Banner Viadrina

Application: Social and Cultural Sciences

Please note that applications are only accepted once a year (November/December). Applications are for an entire academic year, that is, for the winter semester of the coming year and for the summer semester of the following year.  (Example: you are applying in December 2014, for a stay abroad during winter semester 2015/16 and summer semester 2016).

 

1st Step: Getting information

Read reviews, come to Viadrina's “International Day”, use our Facebook page and group to exchange ideas and experiences with international students!  All necessary links can be found here.

A large amount of information has been put together for you on our preparation for study abroad pages.

Personal advising is offered by Nicole Klück and Christin Reise.  Also, especialy for our Latin America programs, Grietje Zimmermann.

 

2nd Step: Applying at the International Office

The application must be sent to: the Department of International Affairs – Nicole Klück and Christin Reise, as well as to Grietje Zimmermann, if you are applying for our Latin American programs.

The following documents and information are required to successfully apply (submit in a simple application folder):

  • Printout of online application. (Login with @hotmail, @msn, @live, @outlook.com is not possible, please use a different e-mail. Please use Firefox, otherwise you will have problems with configuring the PDF to print. If you cannot configure the PDF, please let us know while handing in your application, we will do it for you. If you do not find a partner university in the selection, please save the application, reload it and try to use the frame Erasmus+ SMS. If you still not find it, please let us know while handing in the application).
    Attention: Before you fill out and submit your online application, please check if your faculty actually has a partnership contract with the university that you selected.
     
  • Motivation statement: should be written with regard to your first choice university (1 to 2 max.; A4 size paper; written in German*)
     
  • Resume/CV (with photo)
     
  • Information about your major’s focus area at Viadrina – only relevant for Bachelor students: integrate this information in your resume.
     
  • Transcript: Printout from His-Portal. In case that not all your grades are listed there, please use the transcript form in German, which – while showing your original transcript – will have to be countersigned by the International Office in AM 207 or AM 209. Master students must additionally include a copy of their previous diploma.
     
  • Proof of language proficiency: Printout (Studienbuch) from the Language Center website; if applicable, any other certificates. In case you don’t have proof of your language proficiency, please have yourself tested with the use of the DAAD language certificate form (English, French, Spanish, Russian – forms for other languages can be found online) at the appropriate language department. For the Russian Department and  Spanish Department specific requirements are in place.
     
  • Current certificate of enrollment.

* Students who prefer to write their letter of motivation in English may do so.  Students applying for Berkeley (only possible for KuWi Master’s students) please provide your letter of motivation in English.

Application must be submitted to: office AM 207, AM 209, AM 216, or the mailbox in front of room AM 213.

Application Deadline: 08.12.2014 (6:00 pm)

 

3rd Step: Selection

The International Office conducts the selection of applicants with the cooperation of the faculty.

The International Office processes the screening of applicants based on the submitted application and its supporting documents. Following that, you will get a notification via email with the selection results.

If you applied to a university that falls within our non-EU program, or if you applied for an international joint degree, then you might in some cases also be invited to an application interview. Only afterward will you receive a notification via email about the decision of the selection committee.

Notifications will be sent out by the end of January / beginning of February.

Residual places are allocated beginning in mid/late February and continuing through the end of the year.

Attention: The approval that you get from Viadrina does not constitute a final pledge to study abroad. The ultimate decision for that is in the hands of the partner university, which is informed of the selection results. In general, however, students that are nominated by us are accepted.

 

4th Step: Informational Talks

Those who have been selected to study abroad will be invited to an informational event sometime in March/April. At this meeting, you will receive information about the application process and general information about the partner university. Additionally, you will receive instructions on how to fill out all the forms that are still needed as well as information on how to get recognition of the credits that you will earn abroad.

 

5th Step: Applying to the Partner University

As per the instructions of the International Office, all students that were nominated for the Erasmus+ program apply by themselves to the partner universities. Students who were selected for the non-EU program submit their application to the International Office. Within the context of the non-EU program, it is not possible to directly send your application to the partner university! Please keep in mind that you cannot apply to the partner university before you receive approval from the International Office.

Attention: The partner universities have certain deadlines that must be met. You must find these out yourself on the universities’ websites. In some cases you will also receive informational emails directly from the partner university.

