Banner Viadrina

École Supérieure de Commerce de Montpellier

About the university

The École Supérieure de Commerce de Montpellier (Sup de Co Montpellier or ESC Montpellier) has existed since 1897 and is one of France's few Grande école, the most prestigious group of French elite universities. Measured by the number of students, it is one of the smaller universities in France, with 8,000 students.

The city

Montpellier is located in the warm south of France not far from the Mediterranean coast. About 60,000 students are enrolled in the city’s various universities. The city’s Mediterranean flair and buildings from the 19th century remain attractive for tourists. The name of the city is supposed to come from "mont pelé", - naked hill.

Application and Requirements

Students apply for the double program at the Department of International Affairs. For more detailed information on the application procedure and the application deadlines, please refer to the application form.

Requirements:

  • At the time of your departure to Montpellier you need to have studied at the EUV for at least two semesters.
  • You have to complete your studies in English (WiSe) and French (SoSe) or only in English (but the course selection will be restricted).
  • You must have sufficient language skills.
Language skills

In order to take part in the program you need to provide proof that you have sufficient English or French language skills, depending on which language you have chosen. The Montpellier Business School requires proof of language skills.

  • English: B2 (or TOEFL ITB with minimum 60 points or IELTS with a 6)
  • French: B2 (or CTF B1/B2, DELF)
Semester times

Winter semester: September – January
Summer semester: January – June

Please see the Montpellier Business School homepage for the exact semester times.

Please bear in mind when planning your studies that the academic calendars in Germany and France differ. Dual degree students start their studies at the Montpellier Business School in the winter semester in September. It is not possible to start in the summer semester. You stay in Montpellier for one year.

Choice of course / Type of teaching

Choice of course: you have to take 17 compulsory courses and one elective course.

Type of teaching: a group of approx. 50 students take part in the courses which they complete together. The courses are usually completed with a written examination. You are required to attend the classes.

Recognition of certificates and examinations
You can find general advice about recognition procedures on the pages of the Department of International Affairs under the heading recognition.

In order to receive a degree from Viadrina it necessary to complete the modules in your course of study. To this purpose, you can, in consultation with us, have courses recognized which you completed as part of the dual program abroad. Discuss recognition with Torsten Glase before your departure.

In order to obtain a French degree, you have to provide Montpellier Business School with your degree certificate from Viadrina. The school then issues you with a degree certificate.

Master Thesis

Your master’s dissertation is written and supervised after you return to Viadrina.

Useful Information: insurance, accommodation, travel etc.
Semester off: please note that it is not possible for you to take a semester off during your second semester in France as the master’s thesis is written during this period. You can apply for a semester off for the first semester abroad. However, in this case, you cannot receive acceptance for foreign certificates or examinations.

Health insurance: if you have compulsory German health insurance and possess a European Health Insurance Card you are entitled to basic coverage in other European countries. However, if you stay abroad for a longer period it is recommended that you take out additional insurance.

Accommodation: the ESC Montpelier has halls of residence. However, these are relatively expensive. Therefore, it is a good idea to look for private accommodation.

Housing Benefit: as an exchange student, you have a right to housing benefit in France which can be applied for at the  Caisses d’Allocations Familiales (CAF).

The Journey: is possible by air. You can also travel by rail or by bus – then you do not have any weight restrictions for your luggage.

Living expenses: approx. 600€-1000€

Visa: not necessary for EU citizens with a valid passport or identity card. If you are not a EU citizen you should refer to the visa regulations on the website of the French Embassy.

Student reports
You can find the most up-to-date student reports under the keyword "France" on our website.

Banner Viadrina

École Supérieure de Commerce de Montpellier

Zur Uni

Die École Supérieure de Commerce de Montpellier (kurz Sup de Co Montpellier oder ESC Montpellier) besteht seit 1897 und ist eine von Frankreichs wenigen Grande école, der angesehensten Gruppe der französischen Elitehochschulen. Gemessen an der Studierendenzahl gehört sie mit 8.000 Studenten eher zu den kleinen Universitäten Frankreichs.

Zur Stadt

Montpellier liegt im warmen Süden Frankreichs, unweit der sonnigen Mittelmeerküste. Etwa 60.000 Studierende sind an den verschiedenen Universitäten der Stadt eingeschrieben. Das mediterrane Flair und die Bauten aus dem 19. Jh. ziehen immer wieder auch viele Touristen an. Der Name der Stadt soll sich übrigens von "mont pelé", nackter Hügel, ableiten.



Bewerbung / besondere Voraussetzungen

Für das Doppelprogramm bewerben sich Studierende bei der Abteilung für Internationale Anagelegenheiten. Genauere Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren und zu den Bewerbungsfristen erhalten Sie unter dem Punkt Bewerbung.

