Banner Viadrina

Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Campus Bogotá or Campus Manizales)

University

The Universidad Nacional de Colombia (UNAL) is the biggest and most important university in Colombia. It was founded in 1867 and has around 50.000 students, distributed in 9 branches all over the country.  It is a public university, offering an equal access and admission to the Colombian education system.

The UNAL aims to facilitate the economic, technological and cultural developement of the country on a both national and global level and stands for high level investigation and education.

Campus Bogotá: At the UNAL's main campus in Bogotá around 31.500 students are enrolled. Out of them approximately 6.500 study a Master degree at the university. Employing a total amount of 2.000 teachers/profesors, the campus offers a wide range of specializations and fields. With a high amount of green areas, this campus from the UNAL is putting a lot of effort in providing their students with a better quality of live as a student.

Campus Manizales: The Campus in Manizales was founded in 1948, starting with a faculty for engineering and a faculty for Business Administration. Since the faculty was the basis for the campus to develop, it still is taken for the most important one and has a very good image and aknowledgement all over Colombia. Today, the UNAL Campus in Manizales has three faculties and is very popular among students because of its great location in the small town of Manizales.

City

Bogotá: Capital of Colombia and of the departamento Cundinamarca. The metropolis with its around 7 Million inhabitants forms the biggest city in Colombia and is still considered growing more. The city is a traffic hub as well as the most important economical- and cultural center of the country, providing it with universities, museums and memorials. The capital is located in the andean mountains and offers a a varity of beautiful old mountain-villages to visit  in the surroundings. The cultural and educational offer in Bogotá is very big and diverse.

Manizales: Manizales is the capital of the colombian departamento Caldas and is located in the so called "Zona cafetera" (the coffee zone), which is the main growing and producing area of coffee in Colombia. The city has around 389.000 inhabitants and is - as well as Bogotá - located in the andean montains. That way, the city in the mountains has one of the best climate zones, being refered to as the "area where it is always spring" and has an incredibly beautiful surroundings. Economically,  Manizales is known as well for its amazing coffee as for great cocoa and gold-products. 

20171112_112256 ©Claudia Casiano 20171116_160943 ©Claudia Casiano
20171112_121702 ©Claudia Casiano

20171115_163027 ©Claudia Casiano

Application/ Special Requierements

For the double-degree program, IBA Master students have to apply at the Department of International Affairs. For more information about the application process and deadlines you can find on your website under the topic Bewerbung or you can come by the office at the office hours.

Requirements:

  • A minimum of two completed semesters before the date of departure
  • Spanish proficiency to level B1-B2 before the date of departure (minimum a completed advanced course or equivalent)
Language proficient 
The language spoken in classes is Spanish. For that matter it is neccesary that you have a sufficient knowledge of the language, in order to participate in the program (usually B1-B2). Um das Studium zu erleichtern, bietet die Universität Spanischkurse für Austauschstudierende an. 
Semester dates

Winter term: August-December
Summer term: February-June

Please check the exact term dates on the homepage of the UNAL.

Please take into account the differing academic calanders of German and Colombian universities.  As a student of the double degree program your semester at the UNAL will either start in the beginning of February or August. You will be one year abroad.

Course Selection / Form of teaching

Master-Program "Business Administration": The MBA is extra occupational. That means that the classes take place in form of block seminars either in the mornings (07:00-09:00 am), in the evenings (06:00-08:00 pm), or on the weekends.

Degree in Manizales: Master "Adminstración"

Degree in Bogotá: Master "Contabilidad y Finanzas" or Master "Ciencias Economicas" or Master "Administración"

Recognition of the study achievements

For general hints to the procedure of Recognition please check the homepage of the Department of International Affairs under the topic recognition

In order to receive a degree from Viadrina, it is neccesary that you complecte the given modules of your career. For that matter, the courses you take in Colombia in the double degree program can get recognized at Viadrina. To make sure that Viadrina will recognize the classes you choose, the careful selection of courses should be agreed with Torsten Glase before your departure to Colombia.

For the Colombian degree it is neccesary to hand in your certificate or the complete Transcript of Records from the UNAL.

Thesis

The Master-Thesis will be written in English or Spanish and will be supervised at Viadrina. In addition it is neccesary to create an Abstract in English or Spanish.

Useful Tips: Insurance,  Accommodation, Arrival etc.

Insurance: Please inform yourself on time about the possibilities and benefits of your health insurance in case of a longer stay outside of the European Union.

