Banner Viadrina

Viadrina Institute for European Studies (IFES)

Members


Beichelt_Timm ©Heide Fest Prof Dr Timm Beichelt is the dean of Faculty of Social and Cultural Sciences and professor of the Chair of European Studies. From April 2017 until May 2022, he was the director of the Viadrina Institute for European Studies (IFES). More about Timm Beichelt can be found on the website of his Chair for European Studies.

GC_18.02.2021_(c)GChakrabarti ©Gautam Chakrabarti Dr Gautam Chakrabarti is an academic associate at the Dean's Office of the Faculty of Cultural Studies and researches and teaches at the intersections of literary, cultural, social and intellectual history. His research interests include world literature, world literary knowledge, "Maverick Cosmopolitanism/s" in the cultural Cold War and literary and cultural history of (post)colonialism, especially South Asia. Further information on Gautam Chakrabarti can be found on the website of the Faculty of Cultural Studies.

Frysztacka_Clara ©Heide Fest Dr Clara Frysztacka researches historical time as a hegemonic category of self-location in European Modernism, which in the long 19th century articulated ambivalent and peripheral forms of Eastern European affiliation to Europe. More about Clara Frysztacka can be found on the website of the Chair of European Contemporary History.

Gauthier_IFES_Bild ©Claire Gauthier Claire Gauthier supports the Kelso-Professorship and the Intercentar as research associate (PhD candidate) and EU-policy and public relations officer. Further information can be found on the website of the Kelso-Professorship.

Hanisch, Stefan ©Privat Dr Stefan Hanisch has been working for the Kelso Professorship of Comparative Law, East European Business Law and European Legal Policy as a research associate since October 2010. More about Stefan Hanisch can be found on the website of the Kelso-Professorship.

FOTO Hennig_Anja_MG_0080-1 ©Heide Fest Dr Anja Hennig deals with the comparative analysis of the relationship between religion and politics in contemporary Europe and with transnational resistance to gender equality as an example of illiberal responses to liberally understood policies. Her country focus is Poland. More about Anja Hennig can be found on the website of the Chair of Comparative Politics (in German).

AmelieKutter_(c)UrszulaCzerska_quer ©Urszula Czerska Dr Amelie Kutter initiated the Periphery Group at IFES and contributes to the study of political legitimacy and EU-induced social change, with a particular focus on public discourse and the political economy of European integration. More information about Amelie Kutter can be found on her personal website.

Lowitzsch ©Heide Fest Prof Dr Jens Lowitzsch is the Chair of the Kelso-Professorship since October 1st, 2010. He teaches Comparative Law, East European Economic Law and European Legal Policy at the European University Viadrina. More information on Jens Lowitzsch can be found here.

Minkenberg ©Heide Fest Prof Michael Minkenberg's research interests include the radical right in liberal democracies; immigration, nationalism and the politics of citizenship; and the relationship between religion and politics in Western societies. Further information on Michael Minkenberg can be found on the website of his Chair Comparative Politics.

Sascha Münnich ©Ronald Schmidt Prof Dr Sascha Münnich is the director of the Viadrina Institute for European Studies (IFES). He works in the field of economic sociology and sociological theory. From a historical-comparative perspective, he focuses on financial and labor markets, the significance of critiques of capitalism, and social policy in European countries and North America. In addition to numerous academic publications, he is also present in the media as an expert of sociological perspectives on the economy, culture and politics of European societies. More about Sascha Münnich can be found on the website of his Chair of Sociology of the Economy (in German).

Neyer_web Prof Dr Jürgen Neyer is Professor of European and International Politics at the European University Viadrina and founding director of the European New School of Digital Studies (ENS). His recent projects focus on links between technological innovation and international conflicts as well as on the development of an AI-based search engine for arguments.

Sonja Priebus ©Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg Dr rer pol Sonja Priebus is a postdoctoral researcher at the Chair of European Studies. Her current primary research interest focuses on the dismantling of democracy and of the rule of law in EU member states such as Hungary and Poland. In this context, she is primarily interested in the development and deployment of the EU's rule of law instruments. Moreover, she studies the political systems of the Visegrád states, in particular the political system of Hungary, as well as constitutional politics. Further informationen on Sonja Priebus can be found here (in German).

Jennifer Ramme ©Jennifer Ramme Jennifer Ramme deals with Poland and Eastern Central Europe, with a particular focus on social movements / NGOs and disputed gender orders. Her research interests include emancipatory as well as right-wing gender and sexual politics, nationalism, and constructions of Europe. More information about Jennifer Ramme can be found on the website of the Chair of European Studies, where she works a research associate, as well as on the blog Kunst des Protest - Protest der Kunst.