Tips for Erasmus Stays:

  • Financial aid for studying abroad (Auslandsbafög) should be applied for, if applicable, very early. You can find more tips on our site under Financing.
  • Please keep in mind that you will need a visa to enter Turkey; it is your responsibility to acquire one in time.
  • Some partner universities have set certain admission requirements on exchange students (e.g., official language certificates like TOEFL, minimum GPA, number of already-acquired ECTS credits) further information is available in our list of partner universities as well as on the partner universities’ websites.

Tips for non-EU Stays:

  • Transcript forms are separately required (if applicable, in the national language) from many universities. You can find templates here: English , Russian, Spanish.
  • Language certificates:
    • For Latin American universities you can receive a language certificate from the Spanish Department of the Language Center. Details can be found on the website of the Spanish Department.  Sometimes other official language certificates are also required.
    • North American and Australian universities generally require the TOEFL as a language certificate. As soon as you are notified that the International Office has selected you, register to take the TOEFL.
    • In Russia official language certificates are occasionally required.  An exam can be taken through the Russian Department.
  • Financial aid for studying abroad (Auslandsbafög) should be applied for, if applicable, very early. In fact, in many cases the Bafög (financial aid) form must be enclosed with the application to the partner university. You can find more information on our site under Financing.
  • A copy of your passport needs to be included in the application to a non-EU university. Your passport must be valid at least until a year after your planned stay abroad is to begin.

 

Schedule

 

November 12th 2014

extended till January 4th 2015!

  • Application deadline for the Erasmus Mundus Action 2 Programm HERMES for the regions of Eastern Europe/Caucasus (application start: beginning immediately). Make sure to get all necessary signatures from Viadrina by December 12th 2014, since due to Christmas Holidays it will be difficult to reach us afterwards.

December 8th 2014

  • Application deadline for Erasmus+ (EU), NON-EU, International multiple degree.

Mid January

  • Interviews for the selection process for students  study abroad (usually only for non-EU-programs).

End January/ beginning of February

  • Announcement of selection results by email.

Mid/ end of February

Beginning in March

March 3rd 2015

March – May

  • Informational talks in preparation for study abroad

March - August

  • Application to the partner university

Banner Viadrina

Bewerbung: Kulturwissenschaften

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Bewerbungen nur einmal im Jahr (bis Dezember) möglich sind. Die Bewerbung bezieht sich auf das gesamte akademische Jahr, also auf das Wintersemester des folgenden und das Sommersemester des übernächsten Jahres. (Beispiel: Sie Bewerben sich im Dezember 2014 für einen Auslandsaufenhalt im WS 2015/16 und/oder für das SS 2016)

1. Schritt: Informationen einholen

Lesen Sie Erfahrungsberichte, kommen Sie zum International Day der Viadrina, nutzen Sie unsere Facebook Seite und Gruppe und tauschen Sie sich mit internationalen Studierenden aus! Alle nötigen Links dazu finden Sie hier.

Umfangreiche Informationsmöglichkeiten haben wir für Sie auf unseren Seiten zur Vorbereitung des Auslandstudiums zusammengestellt. 

Gern beraten Sie persönlich zu allgemeinen Fragen Nicole Klück und Christin Reise sowie speziell zu unseren Lateinamerika-Programmen Grietje Zimmermann.

2. Schritt: Bewerbung bei der Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten

Die Bewerbung ist zu richten an: die Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten - Nicole Klück und Christin Reise sowie an Grietje Zimmermann, wenn Sie sich für unsere Lateinamerika-Programme bewerben.