Please check if you need any kind of injection/vaccination. To do so we recomend you to get in touch with the  Tropeninstitut Berlin.

Accomodation: The UNAL does not offer its own dormitories (it is not common in Colombia anyway). The DRE (Dirección de Relaciones Exteriores) is available to help you very kindly with the search for a room or an appartment and mostly offers some possibilities before your departure. In addition it is possible to stay with a host-family where you can rent a room and sometimes also meals.

Arrival: Possible by plane directly to Bogotá

Living costs: 300€-400€ per month

Visa: In general you need a permission if you stay longer than 90 days in Colombia and want to study. For visa regulations please check the website of the Colombian embassy.

Reports
You can find experience reports of students (mostly in German) on our Webseite.

Banner Viadrina

Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Campus Bogotá oder Campus Manizales)

Uni

Die Universidad Nacional de Colombia (UNAL) ist die größte und wichtigste Universität Kolumbiens. Sie wurde im Jahre 1867 gegründet und bildet mit ihren fast 50.000 Studierenden, die sich auf 9 Zweigstellen im ganzen Land verteilen, das Flagschiff unter den staatlichen Universitäten des Landes. Als öffentliche Universität bietet sie gleichen Zugang für alle zum kolumbianischen Bildungssystem.

Die UNAL hat den Anspruch zu wissenschaftlichen, technologischem und kulturellem Fortschritt beizutragen und steht für eigenständige Forschung und Bildung.

Campus Bogotá: Am Hauptcampus der UNAL in Bogotá studieren ca. 31.500 Studierende, wovon wiederum ca. 6.500 einen der vielfältigen Masterprogramme besuchen. Mit einer Zahl von 2.000 Lehrenden deckt der Campus ein großes akademischen Spektrum mit vielen Spezialisierungen ab. Um ihren Studierenden eine besonders gute Studienqualität zu bieten, hat die UNAL den Campus mit einem hohen Anteil an Grünflächen ausgestattet.

Campus Manizales: Der Campus in Manizales ist 1948 mit der Fakultät für Ingenieurswesen und der Fakultät für Business Administration entstanden. Da Letztere einen der Grundsteine des Campuses bildet, wird sie weiterhin hoch angesehen und ihr wird eine wichtige Rolle zugeschrieben. Die UNAL in Manizales hat heute drei Fakultäten und ist mit ihrem Sitz in der Kleinstadt Manizales sehr beliebt.

Stadt

Bogotá: Hauptstadt Kolumbiens und des Departamento Cundinamarca. Die Metropole ist derzeit mit rund 7 Millionen Einwohnern die größte Stadt Kolumbiens und befindet sich im stetigen Wachstum. Die Stadt ist Verkehrsknotenpunkt sowie wichtigstes Wirtschafts- und Kulturzentrum des Landes mit Universitäten, Hochschulen, Museeun und Denkmälern. Die Hauptstadt liegt in den Anden und bietet eine Vielzahl von schönen alten Bergdörfern im Umkreis zur Besichtigung. Das Kultur- und Bildungsangebot in Bogotá ist sehr groß und vielseitig.

Manizales: Manizales ist die Hauptstadt des kolumbianischen Departamento Caldas und liegt in der sogennanten "Zona Cafetera" , dem Haupt-Kaffeanbaugebiet Kolumbiens. Die Stadt hat rund 398.000 Einwohner/-innen und liegt ebenfalls in den zentralen Anden, was zu ihrem angenehmen Klima und einer schönen Umgebung beiträgt. Wirtschaftlich ist Manizales sowohl für seinen Kaffee als auch für Kakao und Goldprodukte bekannt.

20171112_112256 ©Claudia Casiano 20171116_160943 ©Claudia Casiano
20171112_121702 ©Claudia Casiano

20171115_163027 ©Claudia Casiano

Bewerbung / besondere Voraussetzungen

Für das Doppelprogramm bewerben sich Studierende bei der Abteilung für Internationale Anagelegenheiten. Genauere Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren und zu den Bewerbungsfristen erhalten Sie unter dem Punkt Bewerbung.