Rietschel_Jonas_UV_1013 ©Heide Fest Jonas Rietschel is an academic associate at the Department of Sociology of the Economy. His research focuses on the study of populism, democracy and welfare states. As part of his PhD, he is working on the impact of the coronavirus pandemic on European welfare models. For further information on Jonas Rietschel, please visit the website of the Chair of Sociology of the Economy (in German).

Schindel_Estrela_quer ©Fest, Heide PD Dr Estela Schindel is the Academic coordinator of the Viadrina Institute for European Studies. Her research interests include the social dynamics of exception and exclusion, dictatorship and violence research as well as cultures of remembrance in a comparative perspective, spatial and urban research with a focus on Latin America as well as border regimes and border theories. More information about Estela Schindel can be found here.

RSchwarze ©UFZ Climate change becomes increasingly noticeable in our everyday life. Evermore extreme floods, heat waves and droughts affect businesses, public infrastructures and also the citizens of Germany and the European Union. This creates big challenges, in particular for insurance companies. Questions on how to comprehend and tackle such climate impacts are important topics for insurance economies and European environmental economy. The main research areas of Prof Dr Reimund Schwarze are: Sustainability Economics, insurance coverage of climate risks and management of natural hazards in Europe. More information can be found on the website of the Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ).

elsa_tulmets-_2_ ©Elsa Tulmets Dr habil Elsa Tulmets' research topics include the sociology and policy analysis of the European Union, the foreign policy of the EU as well as that of the EU member states and policy transfers and norm circulation. Regional focuses are Germany, France and Central Eastern Europe. Further information on Elsa Tulmets can be found on the website of the Chair for European Studies (in German).

VeghZs 2021 (c) VeghZs_quer ©Zsuzsanna Vegh Zsuzsanna Végh is a research associate at the Chair of Comparative Politics and an associate researcher at the European Council on Foreign Relations. Her research interests include the radical right in the European Union, Hungarian EU and foreign policy, and regional cooperation in Central and Eastern Europe. For more information on Zsuzsanna Végh, please visit the website of the Chair of Comparative Politics (in German).

Weber-Claudia ©Heide Fest Prof Dr Claudia Weber is professor for European Contemporary History. Further information on Claudia Weber can be found on the website of her Chair.

weber2 ©Klaus Weber Prof Dr Klaus Weber is professor for Economic and Social History. More information on Klaus Weber can be found on the website of his Chair (in German).

Worschech_Susann_MG_0038 ©Heide Fest Dr Susann Worschech researches on protest, participation, democracy and political interaction in post-socialist Europe and introduces methodological impulses, especially for social network analysis. Further information on Susann Worschech can be found on the website of the Chair of European Studies.

Former Members

Dr Pawel Lewicki was a research associate at the Chair of Comparative Cultural and Social Anthropology until July 2022. He is researching Europeanization processes, especially from the post-colonial and (post) imperial perspective. He is currently working on trajectories of HIV-positive bodies from Central and Eastern Europe. 
Dr Christiane Barnickel was a research associate at the Chair of European Studies until March 2021.Her research interests include legitimacy and (post)democracy, political discourses, and the role of (non-)knowledge in politics.

Banner Viadrina

Viadrina Institut für Europa-Studien (IFES)

Mitglieder


Beichelt_Timm ©Heide Fest Prof. Dr. Timm Beichelt ist Dekan der Kulturwissenschaftichen Fakultät und Professurinhaber des Lehrstuhls für Europa-Studien. Von April 2017 bis Mai 2022 war er Institutsleiter des IFES. Mehr über Timm Beichelt ist auf der Webseite seiner Professur für Europa-Studien zu finden.

GC_18_02_2021__c_GChakrabarti ©Gautam Chakrabarti Dr. Gautam Chakrabarti ist akademischer Mitarbeiter am Dekanat der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät und forscht und lehrt an den Schnittstellen zwischen Literatur-, Kultur-, Sozial- und Ideengeschichte. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen Weltliteratur, weltliterarisches Wissen, „Maverick Cosmopolitanism/s“ im kulturellen Kalten Krieg und Literatur- und Kulturgeschichte des (Post)Kolonialismus, im besonderen Südasiens. Weitere Informationen über Gautam Chakrabarti sind auf der Webseite der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät​ zu finden.

Frysztacka_Clara ©Heide Fest Dr. Clara Frysztacka forscht über historische Zeit als hegemoniale Kategorie der Selbstverortung in der europäischen Moderne, wodurch sich im langen 19. Jahrhundert ambivalente und peripherische Zugehörigkeitsformen Osteuropas zu Europa artikulierten. Mehr über Clara Frysztacka ist auf der Webseite der Professur für Zeitgeschichte zu finden.