Bewerbungsunterlagen (in einer einfachen Bewerbungsmappe abzugeben)

  • Ausgedruckte Online-Bewerbung(Login mit @hotmail, @msn, @live, @outlook.com ist nicht möglich, bitte nutzen Sie eine alternative E-Mail. Nutzen Sie am besten Firefox, sonst kommt es zu Problemen bei der Konfiguration der PDF zum Ausdrucken. Falls diese nicht konfiguriert wird, geben Sie beim Abgeben der Bewerbung Bescheid, wir erledigen dass dann vor Ort für Sie.  Wenn Sie beim Ausfüllen der Bewerbung die gewünschte Partneruni nicht finden, speichern und laden Sie neu und nutzen Sie als Rahmen Erasmus+ SMS statt Erasmus. Falls die Uni dann immer noch nicht erscheint, geben Sie bei der Abgabe der Bewerbung Bescheid).
    Achtung: Bevor Sie Ihre Online-Bewerbung ausfüllen und abschicken, prüfen Sie bitte ob für Ihre Fakultät tatsächlich ein Partnervertrag mit den von Ihnen ausgewählten Universitäten besteht.
     
  • Motivationsschreiben bezogen auf die 1. Priorität (1 bis max. 2 DIN A4-Seiten auf Deutsch*)
     
  • Lebenslauf (mit Foto)
     
  • Angaben zu Ihren Studienschwerpunkten an der Viadrina in den Lebenslauf integrieren - nur für Kuwi Bachelor-Studierende relevant.
     
  • Notenübersicht als Ausdruck aus dem HIS-Portal. Falls dort nicht alle Leistungen aufgeführt sind, nutzen Sie das Transcript-Formular auf Deutsch, welches Ihnen unter Vorlage der Originalscheine bei der Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten im AM 207 oder AM 209 gegengezeichnet wird. Bei Master-Studierenden (zusätzlich) Kopie des vorhergehenden Abschlusses.
     
  • Nachweis über Sprachkenntnisse als Ausdruck von der Internetseite des Sprachenzentrums; ggf. weitere Zertifikate. Nur, wenn Sie keinen Nachweis über Ihre Sprachkenntnisse besitzen, lassen Sie sich bitte mit dem DAAD-Formular (Englisch, Französisch, Russisch, Spanisch - weitere Sprachen im Internet zu finden) beim entsprechenden Lektorat im Sprachenzentrum einstufen. Für das Russisch Lektorat und das Spanisch Lektorat gelten besondere Bestimmungen.
     
  • Aktuelle Immatrikulationsbescheinigung (gilt nicht für Masterstudierende, die noch nicht immatrikuliert sind).

* Ihr Motivationsschreiben kann auch auf Englisch verfasst werden. Studierende, die sich für Berkeley bewerben (nur für KuWi Master möglich), reichen das Motivationsschreiben bitte auf Englischer ein!

Bewerbung ist abzugeben im: Büro AM 207, AM 209, AM 216 oder nutzen Sie den Briefkasten vor dem Raum AM 213. 

Bewerbungsfrist: 08.12.2014 (18 Uhr)

3. Schritt: Auswahl

Im Folgenden führt die Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten in Kooperation mit der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät die Auswahl der Bewerber/-innen durch.

Mit den meisten Bewerber/-innen auf Non-EU-Programme sowie in wenigen ausgewählten Fällen mit Bewerber/-innen auf das Erasmus+ Programm oder Internationale Mehrfachabschlüsse, führen wir Bewerbungsgespräche durch. 

Im Anschluss daran erhalten Sie per E-Mail eine Benachrichtigung über die Ergebnisse der Auswahl. Die Zu- und Absagen werden Ende Januar/ Anfang Februar verschickt.

Die Restplatzvergabe findet in der Regel ab Mitte/Ende Februar Jahres statt und geht bis Ende des Jahres.

Achtung: Die Bestätigung, die Sie von der Viadrina erhalten, ist noch keine endgültige Zusage für den Studienaufenthalt im Ausland. Die Entscheidung darüber liegt bei der Partneruniversität, die von uns über die Auswahl informiert wird. In der Regel werden jedoch die von uns nominierten Studierenden akzeptiert.

4. Schritt: Informationsgespräche

Die ausgewählten Studierenden werden jährlich im März/April zu einer Informationsveranstaltung eingeladen. Bei diesem Treffen erhalten Sie Informationen zu dem Bewerbungsverfahren sowie allgemeine Informationen zur Partneruniversität. Des Weiteren erhalten Sie eine Einweisung zum Ausfüllen sämtlicher Formulare, die noch benötigt werden und erste Infos zur Anerkennung der im Ausland zu erbringenden Studienleistungen.

