

Mit der ENS wird der Gründungsauftrag der Viadrina als Europa-Universität fortgeführt und die deutsch-polnische Wissenschaftskooperation mit der Adam-Mickiewicz-Universität (AMU) auch institutionell auf eine neue Stufe gehoben. Gemeinsam wenden sich beide Universitäten der wissenschaftlichen Bearbeitung einer europäischen Zukunftsfrage zu, nämlich den Herausforderungen und Chancen der europäischen digitalen Gesellschaft. 

Die ENS wird in einem ersten Schritt als Einrichtung der EUV nach brandenburgischem Hochschulrecht gegründet. An der AMU wird gleichzeitig ein äquivalenter Weg nach polnischem Hochschulrecht beschritten. Perspektivisch ist es Ziel, die ENS als gemeinsame grenzüberschreitende Einrichtung der EUV und AMU am CP zu etablieren.

Transdisziplinäre Forschung und Lehre zur europäischen digitalen Gesellschaft

An der ENS werden Ökonominnen und Ökonomen, Juristinnen und Juristen, Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler und technische Expertinnen und Experten für künstliche Intelligenz und Computerlinguistik mit dem Ziel lehren und forschen, Antworten auf die Herausforderungen der digitalen Gesellschaft zu finden.

Die zentralen Forschungsfelder der ENS werden die folgenden Bereiche umfassen:

Grafik 1 ©Jürgen Neyer


Das interdisziplinäre Kernkollegium soll vier W2/W3-Professuren mit den Denominationen „Innovation and Digital Entrepreneurship“, „Law of the Digital Society“, „Digital Democracy and Governance“ und „Science, Technology and Society“ sowie zwei W1-Professuren mit den Denominationen „Digital Ethics“ und „Digital Humanities“ umfassen. Die AMU leistet ihren Beitrag in Forschung und Lehre in „Big Data and Artifical Intelligence“ und „Computerlinguistics“. Externe Fellows und Gastdozenten mit zivilgesellschaftlicher, wirtschaftsnaher und technologischer Expertise wirken projektbezogen in Forschung und Lehre mit.

Der Lehr- und Studienbetrieb soll im Wintersemester 2020/21 mit dem internationalen Master of Digital Entrepreneurship (MADE) aufgenommen werden, der sozial- und geisteswissenschaftliche, wirtschaftswissenschaftliche, rechtswissenschaftliche und technische Studieninhalte in einem studierendenzentrierten und projektbasierten Curriculum verbindet. Mittelfristig soll das Studienangebot um einen Bachelor- und einen forschungsorientierten Masterstudiengang sowie um eine weiterbildende Komponente erweitert werden.

Grafik 2 ©Jürgen Neyer


​Alle Studienangebote sind transdisziplinär, kombinieren wissenschaftliche Reflexionen mit praktischen Fähigkeiten und qualifizieren ihre Absolventinnen und Absolventen dazu, den sozialen und ökonomischen Wandel in der europäischen digitalen Gesellschaft mitzugestalten. Studierende werden als Partner im Forschungs- und Lehrprozess verstanden und bekommen die Möglichkeit, ihre studentischen Projekte an der ENS und mit lokalen, regionalen und internationalen Kooperationspartnern (Unternehmen, NGOs etc.) zu realisieren.

Digitale Lehr-, Lern- und Prüfformate sind zentraler Bestandteil des Studiums an der ENS, werden dort entwickelt, erprobt und evaluiert und so selbst Gegenstand der wissenschaftlichen Reflexion von Digitalisierung.

Vernetzt in Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft – Wissenschaft in und für die Gesellschaft

Die ENS ist in die regionale und europäische Wissenschaftslandschaft eingebunden: neben den gemeinsamen Studienangeboten mit der AMU und der intensivierten Zusammenarbeit mit der Panthéon-Sorbonne kooperiert sie u. a. mit der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik, dem Leibniz-Institut für Innovative Mikroelektronik und dem Fraunhofer-Institut für offene Kommunikationssysteme (FOKUS) und beabsichtigt, weitere Kooperationsbeziehungen in Berlin-Brandenburg zu etablieren.

Unter anderem durch Zusammenarbeit mit dem Co-Working Space der Viadrina, der Transferstelle, der geplanten Gründerwerkstatt, der medienrechtlichen Law Clinic, dem Legal Tech Center sowie dem Center for Internet and Human Rights werden der Wissens- und Praxistransfer sowie die Vernetzung mit regionalen und überregionalen Praxis- und Kooperationspartnern gefördert und Wachstumsimpulse für die Region gesetzt.

Diese Zusammenfassung des Konzeptes finden Sie auch als PDF-Datei zum Download in der rechten Spalte. Die Übersicht ist auf Deutsch, Englisch und Polnisch verfügbar.

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Neyer hat die European New School of Digital Studies am 5. Dezember 2018 im Ausschuss für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur des Brandenburgischen Landtags vorgestellt (Protokoll).