Gauthier_IFES_Bild ©Claire Gauthier Claire Gauthier forscht über die Europäische Energiepolitik, im Rahmen der Energiewende und Digitalisierung. Insbesondere werden die Beteiligungsprozesse, neue (Markt-)Rollen und Verhaltensnormen von Verbrauchern und Bürgern aus der Perspektive des öffentlichen Diskurses und von Machtverhältnissen hinterfragt. Weitere Information sind auf der Webseite der Kelso-Stiffungsprofessur für Rechtsvergleichung, Osteuropäisches Wirtschaftsrecht und Europäische Rechtspolitik zu finden.

Hanisch, Stefan ©Privat Dr. Stefan Hanisch verfügt über langjährige interdisziplinäre Forschungs- und Beratungserfahrung zu Fragen der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung sowie der Rechts- und Wirtschaftsentwicklung der postsowjetischen Staaten, insbesondere Russland. Mehr über Stefan Hanisch ist auf der Webseite der Kelso-Stiftungsprofessur für Rechtsvergleichung, Osteuropäisches Wirtschaftsrecht und Europäische Rechtspolitik zu finden.

FOTO Hennig_Anja_MG_0080-1 ©Heide Fest Dr. Anja Hennig befasst sich mit der vergleichenden Analyse des Verhältnisses von Religion und Politik im gegenwärtigen Europa sowie mit dem transnationalen Widerstand gegen Gender Equality als Beispiel illiberaler Reaktionen auf liberal verstandene Politiken. Ein Länderschwerpunkt ist Polen. Mehr über Anja Hennig ist auf der Webseite der Professur für Vergleichende Politikwissenschaften zu finden.

AmelieKutter_(c)UrszulaCzerska_quer ©Urszula Czerska Dr. Amelie Kutter hat die Peripherien-Gruppe am IFES initiiert und trägt zur Erforschung von politischer Legitimation und EU-induziertem sozialen Wandel bei, mit einem besonderen Augenmerk auf öffentliche Diskurse und die politische Ökonomie europäischer Integration. Weitere Informationen über Amelie Kutter befinden sich auf ihrer persönlichen Webseite.

Lowitzsch ©Heide Fest Prof. Dr. jur. Jens Lowitzsch
Weitere Informationen zu Jens Lowitzsch finden Sie auf der Webseite der Kelso-Stiftungsprofessur für Rechtsvergleichung, Osteuropäisches Wirtschaftsrecht und Europäische Rechtspolitik.

Minkenberg ©Heide Fest Im Rahmen der Forschungsfelder des Institutes widmet sich Prof. Dr. Michael Minkenberg den Fragen der Europäisierung und der Politik ihrer Gegner, vor allem dem Ultranationalismus in Ideologie und politischer Praxis. Mehr über Michael Minkenberg ist auf der Webseite seiner Professur für vergleichende Politikwissenschaft zu finden.

Sascha Münnich ©Ronald Schmidt Prof. Dr. Sascha Münnich ist Leiter des Viadrina Instituts für Europa-Studien (IFES) und Professurinhaber des Lehrstuhls für Soziologie der Wirtschaft. Er arbeitet im Bereich der Wirtschaftssoziologie und der Soziologischen Theorie. Er beschäftigt sich aus historisch-vergleichender Perspektive mit Finanz- und Arbeitsmärkten, der Bedeutung von Kapitalismuskritiken und Sozialpolitik in europäischen Ländern und Nordamerika. Neben zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Publikationen ist er zudem als Vermittler soziologischer Perspektiven auf Wirtschaft, Kultur und Politik europäischer Gesellschaften in den Medien präsent. Mehr über Sascha Münnich ist auf der Webseite seiner Professur für Soziologie der Wirtschaft zu finden.

Neyer_web Prof. Dr. Jürgen Neyer ist Professor für Europäische und Internationale Politik an der Europa-Universität Viadrina und Gründungsdirektor der European New School of Digital Studies (ENS). Seine jüngsten Projekte konzentrieren sich auf Zusammenhänge zwischen technologischer Innovation und internationalen Konflikten sowie auf die Entwicklung einer KI-basierten Suchmaschine für Argumente.

Sonja Priebus ©Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg Dr. rer. pol. Sonja Priebus ist Postdoc am Lehrstuhl für Europa-Studien. Ihr derzeitiges primäres Forschungsinteresse gilt dem Abbau von Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit in EU-Mitgliedstaaten wie Ungarn und Polen. In diesem Kontext beschäftigt sie sich vor allem mit der Entwicklung und Anwendung des Rechtsstaatlichkeitsinstrumentariums der EU. Darüber hinaus arbeitet sie zu den politischen Systemen der Visegrád-Staaten, insbesondere zum politischen System Ungarns, sowie zum Thema Verfassungspolitik. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Webseite der Professur für Europa-Studien.