Voraussetzungen:

  • Zum Zeitpunkt der Abreise nach Montpellier müssen Sie min. zwei Semester an der EUV studiert haben
  • Sie müssen das Studium auf englisch (WiSe) und französisch (SoSe) absolvieren
  • Sie müssen über ausreichende Sprachkenntnisse verfügen
Sprachkenntnisse

Um am Programm teilnehmen zu können, sollten Sie über ausreichende Englisch- und Französischkenntnisse  verfügen. Die ESC Montpellier verlangt entsprechende Sprachnachweise, die es vor dem  Antritt des Auslandsaufenthaltes vorzulegen gilt.

  • Englisch: B2
  • Französisch: B2  oder CTF B1/B2, DELF
Semesterzeiten

Wintersemester: September – Januar
Sommersemester: Januar – Juni

Die genauen Semesterzeiten finden Sie auf den Seiten der ESC Montpellier.

Bitte berücksichtigen Sie bei Ihrer Studienplanung, dass der akademische Kalender französischer Universitäten sich von dem deutscher Universitäten unterscheidet. Als Studierende des Doppelabschussprogramm beginnt Ihr Semester an der ESC Montpellier im September. Sie bleiben 1 Jahr vor Ort.

Kurswahl / Unterrichtsform

Kurswahl: Es müssen 17 festgelte und ein Wahlpflichtkurs belegt werden.

Unterrichtsform: Die Kurse setzten sich aus ca. 50 Studierenden zusammen, die gemeinsam im Klassenverband absolviert werden. In der Regel wird die Prüfungleistung über eine Klausur erbracht. Es besteht Anwesenheitspflicht.

Anerkennung der Studienleistungen
Allgemeine Hinweise zum Anerkennungsverfahren finden Sie auf den Seiten der Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten unter dem Punkt Anerkennung.

Um einen Abschluss an der EUV zu erhalten sind die vorgegebenen Module in Ihrem Studienhang vollständig abzuschließen. Dafür können Sie sich die Kurse aus dem Ausland anrechnen lassen, die Sie im Rahmen des Doppelprogramms belegt haben. Um die Anerkennbarkeit an der Viadrina zu gewährleisten, sollte die Kurswahl vor Ihrer Abreise mit Torsten Glase abgesprochen werden

Für den französischen Abschluss müssen Sie nach Studienabschluss an der EUV ein Transcript mit allen Ihren Leistungen (Leistungsübersicht aus dem Hisportal auf Englisch) an die ESC Montpellier schicken. Diese stellt Ihnen dann ein Bachelorzeugnis aus.

Abschlussarbeit

Die Master-Arbeit wird nach Ihrer Rückkehr an der Viadrina geschrieben und betreut.

Nützliche Hinweise: Versicherung, Unterkunft, Anreise etc.
Urlaubssemester: Für das Semester, in dem Sie die Master-Arbeit anfertigen, können Sie kein Urlaubssemester nehmen, da die anerkennbarkeit der Abschlussarbeit in diesem nicht erfolgen kann. Im ersten Semester kann ein Urlaubssemester beantragt werden, doch können dann die in diesem Urlaubssemester erbrachten Leistungen an der  ESC Montpellier nicht an der Viadrina anerkannt werden.

Krankenversicherung: Wenn Sie bei einer deutschen Krankenkasse gesetzlich versichert sind und eine Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte besitzen, stellt diese den Grundversicherungsschutz fürs europäische Ausland dar. Falls Sie noch keine europäische Versicherungskarte besitzen, sollten sie diese bei Ihrer Versicherung beantragen. Des Weiteren empfehlen wir eine Zusatzversicherung für die länge des Auslandsaufenthaltes abzuschließen.

Unterkunft: Die ESC Montpellier verfügt über Wohnheime. Allerdings sind diese relativ teuer. Daher empfiehlt es sich eine private Unterkunft zu suchen. 

Wohngeld: Als Austauschstudent haben Sie in Frankreich Anspruch auf Wohngeld, das Sie beim Caisses d’Allocations Familiales (CAF) beantragen.

Anreise: ist mit dem Flugzeug möglich

Lebenshaltungskosten: 600€-1000€

Visa: Wenn Sie EU-Bürger/-in sind, reicht ein gültiger Reisepass oder Personalausweis. Falls Sie Nicht-EU-Bürger/-in sind informieren Sie sich über die Visabestimmungen auf der Seite der französischen Botschaft.

Erfahrungsberichte
Erfahrungsberichte finden Sie unter dem Stichwort "Frankreich" auf unseren Webseite mit allen Erfahrungsberichten.