Voraussetzungen

  • zum Zeitpunkt der Ausreise nach Kolumbien müssen Sie min. 2 Semester an der EUV studiert haben
  • Sie müssen über ausreichende Spanischkenntnisse verfügen (B1-B2)
Sprachkenntnisse
Die Unterrichtssprache ist Spanisch. Daher müssen sie über ausreichende Spanischkenntnisse verfügen, um am Programm teilnehmen zu können (i.d.R. B1-B2). Um das Studium zu erleichtern, bietet die Universität Spanischkurse für Austauschstudierende an. 
Semesterzeiten

Wintersemester: August-Dezember
Sommersemester: Februar-Juni

Die genauen Semesterzeiten entnehmen Sie bitte der Homepage der UNAL.

Bitte berücksichtigen Sie bei Ihrer Studienplanung, dass der akademische Kalender kolumbianischer Universitäten sich erheblich von dem deutscher Universitäten unterscheidet. Als Studierende des Doppelabschussprogramm beginnt Ihr Semester an der UNAL im Februar oder im August. Sie bleiben 1 Jahr vor Ort.

Kurswahl / Unterrichtsform

Master-Program "Business Administration": Der MBA ist berufsbegleitend, dementsprechend findet der Unterricht in Form von Blockseminaren ausschließlich morgens von 7:00-9:00 Uhr, abends von 18:00-20:00 Uhr und am Wochenende statt.

Abschluss in Manizales: Master "Administración"

Abschluss in Bogotá: Master "Contabilidad y Finanzas" oder Master "Ciencias Economicas" oder Master "Administración"

Achtung: Informationen zu den Kursen folgen in Kürze.

Anerkennung der Studienleistungen

Allgemeine Hinweise zum Anerkennungsverfahren finden Sie auf den Seiten der Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten unter dem Punkt Anerkennung

Um einen Abschluss an der EUV zu erhalten, sind die vorgegebenen Module in Ihrem Studiengang vollständig abzuschließen. Dafür können Sie sich die Kurse aus dem Ausland anrechnen lassen, die Sie im Rahmen des Doppelprogramms belegt haben. Um die Anerkennbarkeit an der Viadrina zu gewährleisten, sollte die Kurswahl vor Ihrer Abreise nach Argentinien mit Torsten Glase abgesprochen werden.

Für den kolumbianischen Abschluss müssen Sie das Abschlusszeugnis der EUV oder das vollständige Transcript of Records (i.d.R. HIS-Portal Ausdruck) der UNAL zukommen lassen. Diese stellt Ihnen danach ein Abschlusszeugnis aus.

Abschlussarbeit

Die Master-Arbeit wird auf Englisch oder auf Spansich an der EUV geschrieben und betreut. Zusätzlich muss ein Abstract auf Englisch oder auf Spanisch erstellt werden.

Nützliche Hinweise: Versicherung, Unterkunft, Anreise etc.

Urlaubssemester: Während dem Auslandsjahr an der UNAL kann kein Urlaubssemester genommen werden, da bei Beurlaubung keine Anerkennung der im Ausland erbrachten Leistungen möglich ist.

Krankenversicherung: Informieren Sie sich bitte rechtzeitig über die Leistungen und Möglichkeiten Ihrer Krankenkasse bei einem längeren Auslandsaufenthalt außerhalb Europas. Für Kolumbien gibt es keine Pflichtimpfungen, falls Sie sich aber dennoch über aktuelle Empfehlungen zur Malariaprophylaxe und Impfungen informieren möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen sich mit dem Tropeninstitut Berlin in Kontakt zu setzen.

Unterkunft: Die UNAL verfügt über keine eigenen Studentenwohnheime (in Kolumbien ist dies nicht üblich). Die DRE (Dirección de Relaciones Exteriores) hilft jedoch gern beim Suchen eines Zimmers und bietet oft schon vor Ankunft Unterkunftsmöglichkeiten in WGs oder Studentenresidenzen an. Es gibt die Möglichkeit, in einer Familie unterzukommen, ein Zimmer ohne Verpflegung zu bekommen oder in einem Apart-Hotel zu wohnen (mit oder ohne Verpflegung).

Anreise: Ist mit dem Flugzeug direkt nach Bogotá möglich

Lebenshaltungskosten: 300€-400€ pro Monat

Visa: In der Regel benötigen Sie eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung um mehr als 90 Tage in Kolumbien studieren zu dürfen. Über dieVisabestimmungen informieren Sie sich bitte auf der Internetseite der Kolumbianischen Botschaft

Erfahrungsberichte
Erfahrungsberichte finden Sie unter dem Stichwort "Kolumbien" auf unseren Webseite mit allen Erfahrungsberichten.