Jennifer-Ramme ©Jennifer Ramme Jennifer Ramme beschäftigt sich mit Polen und Ost-Mitteleuropa, insbesondere mit Fokus auf soziale Bewegungen/NROs und strittige Geschlechterordnungen. Sie forscht u. a. zu emanzipatorischer wie auch rechter Gender- und Sexualpolitik, Nationalismus und Europa-Konstruktionen. Mehr Informationen zu Jennifer Ramme finden sie auf der Webseite der Professur Europa Studien, wo sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin ist, als auch auf dem Blog Kunst des Protest - Protest der Kunst.

Rietschel_Jonas_UV_1013 ©Heide Fest Jonas Rietschel ist akademischer Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl Soziologie der Wirtschaft. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Populismus-, Demokratie- und Wohlfahrtsstaatsforschung. Im Rahmen seiner Promotion beschäftigt er sich mit dem Einfluss der Coronaviruspandemie auf europäische Wohlfahrtsmodelle. Weitere Informationen zu Jonas Rietschel finden Sie auf der Webseite der Professur Soziologie der Wirtschaft.

Schindel_Estrela_quer ©Fest, Heide PD Dr. Estela Schindel ist wissenschaftliche Koordinatorin des Viadrina Instituts für Europa-Studien. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören die sozialen Dynamiken der Exzeption und Exklusion, Diktatur- und Gewaltforschung sowie Erinnerungskulturen in komparativer Perspektive, Raum- und Stadtforschung mit Schwerpunkt Lateinamerika sowie Grenzregimes und Grenztheorien. Weitere Informationen über Estela Schindel finden Sie hier.

RSchwarze ©UFZ Der Klimawandel wird in unserem Alltag immer spürbarer. Immer extremere Hochwasser, Hitze- und Dürreperioden beeinflussen Unternehmen, die öffentliche Infrastruktur und vor allem die Bürger in Deutschland und der EU. Sie stellen insbesondere die Versicherungen vor große Herausforderungen. Wie diese Klimafolgen erfasst und gemeistert werden können, sind wichtige Fragen der Versicherungswirtschaft und europäischen Umweltökonomie. Prof. Dr. Reimund Schwarze forscht zur Ökonomie des Klimawandels, Versicherung von Klimarisiken und dem Management von Naturgefahren in Europa. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Webseite des Helmholtz-Zentrums für Umweltforschung (UFZ).

elsa_tulmets-_2_ ©Elsa Tulmets Zu Dr. habil. Elsa Tulmets Forschungsthemen zählen die Soziologie und Policy-Analyse der Europäischen Union, die Außenpolitik der EU sowie die der EU Mitgliedstaaten und Policy-Transfers und Normenzirkulation. Regionale Schwerpunkte sind dabei Deutschland, Frankreich und Mittelosteuropa. Weitere Informationen zu Elsa Tulmets finden Sie auf der Webseite der Professur für Europa-Studien.

VeghZs-2021-_c_-VeghZs_quer ©Zsuzsanna Végh Zsuzsanna Végh ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Lehrstuhl für Vergleichende Politikwissenschaft und assoziierte Forscherin im European Council on Foreign Relations. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen die radikale Rechte in der Europäischen Union, die ungarische EU- und Außenpolitik sowie die regionale Zusammenarbeit in Mittel- und Osteuropa. Weitere Informationen zu Zsuzsanna Végh finden Sie auf der Webseite der Professur für Vergleichende Politikwissenschaft.

Weber-Claudia ©Heide Fest Prof. Dr. Claudia Weber
Nähere Informationen zu Claudia Weber finden Sie auf der Webseite ihrer Professur für Europäische Zeitgeschichte.

weber2 ©Klaus Weber Prof. Dr. Klaus Weber
Weitere Informationen zu Klaus Weber finden Sie auf der Webseite seiner Professur für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte.

Worschech_Susann_MG_0038 ©Heide Fest Dr. Susann Worschech forscht über Protest, Partizipation, Demokratie und politische Interaktion im post-sozialistischen Europa und bringt methodologische Impulse, vor allem zur Sozialen Netzwerkanalyse, in die Arbeit des IFES ein. Weitere Informationen zu Susann Worschech finden Sie auf der Webseite der Professur für Europa-Studien.

Ehemalige

Dr. Pawel Lewicki war bis Juli 2022 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Professur Vergleichende Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie. Er forscht u. a. an  Europäisierungsprozessen, besonders aus der postkolonialen und (post)imperialen Perspektive. Zurzeit ist er mit Trajektorien HIV-positiver Körper aus Mittel- und Osteuropa beschäftigt.
Dr. Christiane Barnickel war bis März 2021 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Professur für Europa-Studien tätig. In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sie sich u. a. mit Legitimität und (Post)Demokratie, politischen Diskursen sowie der Rolle von (Nicht-)Wissen in der Politik.