5. Schritt: Bewerbung an der Partneruniversität

Nach den Informationsveranstaltungen bewerben sich Studierende, die für das Erasmus+ Programm nominiert wurden, selbstständig an der Partneruniversität. Studierende die für das Non-EU-Programm ausgewählt wurden reichen ihre Bewerbung bei der Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten ein. Im Rahmen des Non-EU-Programms ist es nicht möglich die Unterlagen individuell an die Partneruniversität zu übersenden! Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie sich nicht bei der Partneruniversität bewerben können, bevor Sie das Einverständnis der Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten haben.

Achtung: An den Partneruniversitäten sind bestimmte Fristen einzuhalten, die Sie selbstständig auf den Webseiten der Universitäten recherchieren müssen! Teilweise werden Ihnen Infos von den Partneruniversitäten direkt per E-Mail zugesandt.

Hinweise für Erasmus+ Aufenthalte:

  • Auslandsbafög sollte ggf. sehr frühzeitig beantragt werden. Weitere Hinweise finden Sie auf unseren Seiten unter dem Punkt Finanzierung.
  • Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie z.B. für die Einreise in die Türkei ein Visum benötigen, um welches Sie sich rechtzeitig kümmern sollten.
  • Einige Partneruniversitäten stellen an Austauschstudierende gewisse Zulassungsbedingungen, z.B. offizielle Sprachnachweise wie TOEFL, eine Mindestdurchschnittsnote, Anzahl an bereits erbrachten ECTS-Punkten. Infos dazu finden Sie in den Listen unserer Partneruniversitäten sowie direkt auf den Webseiten der Partneruniversitäten.

Hinweise für Non-EU-Aufenthalte:

  • Transcript-Formulare werden von manchen Universitäten gesondert (ggf. in der Landesprache) eingefordert. Vorlagen finden Sie hier: Englisch, Russisch, Spanisch.
  • Sprachnachweise:
    • Für Lateinamerikanische Universitäten ist ein Sprachnachweis vom Spanisch Lektorat des Sprachenzentrums ausfüllen zu lassen. Details dazu auf der Internetseite des Spanisch Lektorats. Auch andere offizielle Sprachnachweise werden manchmal gefordert.
    • Die nordamerikanischen und australischen Universitäten fordern in aller Regel einen Sprachnachweis in Form des TOEFL. Sobald Sie die Nachricht erhalten, dass Sie von der Abteilung für internationale Angelegenheiten ausgewählt wurden, melden Sie sich bitte zum TOEFL an.
    • Auch in Russland werden ab und zu offizielle Sprachnachweise gefordert. Sie können sich auch bei Russisch Lektorat einstufen lassen.
  • Auslandsbafög sollte ggf. sehr frühzeitig beantragt werden. In manchen Fällen müssen Sie die Bafög-Formulare sogar Ihrer Bewerbung bei der Partneruniversität beilegen. Weitere Hinweise finden Sie auf unseren Seiten unter dem Punkt Finanzierung.
  • Ihr Reisepass wird in Kopie für die Bewerbung bei einer Non-EU-Universität benötigt und muss ab Beginn des geplanten Auslandsaufenthaltes noch mindestens ein Jahr gültig sein.
 
 
Zeitrahmen:

 

12. November 2014

Verlängert bis zum

04. Januar 2015

   Achten Sie darauf, alle  Unterschriften von Seiten der Viadrina bis spätestens 12.  
    Dezember 2014
eingeholt zu haben, da es danach wegen der Weihnachtsferien
   schwierig wird, Ihre Ansprechperson zu erreichen.

8. Dezember 2014

  • Bewerbungsfrist Erasmus+ (EU), NON-EU, Int. Mehrfachabschlüsse

Mitte Januar

  • Bewerbungsgespräche im Zuge der Auswahl für Auslandsaufenthalte (meist nur für Non-EU-Programme)

Ende Januar/ Anfang Februar

  • Bekanntmachung der Ergebnisse des Auswahlverfahrens per E-Mail

Mitte/ Ende Februar

Ab März

3. März 2015

März – Mai

  • Informationsgespräche zur Vorbereitung auf die Auslandsaufenthalte

März - August

  • Bewerbung direkt an der Partneruniversität